Skip to content

A New Found Love

February 4, 2010

My dad LOVED olives! I don’t think there was a single day that he didn’t eat them. Growing up, he was the only one in the house that could stand them. He would often tease my sister and I at the dinner table by asking us if we wanted an olive, knowing there was no way in hell either of us were going to eat one. Just the thought of it grossed us out! Even when we were grown up with families of our own, he would still jokingly ask if we wanted an olive when we all ate together. Maybe my dad viewed eating olives like drinking alone? It’s just more fun to do it with others.

This passed new year’s eve was spent here at home as a family and my oldest son’s girlfriend Erin. Earlier in the day,we had gone to the grocery store for some snacks for the holiday. We picked up a really nice tray of different cheeses, meats, crackers and a large container of olives in the center of the tray. We were all in the living room playing cards when we decided to break out the goodies. We all took a break and started grubbing on the food in the tray. EXCEPT for the olives that is. I kept looking at them thinking that I might try one just to see if my taste buds had changed since the last time I had one a long LONG time ago.

Finally, I mustered up enough courage to grab one and pop it in my mouth. Everyone was watching as I did to see what my reaction was going to be. I believe my reaction was “F$%K ME! These are AWESOME.” It was love at first taste. I ate another and then another and yet another. I was so amazed at how much I liked them that two of my son’s tried one. They didn’t like them which was ok, more for me. LOL We all thought it was funny when I tried giving one to my dog Brody. Brody will eat ANYTHING but he wouldn’t eat an olive. Brody will even eat poop but not an olive. LOL

Since that night, there have been very few days that I have not had olives. I seriously start jonesing for them like a crack head craves a rock. My dad would be tickled pink if he knew about my new found love. I would have never guessed as a kid that someday I would actually like the salty, sour, briny, vinegary little balls of heavenly goodness. Huh! Who know?

46 Comments leave one →
  1. Tasneem R permalink
    February 4, 2010 2:36 AM

    Well change is the law of nature !

  2. February 4, 2010 6:11 AM

    I like black olives and thats it. I could eat them on just about anything..

  3. February 4, 2010 6:14 AM

    OH yum! I love olives! Salty little morsels, for sure!

  4. February 4, 2010 6:15 AM

    I love olives! Black and Spanish olives are muh favorite 🙂 “You don’t know if you won’t like it until you try it!” I’m proud of you Gary 😉

    • February 4, 2010 8:36 PM

      That’s right! Don’t knock it till you try it and if you don’t like it now, you MIGHT later! 😀

  5. February 4, 2010 7:47 AM

    Have you ever been to Whole Foods? They have that Olive bar. OH HEAVEN!!!

    • February 4, 2010 8:36 PM

      Never heard of Whole Foods. Is that a restaurant or a grocery store??

      • February 5, 2010 5:48 PM

        Gary, you know how I like to reference videos…lol

        Here’s your favorite guy at an olive bar at Whole Foods Market. Start 2.30 minutes into the video!

        • February 5, 2010 6:48 PM

          Alton is THE MAN! Thanks for posting the video Sherri and I have seen this episode. In fact, I think I have seen them ALL. LOL

  6. Sue permalink
    February 4, 2010 7:51 AM

    Isn’t it fun finding something new to eat?! I am not a fan of olives, but my taste buds sure have changed since I was little also and I’m so glad! I now LOVE squash. I wouldn’t touch that stuff with a 10 foot pole, but I finally tried it a couple of years ago and couldn’t believe what I had been missing out on!

    • February 4, 2010 8:38 PM

      Well now I gotta go and try some Squash Panama Red! I haven’t tried that in years either. Maybe I will like it now???? 😀

  7. February 4, 2010 8:11 AM

    When we have family gatherings, I have to buy lots and lots of black olives. Everyone loves them. I throw in some green ones for color, but they are not nearly as loved as the black ones.

  8. Nikki permalink
    February 4, 2010 8:17 AM

    I love olives!!! Black, green, stuffed with all sorts of things. Every time I go to Cali i go to this little shop downtown Sac. They have these giant green olives stuffed with jalepenos. Man are they good! My sister and I will just sit there and eat them like candy! And the black ones are fun to put on your fingers!!
    I’m glad you decide to give them another try! Never hurts to give something a shot, and look you found a new love! 🙂

    • February 4, 2010 8:39 PM

      I know…..it’s so awesome! The jalepeno stuffed olives sound like da bomb! I gotta try those seeing as how I love them both. Together would be like heaven! LOL

  9. S. Le permalink
    February 4, 2010 8:23 AM

    Typical Sunday evening dinner for Husband and I:

    Fresh chewy bread, sliced apple, goat cheese, red wine, and assorted OLIVES.
    We LOVE them and they are v good for you. Mmmm… now I want some and it’s only 9:30 A.M.

