Skip to content

Black Beauty Update

October 6, 2010

As I stated in a post a couple of posts ago called “Black Beauty” (just scroll down if you have not read it), my pickup truck is a definite fix-me-up pickup truck. I knew this when I purchased it and was fine with that. It only took a couple days to notice it was leaking transmission fluid and antifreeze all over my driveway and the exhaust was twice as loud as it was when I bought it. It was time to get to work on black beauty!

I called up Blind Tommy to see if I could use his garage and help. Tommy’s garage is two and a half times bigger than mine and is heated with a wood burner. Tommy said I could use his help and garage for as long as I needed them so I called Bitch Eyes to let him know we were working on the black beauty.

The following is a list of work done to Black Beauty since March of this year……..

  1. New oil pan gasket
  2.  New oil pump
  3. New front main seal
  4. New timing chain
  5. New timing chain cover gasket
  6. New water pump
  7. New rear brake line
  8. New front brake pads
  9. New rear brake drums and shoes
  10. New exhaust manifold gaskets
  11. New transmission fluid cooling lines
  12. New transmission filter
  13. New transmission pan gasket
  14. New transmission fluid
  15. New starter
  16. New fuel pump
  17. New power steering pump
  18. New power steering pump pressure hose
  19. Radiator flushed and filled

I’m hoping the list doesn’t get much longer but have a feeling it will. I shall keep everyone posted.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 7, 2010 7:31 AM

    I was hopping for a picture. I just realized all this money and the work and probably if I just scroll down I can look at the old picture. Fixer uppers can be expensive. Good job on getting it done. Thats alot of work. Navars got a van he’s fixing up he wants it for camping. Are you back home speaking of camping?

    • October 7, 2010 7:24 PM

      Yeah, she doesn’t look any better so looking at the photo would be like looking at her today. She just runs a lot better. LOL

      I will be returning home for the winter on the 30th of October and will shortly begin updating my blog daily again so be on the lookout and thanks for asking Starla! 🙂

  2. October 7, 2010 7:47 AM

    Holy crap. Hopefully you got her pretty cheap considering all you had to replace. I think you guys just like hanging in the garage!! LOL!!!

    • October 7, 2010 7:25 PM

      $575.00 for a four wheel drive truck is pretty cheap. She needed a lot of work but I have done 98% of it all myself so all that cost a lot less than it sounds thank god.

      Don’t tell anyone but I really DO like hanging out in my garage. Let’s keep that our little secret though ok? 😉

  3. October 7, 2010 8:14 AM

    New, new, new. Sounds like YOU”VE been shopping!

    • October 7, 2010 7:26 PM

      Indeed I have but just not the way I would prefer to spend my money on. LOL

  4. LVISS permalink
    October 7, 2010 8:40 PM

    I missed out on your blog for a long time. Did you stop it temporarily for sometime.
    Now as for the black beauty could you have got a new one .

    • October 25, 2010 5:55 PM

      Hi LVISS! Blog posts are far between when I am out camping in the Spring and Summer. I don’t have an internet connection where I camp so I write blog posts and upload them when I can. I am coming home very soon for the Winter and you can expect “normal” blog posts from me.

  5. Billie permalink
    October 18, 2010 9:41 PM

    GET A F***ING DIP STICK!!

Leave a Reply

