Skip to content

Dinner Is Served

February 1, 2010

Like many teenagers, my sixteen year old step son Austin has a part-time job along with school. He works in the dietary department at a nearby hospital. He works after school and on weekends washing dishes, stocking straws, condiments, napkins, etc., serving food and occasionally delivering trays of food to patients in their rooms.

Late last week while at work, Austin had an interesting evening to say the least. He was asked by his supervisor to deliver a tray of food to a patient’s room. He was a little shocked by this request because he is rarely asked to deliver trays but was happy to do so. He grabbed the tray and off he went to deliver it.

He arrived at the room, quietly walked in and found the man sleeping. He crept back out of the room as to not wake him up and took the tray to the nurses station. He let one of the nurses know that he tried delivering a tray of food to the man be he was sleeping. The nurse looked at him and said “Oh, he’s not sleeping…he’s dead”.

43 Comments leave one →
  1. LVISS permalink
    February 1, 2010 3:09 AM

    QUITE SHOCKING. AUSTIN WOULD TAKE SOME TIME TO GET OVER THIS.

    • February 1, 2010 5:20 PM

      Nah…..it didn’t seem to bother him. 😀

  2. February 1, 2010 3:49 AM

    It’s a sad moment i think,but it’s normal too.This is life.We can’t change it.

    Take care!

    • February 1, 2010 5:21 PM

      We unfortunately can’t change it. 😦 Part of living is dying.

      • February 1, 2010 6:02 PM

        We can just enjoy every moment of our life.At least we can try it 🙂

        Take care!

        • February 1, 2010 6:04 PM

          That’s certainly what i’m trying to do Alina! 😀

          • February 2, 2010 3:14 AM

            Me too 😉 Every day of my life.

            Have a great day!

  3. February 1, 2010 4:16 AM

    We used to play these pranks on apprentices, etc; but not with dead people. We were limited to sending them to the tool store for a left handed hammer and stuff like that. But I guess if you work in a hospital, there’s not a lot of call for left handed hammers, so you have to work with what’s at hand.

    AV

    • February 1, 2010 5:21 PM

      EXACTLY! If all you have is a dead guy, you gotta work with him SOMEHOW. Bwahahahahahahahaha

  4. Tasneem R permalink
    February 1, 2010 5:08 AM

    Well that’s very sad . What was Austin’s reaction when he herd that the man was dead?

    • February 1, 2010 5:22 PM

      Not much of a reaction. He just picked up the tray, took it back to the kitchen and let his supervisor know the guy is dead and won’t be needing the tray. LOL

      • Tasneem R permalink
        February 2, 2010 5:37 AM

        LOL! But it’s good he takes things lightly .

  5. February 1, 2010 5:15 AM

    My reaction to reading this? HOLY SHIT!! So I can only imagine what Austin’s reaction was.

    • February 1, 2010 5:23 PM

      His reaction was actually the same as yours accept he didn’t say it out loud. LOL

  6. February 1, 2010 5:46 AM

    I don’t do dead well! Your poor son. That’s one of the reason’s I couldn’t work on a Med-Surg floor. In my 15 years of nursing I’ve never had a patient code. Now, I worked Labor and Delivery and we would get the occasional fetal demise, which was a very sad thing, but it wasn’t the same to me as a creepy dead body that had to be bathed and sent to the morgue…which was usually in the basement of the hospital somewhere ungodly!

    • February 1, 2010 5:26 PM

      You don’t do dead well? Ok, that deserves a “FREAKY DIR-TY”. Bwahahahahahahaha

      I used to work in the IT department of this same hospital. My office was in the basement close to the morgue and I saw dead bodies being taken in their once in a while. My office was also RIGHT BESIDE the autopsy room! That sucked ass! I would be working away and then start hearing drills and saws in use. YUK!

  7. February 1, 2010 7:13 AM

    Ewwww! Your poor son.
    My brother is in the same line of work, preparing food for patients. That’s a very good job.

  8. February 1, 2010 7:13 AM

    poor Austin! So this was a prank? Not a very cool one!

    • February 1, 2010 5:27 PM

      He doesn’t think it was a prank, no. The guy was alive earlier in the day to fill out his menu for dinner and then died before he got a chance to eat it. 😦

  9. February 1, 2010 7:48 AM

    Wow that’s pretty f*cked up…..

    • February 1, 2010 5:27 PM

      I couldn’t help but laugh my ass off when he told us this. I guess I’m weird? LOL

  10. February 1, 2010 10:23 AM

    How sad. My first reaction was Eeewww but then when I saw 2a24’s comment, I realized this is life. But I’m with jj. Was that a prank of some kind? NOT COOL.

    • February 1, 2010 5:28 PM

      He doesn’t think it was a prank, no. That would not be cool!

  11. February 1, 2010 11:00 AM

    I hope Austin dealt with it ok. I am sure it wasn’t funny at the time but I had to laugh at this! Sorry, that’s just me and my warped sense of humor!

    • February 1, 2010 5:29 PM

      He dealt with it just fine. No problems! I don’t like people to die of course but I couldn’t help but laugh my ass off when he told me this. I guess that makes me just as warped as you are Heather. I’m ok with that though. LOL

      • February 1, 2010 7:40 PM

        well I can’t say I didn’t giggle a bit but my first reaction was pissed off if it was a prank on austin!

        • February 1, 2010 10:31 PM

          How could you not giggle a little? LOL Nah, it wasn’t a prank. 😀

  12. 5kidswdisabilities permalink
    February 1, 2010 7:39 PM

    The poor kid. At least he didn’t shake him to wake him!
    Lindsey Petersen
    http://5kidswdisabilities.wordpress.com

    • February 1, 2010 10:31 PM

      Yeah…really Lindsey! THAT would have freaked him out. LOL

  13. Tony permalink
    February 1, 2010 8:00 PM

    Ha Ha AWESOME prank!!! I’m sure he won’t forget that one in a hurry.

    • February 1, 2010 10:32 PM

      Actually it wasn’t a prank Tony but I’m sure he still won’t forget it anytime soon. LOL

  14. February 1, 2010 8:58 PM

    Your son sees dead people.

    • February 1, 2010 10:32 PM

      BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAH……good one Angelia! LOL

  15. Sue permalink
    February 1, 2010 9:32 PM

    Well, I giggled a little too when I read that! We have pranksters in our dept, but none that would do that! I’m glad it wasn’t a prank and I think he handled it very well. The nurses at the NS crack me up! She’s like, “No big deal, he’s dead so take it back!” Don’t they at least close the door or something when they’ve got a body waiting to be taken to the morgue??!!!

    Gary, I wouldn’t have worried so much about the saws and stuff in the autopsy room, but if I heard screaming I’d get really nervous!

    • February 1, 2010 10:35 PM

      Yeah…no big deal….just take the tray with you please. bwahahahahahahahahahaha

      I think the door was closed but he walked in with the tray.

      Yeah, screams would have been freaky man! LOL

  16. February 2, 2010 3:36 PM

    OMG!!! Did that bring back memories!!! Having worked in a hospital for the last 20 some years, I can’t tell you how many times I’ve walked in on dead patients.. or mistook the newly refurbished morgue entrance as the pharmacy entrance!!

    ROFLMAO!

  17. February 2, 2010 6:14 PM

    I think that nurse needs to remember that 16 year olds can be vulnerable and inexperienced in matters such as death. I hope Austin wasn’t too shocked. My daughter would have been traumatized by that experience.

Leave a Reply