    • February 4, 2010 8:40 PM

      That sounds delicious! I’m coming over Sunday for dinner if it’s cool? LOL

  10. February 4, 2010 8:40 AM

    OK Gary since you now like olives try this: take some softened cream cheese and diced up green olives and enough olive juice to just make it smooth. Grab a handful of crackers and pick out!

    • February 4, 2010 8:40 AM

      should be pig out not Pick out! ugg it’s going to be one of those days!

    • February 4, 2010 8:59 AM

      yes PICK out the olives and throw them away!

    • Nikki permalink
      February 4, 2010 9:36 AM

      That sounds DELISH and I will try this for sure!!!!

    • February 4, 2010 8:40 PM

      OH YEAH! That sounds DELICIOUS! I’m gonna try that when I get some cream cheese! Thanks for the tip Heather! 😀

  11. February 4, 2010 8:58 AM

    there is NOTHING right at all about an olive! I have tried them and they still make me gag!

    • February 4, 2010 8:42 PM

      How long ago was that though? You never know……….you may like them NOW. 😉

      • February 5, 2010 8:41 AM

        no..we get them on taco salads and pizza and I try them everytime and everytime I start gagging!

        • February 5, 2010 6:51 PM

          Really? SERIOUSLY gagging? You dislike them that much?

  12. February 4, 2010 9:26 AM

    Green olives are MY favorite. When I was little I use to sneak into the fridge and plunk a few into my mouth and run off. We love green olives on our pizza. We make olive and cream cheese sandwiches, heavenly. My favorite it very similar to what JJ said up there – my neighbor introduced us to her green olive cracker spread. Softened cream cheese, finely chopped green olives, and garlic powder to taste. Refrigerate and enjoy over your favorite cracker. I brought that to work and 3 people are hooked on it now.

    Black olives are ok but the they have to be COLD and hard. I get so grossed out when I get a soft black olive *she gags* – lol! So glad you are dign’ them Gary. Your dad is probably smiling from ear to ear from heaven! Probably laughing and saying, “well, it’s about time he figured it out!” LOL!

    • February 4, 2010 8:43 PM

      MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM….I gotta give that a try. That sounds so friggin good! I love garlic too! MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMM

      Yep, I’ll be my dad is doing just that. LOL

  13. February 4, 2010 1:51 PM

    you people are making want to hurl!

    • February 4, 2010 8:44 PM

      Don’t we usually though? LOL

      • February 5, 2010 8:41 AM

        yeah which I love and respect but sometimes you just draw the line and you did it this time with olive talk!

        • February 5, 2010 6:51 PM

          LOL…..I’m gonna try to get Erin to try one while she is here. LOL

  14. Tony permalink
    February 4, 2010 2:05 PM

    I love olives & I prefer black ones to green. I knew an Italian bloke who used to do dried olives. He would stab a couple of holes in fresh ones with a toothpick, pack them in salt. Drain & replace the salt weekly for some period of time. They would dry up a bit & go shrivelly like prunes. The flavour would be so intense they were just heavenly.

    • February 4, 2010 8:44 PM

      Oh wow! Those DO sound delish! 😀

      • Tony permalink
        February 8, 2010 6:59 AM

        And strangely enough they weren’t too salty, apparently the salt would help draw the liquid out & preserve them them

  15. February 5, 2010 12:32 AM

    Okay, I know, I am late to post a comment, but I just stumbled in. My all time favorite olives: Put oregano, fresh diced garlic, sea salt in a bowl. Drain the olives. Put them in that bowl , hussle and store them in the fridge for some hours. And then……taste them….heaven!!

    • February 5, 2010 1:32 AM

      NEVER too late Ellen! Thanks for dropping in! NOW your talking…..I LOVE oregano, fresh garlic and olives to I just GOTTA try this! Thanks for sharing it Ellen! 😀

  16. February 5, 2010 8:42 AM

    they are good in a food fight though if they are whole cuz you can nail somebody good with them if you throw them hard enough!

  17. February 10, 2010 7:32 AM

    Olives are the shizznit … and I commend you on being brave and trying them after all these years.

    Two things I’ve never tasted and never will are Liverwurst and Scrapple even thought my dad loved them both

    Eww Yuk

Leave a Reply

