Skip to content

The Cat’s Meow

December 11, 2009

As you may or may not know my wife Paula works for the federal government. Paula works in the IT department of the US Federal Courts as a database administrator/web developer. She has been working for the government for just over two years now. In that time, she has made many friends and has been awarded numerous days off with pay and gifts for her performance. She quickly found out after starting the job that working for the government definitely has its advantages.

Yesterday while sitting at her desk working away, her boss called and asked her to come into his office. Since this IS a normal occurrence, nothing was thought of it as she walked down the hall to his office. When she walked in, she found not only her boss there but her boss’s boss as well. This would of course make anyone wonder what was up at that point and those feelings are usually correct. Mr. Boss’s boss informed Paula that due to budget cuts, her job would be ending at the end of this year. Well now isn’t that just the cat’s meow?!?

Paula felt shocked, confused, let down, angry and upset all in the matter of a second as anyone would in her position. She left work after the “meeting” and called me to give me the news on her way home. I was totally shocked when she told me and I couldn’t believe what I was hearing. When she arrived home, we just hugged and kissed one another.

We have watched and heard about people losing their jobs left and right all over the country and have counted our lucky stars that Paula has such a good job in these tough times. We felt so sorry for those people and now we stand in their shoes.

We didΒ some talking last night and have vowed to not be negative about it after tonight. Neither of usΒ is bitter, times are tough! There is nothing we can do about it but to move forward and get through this as quickly as possible, whatever that my take. We have vowed to stay as positive as we can about such a shitty situation.

With that said, Merry Christmas everyone! πŸ˜€

41 Comments leave one →
  1. Tasneem R permalink
    December 11, 2009 2:18 AM

    That’s not so nice to hear .. But the most important thing I realized after reading this post is that both Paula and you are backing each other in difficult times and that’s what is important . Job may come and go so don’t feel depressed about it , Paula will surely get another one because she has got 2 years of experience and we all know experience counts .

    Does Your Current Job Suck – Are you happy with your current employment?
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/quit_job/quit_job_instructions.asp

    • December 11, 2009 8:57 AM

      Yeah, something will come along sooner or later. We just hope it’s sooner than later. πŸ˜€

      • Tasneem R permalink
        December 12, 2009 12:26 AM

        yeah…. πŸ˜€

  2. December 11, 2009 8:14 AM

    this sucks at any time of year but so close to christmas? I am sorry to hear this but I would imagine with the skills that your wife has it should hopefully not be too long before she finds new employment, I woould assume that there will be a package offered, so take it as a christmas break that the goverment has paid for and enjoy the extra time with the family and start afresh in the new year. best of luck – james

    • December 11, 2009 8:59 AM

      Yeah, what a kick in the nuts! Hopefully it won’t take long…we shall see. She does have a package coming although nothing to brag about. Something is better than nothing of course.

      Thanks James!

  3. December 11, 2009 8:18 AM

    You know I am here for you guys. Not really sure what to even say (shocking right?) . Makes me all the same emotions Paula had. It’s just a matter of time with my husbands job. I am sure Paula will have no problem finding something else…but it still just friggin sucks! I am so so sorry to hear this! 😦

    • December 11, 2009 9:00 AM

      Thanks Lisa and we know. It’s nice to have friends in this kind of situation. We may need to bunk up with you for a while. LOL

      We of course hope it doesn’t take long….we shall see. πŸ™‚

      Thanks Lisa!

      • December 11, 2009 1:43 PM

        come on down.. it will be crowded but hey what the hell right!

        • December 11, 2009 3:42 PM

          Sweet! We won’t call it crowded. We should call it “cozy”. LOL

          • December 11, 2009 8:12 PM

            LMAO..it will be cozy alright..!!! bring sleeping bags! πŸ™‚ but we can
            call it camping in the winter!

            • December 11, 2009 9:48 PM

              Cool! We can pitch a tent and light a fire in your living room. SWEET! πŸ˜€

  4. S. Le permalink
    December 11, 2009 8:44 AM

    How could that happen? Wow. So sorry. Please give the lovely Paula an extra hug and well wishes from me.

  5. December 11, 2009 9:29 AM

    I’m really sorry, Gary and Paula. I hope a new job isn’t far off, and that times are not tough while you are searching.

