Skip to content

Just Curious 03/02/10: Kitchen Impossible

March 2, 2010

 

 

 

What was your worst cooking experience?

27 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2010 12:33 AM

    Last week, I was just boiling some eggs, left the kitchen for 1 minute….that became 30 minutes. (very stupid of me). When I came back in the kitchen, I turned of the the stove, and walked backwards away. I was less then a feet from the stove, when the lit of the pan popped of the pan with a big bang toward the ceiling. I must have had an guardian angel, because if I did not had walk away, my face had been smashed.

    • March 7, 2010 9:23 PM

      Oh wow Ellen! Thank goodness you walked away when you did. Be CAREFULL! 😀

  2. March 2, 2010 6:44 AM

    Just like me Ellen…I normally boil eggs or just put on some tea and never return….addicted to this laptop…totally forgetting.

    Stuff happens

  3. Tony permalink
    March 2, 2010 1:59 PM

    My worst kitchen experience was when I was a kid & I stood on a stool to get the sugar cannister from the top of the cupboard. The stool toppled & as I fell I hit my teeth on the edge of the stainless steel sink. A lot of screaming & blood ensued. I still have crooked front teeth to this day

  4. Tony permalink
    March 2, 2010 2:03 PM

    Oh cooking, I thought it said kitchen. Anyway I once made a chocolate cake from a recipe instead of a packet mix. The recipe used plain flour & a 1/4 teaspoon of baking powder. I had no baking powder so I thought it wouldn’t matter because it was such a tiny amount anyway. Kinda like leaving out a pinch of salt in something. When it was cooked I had a cake that was only about an inch thick

    • March 7, 2010 9:26 PM

      BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA….sounds delish! NOT! LOL

  5. March 2, 2010 11:04 PM

    pouring boiling water down my leg!

    • March 7, 2010 9:27 PM

      OUCH! Why on earth would you pour boiling water down your leg? Nah, it HAD to have been an accident. Right?

  6. March 3, 2010 10:33 AM

    The first time I made spaghetti sauce I put in WAY TO MUCH garlic! I swear you could smell the garlic from outside the house!

    • March 4, 2010 9:37 AM

      is there such a thing as too much garlic????? I LOVE garlic!

      • March 5, 2010 2:08 AM

        I am an Italian, and as an expert in garlic cooking, I can say there is no such thing as too much garlic, unless the garlic is thrown in and eaten “raw” and you suffer from Gerd like me. Then we have a “too much garlic” situation, because nothing is worse than garlic Gerd pain, lol! I did this with my last batch of garlic pasta and it was not pretty.

      • March 7, 2010 9:28 PM

        I agree with Lisa! I LOVE garlic and I don’t think you can use too much of it. Oregano either!! 😀

  7. S. Le permalink
    March 3, 2010 2:34 PM

    I once made pumpkin pie and forgot to add sugar. Don’t ever do that! The first batch of bread I made on my new stone was a bread-fail. Benny’s chickens enjoyed that lot. I made seasoned meatballs and used Chinese 5-spice. They were awful! The list could go on.

    • March 7, 2010 9:31 PM

      You can’t be too hard on yourself for a first time batch of bread S. I think anyway. 😀

  8. March 3, 2010 8:21 PM

    I was having my inlaws over for my first Thanksgiving….the turkey was still somewhat frozen that morning so I was soking it in luke warm water and forgot to take the bag out of the cavity of the turkey and cooked it in side..to make a long story short I had no giblets for the gravy and the turkey totaly fell apart when I took it out of the roster it was such a mess..I had turkey every where…..it did how ever taste pretty good!

    • March 7, 2010 9:32 PM

      Hey, as long as it still tasted good that’s all that matters Terri! LOL

  9. March 3, 2010 8:33 PM

    I couldn’t get use to how hot the stove top gets here at our new house. Thanksgiving, I boiled potatoes and left the pot on the stove unattended, not for long I thought, but then all the water boiled out and the potatoes burned. My house smelled like burned potatoes for two days.

    • March 7, 2010 9:34 PM

      I don’t think I have smelled burned potatoes before but I can’t imagine it being a pleasant scent. LOL

  10. Tony permalink
    March 4, 2010 5:30 AM

    This one it was the pie factory’s fault. My wife put a frozen family sized frozen meat pie in the oven & when she went to serve it up for dinner it turned out to be an apricot pie. We re-checked the wrapper in the rubbish bin & it definitely said Meat Pie. We just had a plate of vegetables then Apricot Pie for dessert

    • S. Le permalink
      March 5, 2010 5:49 PM

      Hopefully nobody bought a fruit pie to serve for afters and got a meat pie.

    • March 7, 2010 9:35 PM

      BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA….NO KIDDING? That’s funny man!

  11. March 4, 2010 6:38 AM

    I can’t cook to save my life but when I was 9 mom encouraged me to make something for my father’s birthday and I made fudge from the recipe but got it wrong, so while alone in the kitchen I peeled potatoes, sliced tomatoes, put it in a pot with some water, knorrox and a bit of salt. When the tomato was done I took the pot off the stove and dad had to eat raw potatoes and keep saying yum. He took two bites and sent me to the shops, as I grew up I realized he sent me so he could throw away my food.

    • March 7, 2010 9:37 PM

      Well at least you tried Souldose! I’m SURE your dad was very happy that you were thinking of him and wanted to something special for him on his birthday. 😀

  12. March 7, 2010 9:44 PM

    Before I really enjoyed cooking or was even remotely interested in cooking, Paula put me in charge of cooking spaghetti for dinner. She thought that would be something simple enough for me to handle. She was WRONG. LOL

    I put the spaghetti noodles in a pot with no water in it and turned on the stove. I went into the living room for a bit and soon after began to smell smoke. The pan and noodles were on fire and I had to throw flour on it to extinguish it. Paula banned me from the kitchen for quite a while after that. LOL

  13. Tasneem R permalink
    March 8, 2010 12:18 AM

    My worst cooking experience was long back when I was trying out a new chicken dish . I forgot to turn off the gas stove and the chicken got burnt!!

Leave a Reply

