Skip to content

Au Jus No More!

December 15, 2009

Some of you long time readers of my blog may remember some posts about a restaurant Paula and I visited back in April called Au Jus. If you would like a refresher or if you are a more recent reader you can see the posts here, here, here, here, and of course here.

This past weekend, Paula thought it would be a great idea to have dinner there once again and asked if I was game. “HELL YEAH” I responded. After deciding our evening dinner location, Paula and I both started craving the delicious food at Au Jus! Paula was CRAVING their prime rib and I was really looking forward to their AWESOME cheesecake. I enjoyed the best piece of cheesecake I have ever had there. As the afternoon hours slipped away and the dinner hour slowly neared, our cravings grew stronger and stronger. We both looked like a couple of heroin addicts that needed a fix.

Finally, the time had come to leave our three bedroom ranch on a cliff and head for Au Jus! I could hardly concentrate on the road thinking of the cheesecake I was gonna woof down and Paula dreamed of the nice hot thick and juicy piece of meat she was gonna orally ingest. (Wow…..that sounds HOT) 😉

We arrived at Au Jus both salivating like a couple of pissed off pit bulls and pulled into the parking lot. The first thing I noticed was how dark the parking lot was. Then I noticed we were going to get a close spot to the door because the lot was empty. Next I noticed there were no lights on in the building and a realtor sign hanging on the door. “WTF? They are CLOSED” I shouted. “They went out of business” I said in disbelief. Paula and I looked at each other like a couple of five year olds whose parents forgot their birthday and decided on another restaurant. We ended up at a gourmet pizzeria not far from Au Jus where the pizza is cooked in a wood burning oven. DELICIOUS pizza but not what we had been looking forward too all day.

Things are tough all over!

33 Comments leave one →
  1. December 15, 2009 10:22 AM

    That is such a drag Gary. I know how you can just salivate thinking of what you want for supper and have it not turn out the way it should. I’m sorry for your loss.

  2. Paula permalink
    December 15, 2009 10:51 AM

    You failed to mention the worst part of this…. we had a gift certificate for this place too. So we were going to eat some wonderful food for free and instead we had some great pizza but had to pay for it.

    • December 15, 2009 11:30 AM

      That sucks even more Paula!! 😦

    • December 15, 2009 12:53 PM

      ohhhh ouch! That would suck even worse!

    • December 15, 2009 4:25 PM

      OH yeah….I did forget about that. That does make it sucketh even more. 😦

  3. December 15, 2009 12:26 PM

    Aw man! That’s awful! That sure sounded like a fantastic restaurant.

    • December 15, 2009 4:26 PM

      OH man Jean….it REALLY was! I’m really sorry to see it go!!! 😦

  4. December 15, 2009 12:56 PM

    we have the Woodfire Grille that sounds about like your Au Jus! Sometime when we have all saved our dimes you can come down and we can eat there.

  5. December 15, 2009 12:57 PM

    ps Gary..your snow isnt’ playing with me anymore 😡 I swear it was doing it this am when I told you about it!

    • December 15, 2009 4:27 PM

      How many cups of coffee had you had at that time though? Just sayin.

      • December 15, 2009 6:39 PM

        LOL only about 4! It was kind of strong though…. and I was humming White Rabbit while I was playing with the snow. ..probably not a good sign!

  6. S. Le permalink
    December 15, 2009 2:35 PM

    Crap! No fair! It’s so disappointing when a place you love closes.

    How is the lovely Paula doing after her job loss?

    • December 15, 2009 4:28 PM

      She is doing pretty well. It was hard for her to go back to work on Monday knowing she won’t have a job there at the end of the year. It’s kinda hard to be motivated to do much ya know. She is going to miss a lot of people there as well. 😦

      • December 15, 2009 6:38 PM

        😦 sadness and not much to say to help the matter..but still thinking of her and you too.

  7. December 15, 2009 4:01 PM

    That sucks a big fat one! I’m so sorry! To crave something and then not be able to have it…torture!!!! I hope you find another restaurant that’s better!

    • December 15, 2009 4:29 PM

      It will be really fun trying to find one better for sure!! 😀

  8. December 15, 2009 4:03 PM

    You guys will soon find another place that you will love…even more! 🙂

    • December 15, 2009 4:29 PM

      I’m sure going to enjoy trying to find a better one, that’s for sure!! 🙂

  9. December 15, 2009 6:41 PM

    ok it is now 6:41pm and the snow is playing with my mouse again!

  10. LVISS permalink
    December 15, 2009 8:50 PM

    MUST HAVE SHIFTED TO ANOTHER PLACE OR SOLD AT LOW PRICES TO INVITE THIS FATE.

    • December 16, 2009 7:38 AM

      I think it’s because of the state of our economy right now LVISS. We are in a recession at the moment here in the states and people are losing their jobs all over the country and business’s are closing up shop as well. 😦

      • LVISS permalink
        December 16, 2009 6:44 PM

        WE TOO HAD SOME MILD REPURCUSSIONS. MOSTLY IN THE IT SECTOR. BUT FORTUNATELY WE ARE COMING BACK.

        • December 16, 2009 11:08 PM

          In the States, pretty much every occupation is being affected. Companies are cutting back on their employees all over th country.

          Glad to hear you are coming back. It’s tough!

  11. Tasneem R permalink
    December 16, 2009 1:15 AM

    Okies ! That’s something which I can relate to ! It happens with everybody in fact . Our expectations never turn out to be true ..I’ve always had this … whenever I expect anything I get just the opposite . It’s always better NOT TO expect anythingggg what so ever ( from life or from your destiny) , then you’ll see how wonderfully things turn out 🙂 Better said than done?! But I’ve started following this principle from today onwards !

  12. mad hatter tosha... permalink
    December 16, 2009 12:02 PM

    ick! I’ve had that happen too..

    Found out yesterday my sister is losing her job as of Dec 31st too.. SHe’s been there 8 years and they are letting her go and keeping a girl who makes less than her and doesnt have the experience she does.. She works for a lawyers office..

    • December 16, 2009 12:52 PM

      Aw man! I’m sorry to hear that Tosha. Time are certainly tough all over and I wish her all the best.

  13. December 16, 2009 6:40 PM

    Man, that’s disappointing. We went to a restaurant a couple of months ago and the dish I ordered was sooooo gooood. I was ready to go back the next day and have exactly the same thing! I thought about the restaurant constantly. When we finally did go back a few weeks later, the food was totally lack luster. That was disappointing too.

  14. December 16, 2009 8:28 PM

    Yeah, may just suck ass worse Era. 😦

Leave a Reply

