Skip to content

Good Luck Haley!

May 17, 2010

As most of you long time readers already know, I have two adorable but hyperactive puggle dogs. I have had Brody, a male for almost a year and a half and I have had Haley, a female for eight months now. Both dogs are happy, healthy and FULL of energy. Just watching those two will make you tired. They are on the go from sunrise until late in the evening like two kids with a severe case of ADHD on a Sweet Tart and Mt. Dew binge. If they made helmets for dogs these two would need them! Especially while riding to the doggie park on the short bus. When you are with one of the dogs alone, they are not QUITE as hyper. Still hyper but it’s ok to take their helmet off. Put the two together or around other dogs and it’s like they popped a few speeders and snorted a few lines of coke as a chaser.

I got Haley just after camping season ended last year so she never camped with me until this spring. All winter long I hoped and prayed that she would calm down before bringing her camping. One hyperactive dog in the camper on rainy days is more than enough, but two is insane. Haley is more hyperactive than Brody and at times even drives Brody to the point of suicide. After eight months of having her, she still showed no signs of improvement in “potty” training.

Call me a lousy owner if you want, but Haley just had to go. I believe she would do MUCH better being the only dog in the home. She was adopted by a nice young couple with a small child and she would be the only dog in the home.

 

 

GOOD LUCK HALEY!

17 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2010 9:04 AM

    It is always a difficult decision to find a new home for a pet, but you are being a responsible, loving adult by seeing the need for her separation.

    • May 18, 2010 7:28 PM

      It was really for the best. It was hard to do but had to be done. I think she has found a good home. 😀

  2. May 17, 2010 11:20 AM

    Not to minimize the situation but hey, at least it’s a dog…not a kid! While we love our pets dearly, ( not me I don’t have any pets 😉 ) sometimes we just have to recognize what is best for everyone involved. I know you love your dogs Gary, so I gotta give you props for making sure she went to a good home. Some pet owners just dump their pets on the side of a road.

    Maybe puggle dogs aren’t meant to be coupled in a home (or camper ). She is one cute dog though. I know you’re gonna miss her inspite of what you had to do. Maybe you should just get a fish next time 😉

    • May 18, 2010 7:31 PM

      I think I would have an easier time giving away one of our kids to be honest. Bwahahahahahahahaha….I kill me! I could NEVER just dump a pet off somewhere. I can’t believe people actually do that. It’s so easy to find a home for a pet. I have never had a problem with it anyway.

      I have had fish actually! I don’t do well with them though. Every time I take them for a walk they die. Maybe a shorter walk? I don’t know….think I will stick to dogs. 😉

  3. Sue permalink
    May 17, 2010 8:01 PM

    Oh, so sorry for you guys. I agree that you’re being responsible though. Our first dog was too much for us and we weren’t home enough so after he destroyed my house (ate the desk, the wall, the doorframes, pooped in every room, knocked the Christmas tree over and shredded the presents) it was time for a new home. I’m sure he made someone a very happy hunter!

    • May 18, 2010 7:32 PM

      OUCH! I hope it found a new home while you still had some home left. 😀

  4. May 18, 2010 7:49 PM

    I have cats at home (not mine) and I get so attached to them that when the owner gave one up for adoption it was hard to let go. Animals are so affectionate and hold a special place in our hearts.

  5. May 18, 2010 8:30 PM

    AAwww Bye Haley. I would never call you bad dog parents. I know how hard it is having a puppy in the house and I can NOT imagine 2 in a camper. Oh the horror. I also know it can be a tough decision. Funny how 2 puppies or dogs can be a lot different. She probably like you said will do well in a single dog home.

  6. S. Le permalink
    May 19, 2010 7:27 AM

    Makes sense to me!

    Bon chance to her!

  7. May 19, 2010 9:40 AM

    Beautiful photograph of Haley!
    Jan

  8. May 28, 2010 2:35 AM

    Nice blog with a feel good look.

  9. May 31, 2010 6:23 AM

    She’s so cute, hope she’s happy in her new home

  10. June 3, 2010 12:22 PM

    Awe, she is a beauty. I feel bad that she had to leave, but I know it was the right decision for you. She will be happier with her new family, especially if they are happier and better suited for her.

    My neighbors had a puggle and moved away suddenly this week and I never got to tell my buddy Lupin goodbye. I am happy to see the face of another adorable puggle today, so thank you for that. I loved that dog, even when he howled at the moon every night.

  11. June 15, 2010 10:06 AM

    Missing You Guys! Hope you are having fun. We thought of you guys as we were hooking up the batteries on Navar’s Mom’s Camper. We will always remember that Post. Hope you all are well!

  12. June 21, 2010 7:32 PM

    Just wanted to come by and wish you all a very fun summer. I miss having you blog everyday and visit me, but I know you have tooooo much going on in the summer.Please tell Paula I say hi. I wish you many cherished moments of fun and laughter. 🙂

  13. July 1, 2010 7:36 AM

    Are you gone for good, or just on a break? Gosh, that dog is still so adorable. Love that photo.

    • July 23, 2010 11:09 PM

      No no! NOT gone for good! I have just been on a break. I have some posts coming soon, I PROMISE! 😉

Leave a Reply

