Skip to content

Just Curious 01/28/10: I Was The Sous Chef

January 28, 2010

 

 

Who taught you how to cook?

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Tasneem R permalink
    January 28, 2010 2:33 AM

    Well nobody ‘taught’ me but yeah whatever I can cook right now is fully because of my mom . I observe how she cooks and that’s the way how I learn cooking !
    The Learning Test- Do you love to learn?
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/learning/learning_instructions.asp

  2. mad hatter tosha... permalink
    January 28, 2010 4:25 AM

    My grandmother. My mom didn’t have the time or the want to. My mom is an excellent cook but she just wanted us out of her kitchen and out of her way.

  3. January 28, 2010 6:14 AM

    Gary,

    Aside from that disaster I whipped up a coupla weeks ago, believe it or not,(you’d better believe it!) I’m a pretty good cook.

    My dad was a self taught chef, (working his way up at a hotel from dishwasher) who worked in the restaraunt industry for over 30 years. He taught me some stuff. However, I started cooking when I moved in with my boyfriend who would become by first(bad choice in men) husband. I learned mostly through mistakes, asking questions of family’s food that I liked, then I would tweak it to my liking.

    Great question!

    • January 28, 2010 10:24 AM

      Oh I believe you Sherri (cough cough).

      It sounds like your dad worked VERY hard to get ahead. Good for him! 😀

  4. January 28, 2010 8:17 AM

    I guess it was my mom although nothing fancy. I was the 3rd child so cooking wasn’t really on my “to do” list anyway, that was my oldest sister’s job. My daughter likes to cook and help and I have to admit, I get frustrated sometimes (ok, lots of times) b/c she’ll ditch out in the middle, doesn’t want to clean up or I just am not in the mood to make a mess!

    • January 28, 2010 8:52 AM

      Yes, Trin like the “idea” of it but bores of it very quickly.

    • January 28, 2010 10:25 AM

      bwahahahahahahaha……I feel your pain Sue! Logan wants to help me cook too but ditches me after about 5 minutes. LOL

  5. January 28, 2010 8:51 AM

    When my parents got divorced when I was 14, my dad got custody so I felt I should do the cooking so I learned a lot from cook books. They a few years later he got a really nice girlfriend who taught me to make quite a few things. My grandma, god bless her soul was a terrible cook. Everything was cooked to death and flavorless so it wasn’t until I met Paul. His mom taught me a lot about cooking and I do love it now.

  6. January 28, 2010 9:05 AM

    I taught myself. I wasn’t allowed in the kitchen with my mom. That was my step dads rule, not my moms. Anyways, I learned what to make from her but I had to learn how to perfect it myself. There are several dishes I make today that she made, but I had to go by what I thought was in it! Plus I got with Jason when I was 17, I had to learn how to cook or it was spaghetti or steak!

  7. S. Le permalink
    January 28, 2010 9:29 AM

    Mum did. Then when I was in grade 8 she had me do most of the cooking for our family of 5 from then on out especially in the Summer. Is it any wonder I love eating out?

  8. January 28, 2010 9:46 AM

    Nobody really taught me but I picked up everything I know from my mom. My mom did all the cooking and I was always in the kitchen just hanging around and talking to her. I always joke that it was just kinda of born into it because the day after I was born my mom and dad bought a Steakhouse and for the 1st 3 years of my life I remember sitting in a high chair in the kitchen of the restaurant!

  9. January 28, 2010 10:37 AM

    I am 100% self taught. My mother and father were both TERRIBLE cooks and couldn’t really teach ANYONE how to cook. When I became a stay at home dad, I needed to learn how to cook. I started with recipes I thought I could handle in the beginning and later tackled more difficult things. After I made some recipes a time or two, I started to change ingredients, a little less of this and a little more of that type of stuff. 😀

  10. January 28, 2010 2:19 PM

    I picked it up on my own. There are a few things my mom taught me but other wise she says she raised kick ass cooks by keeping us OUT of the kitchen. My mom is an awesome cook.

  11. January 28, 2010 3:23 PM

    Me!
    My bff from high school taught me how to cook scrambled eggs and chili dogs (not together), but everything else I had to stumble through.

  12. January 28, 2010 4:13 PM

    Hi Gary…
    You got me thinking on this one! I remember all of my relatives back in NYC showing me “their” secrets! LOL I also remember my mom teaching me about some “quick” meals. I also started cooking for the “family” at 13 years old. Both of my parents worked….and I was in charge. I am with S.Le, I love eating out….soooo itred of cooking! 🙂

  13. January 28, 2010 6:14 PM

    When my mom went to work full time (I was 11 years old), us kids had to start doing some cooking. Mom would leave written instructions and we’d do our best. My grandma provided a lot of guidance too.

  14. January 28, 2010 7:45 PM

    I have a thing with cooking. My mom really taught me….I just kept watching them in the kitchen still.

    I love baking…just following the recipes and adding my own touch made it special. So some things are self taught.

  15. LVISS permalink
    January 28, 2010 8:37 PM

    IS THE QUESTION FOR THE LADIES ONLY. AS FOR ME I DIDNT BOTHER TO LEARN COOKING. IT WOULD BE FATAL.

  16. January 29, 2010 5:42 PM

    I have a terrible sense of timing. If I cook, stand back, waaaay back!
    DANGER! DANGER! DANGER!

    My dating requisite was he liked to cook and it was edible. I’m happy with that!

    BUT, I did learn to make an excellent macaroni and cheese casserole this year. YUM!

    • January 30, 2010 2:17 PM

      Sounds DELICIOUS!! What time is dinner? LOL

Leave a Reply