  6. December 11, 2009 10:30 AM

    This sucks no matter how one looks at it. I thought things would start to look up this year for jobs and for people. I wonder what this means for other business’s. How awful for Paula. To walk in there like that so not suspecting it. Talk about a shock. I’m sorry Gary and Paula. Sincerely. If you need any salsa, let me know.

    • December 11, 2009 3:30 PM

      Thanks Joy!

      I’ll let ya know if we could use some salsa……bwahahahahahahahaha!

  7. December 11, 2009 11:59 AM

    I’m sorry! I completely understand. I guess be thankful that she had some small warning. I wish we’d have been given even that. I really hope for the best for you guys. It really is very tough and sucks so bad! You guys will be in my thoughts.

    • December 11, 2009 3:38 PM

      The warning was one of the things we were thankful for.

      Thanks for your well wishes Tosha!!

      • December 11, 2009 4:19 PM

        Yes, the warning was polite of them. One of the ladies I work with found out yesterday that her husband was being laid off today so…Take care you guys and you’re in our prayers. Paula seems like a smart cookie so I’m wishing her the best in finding a job fast.

        • December 11, 2009 9:41 PM

          Thanks for keeping us in your prayers Sue!

    • December 12, 2009 5:48 PM

      Okay, I’ve read this thing three times now. Where was the “warning” everyone is talking about????

      • December 12, 2009 8:44 PM

        Instead of waiting until the end of the year and saying “this is your last day”, they gave her a couple weeks to prepare so to speak.

  8. December 11, 2009 12:39 PM

    Sorry to hear about the job loss. I will keep you guys in my prayers!

    • December 11, 2009 3:40 PM

      Thanks Heather! We appreicate it! πŸ˜€

  9. December 11, 2009 4:22 PM

    All I can really say is THIS SUCKS and I’M SORRY!!!!! 😦

  10. December 11, 2009 9:06 PM

    Gary, when I read this in the am, I was at a loss for words. I know that this happens, but it always seem to happen to the nice people in life! I am sure you guys will work it out! You both rock! πŸ™‚

    • December 11, 2009 9:50 PM

      Thanks Luisa! I have always said that good things happen to bad people and bad things happen to good people. Tis life.

      We will be fine. Just a little bump in the road. πŸ˜€

  11. Sherri permalink
    December 11, 2009 10:06 PM

    Really sorry to hear that Gary and Paula. Wish you both all the best. Sometimes what seems like a shitty break can be a chance for bigger and better opportunities. Seding out those positive thoughts and vibes to the Universe to bounce your way…

    • December 11, 2009 10:19 PM

      Thanks Sherri! I agree, maybe this is a blessing in disguise. Time will tell I suppose and thanks for the positive vibes! πŸ˜€

  12. December 11, 2009 10:59 PM

    Oh, Paula, Gary, I am so sorry to hear this. I’m shocked and saddened so I can only imagine how you both must feel. With the positive attitudes and each other, I firmly believe you guys are already ahead of the curve. Happy Holidays and may the new year be filled with with more blessings than you have room to receive!

    • December 11, 2009 11:10 PM

      Thank you very much Era and happy holidays to you and yours! πŸ˜€

  13. December 12, 2009 12:56 AM

    Sorry Gary and Paula.

  14. Carol permalink
    December 12, 2009 11:24 AM

    Gosh you guys I am so sorry. That really sucks anytime, but can sure put a damper on Christmas! With her skills I am sure something will turn up soon. On the bright side–plenty of time for sex!

    • December 12, 2009 8:40 PM

      Thanks Mrs. Bitch Eyes!

      That IS one way to make light of an otherwise shitting situation. LOL

  15. December 12, 2009 11:46 AM

    So sorry to hear this! What lousy timing too. What kind of jerk lays people off just before Christmas! Bah humbug! I really hope something else comes along very soon. You sure don’t deserve this bad luck. I’m praying that things work out for you!

    • December 12, 2009 8:41 PM

      Thanks Laura! What kind of jerk lays people off just before Christmas? That would be our federal government. πŸ˜€

      Thanks for keeping us in your prayers Laura! πŸ˜€

  16. December 12, 2009 6:08 PM

    I’m so sorry, Gary. These are tough times, and I know very few people who don’t worry every day that they’ll experience something similar to what Paula just did.

    I love that you are both facing this with a positive attitude. I hope something comes along soon for her.

    • December 12, 2009 8:47 PM

      Thank you very much Terri!

      These are very tough times for sure…..I hope it gets better for us all real soon! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

