Skip to content

Just Curious 01/22/10: Haiti Relief Efforts

January 22, 2010

 

 

Have you or are you planning on support relief efforts in Haiti? In what ways are you getting involved?

11 Comments leave one →
  1. S. Le permalink
    January 22, 2010 8:13 AM

    Husband and I gave $$ to Red Cross.

  2. January 22, 2010 8:39 AM

    Right now all I am doing is praying. I would LOVE to be able to hop on a plane and go help but that’s not doable. I am hesitant giving to any of the charities sad to say even Red Cross because unless I am wrong they came under some fire a few years ago about not all their funds going where it should go.
    I have thought about that one that Clinton and Bush are cofounding but is that one trust worthy either? It’s really sad that organizations have put this hesitance in people’s giving.

    It just breaks my heart to see those people. That group of orphans just about did me in and I wanted to call those sisters that run it and tell them to bring me a couple of those kids.
    I think all of America feels like our hands are tied. They are stuck in ports with stuff and can’t get it to the people due to the security to their own lives. Just a horrible situation. And you will not see me go all mushy on you very often …but this time . Yeah admitting my heart is breaking!

    • January 22, 2010 8:52 PM

      I know what you mean Lisa. Every time I see something about Haiti I feel like going there and doing whatever I can to help. I think it’s just human nature to want to help people who are in that much need. 😦

  3. LVISS permalink
    January 22, 2010 8:39 AM

    I WOULD LIKE TO BUT DONT KNOW HOW. THESE TRAGEDIES MAKE ME LOSE MY SLEEP, WHY THESE THINGS ARE HAPPENING . IT IS TERRIBLE.

    • January 22, 2010 8:56 PM

      It’s so sad. Those people in Haiti have it so hard already and then something like this happens. It’s just a shame! 😦

  4. January 22, 2010 8:41 AM

    We gave some $$ at church. So they have that and my prayers.

  5. January 22, 2010 9:51 PM

    Okay… so this is going to sound REALLY anit-social .. and I have had this argument before with other catastrophes like Katrina …

    The only organizations I give to are the animal ones, like Best Friends in Utah ..

    Now before anyone goes all POOH POOH on me… let me just explain that there is SOOOO much money that is being donated and raised to help people.. but yknow.. animals need help too.. they need food, shelter, relief… they tend to get forgotten and it breaks my heart knowing that.

    Best Friends, et al drop everything and head over to areas just as fast as others do for humans.. they do just as much without the cushion of million dollar donations from celebrities .. well, that’s not fair, some celebrities may just donate to them also but it isn’t widely publicized .. if publicized at all..

    Do you know what a million dollars would do to an org like Best Friends or the ASPCA?????

    Sorry for the rant .. I’m not at my nicotine or caffeine quotas for this time of night!! LOLO

    • January 23, 2010 12:57 AM

      They way I look at it Lesse is that it’s YOUR money to give to who YOU want to give it too. 😀

  6. January 23, 2010 1:07 AM

    We have not given any money as of yet. With Paula being unemployed, funds are a little tight at the moment. Haiti will be needing money for quite sometime so when we can afford to send some funds, we certainly will. 🙂

Leave a Reply

