Skip to content

Just Curious 12/08/09: Holiday Traditions

December 8, 2009

 

 

 

What are some of your favorite holiday traditions?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. S. Le permalink
    December 8, 2009 8:44 AM

    Getting together with family, especially my brothers. I don’t see them often enough.

    I would have said something about eating but I do that year ’round!

  2. December 8, 2009 8:45 AM

    We decorate our tree while watching The Sound of Music.
    On Christmas eve, we always let our son open one gift.

  3. December 8, 2009 9:12 AM

    christmas eve at my sisters house. Small house..lots of people and small people who buck the system cuz they know they can on christmas eve and ONLY that day! Watching Christmas Story and reciting lines and/or muting the sound and throwing in our own dialog (which can go south real quick) …that is our holiday tradition.

  4. December 8, 2009 9:22 AM

    Decorating the tree with the kids.

  5. December 8, 2009 9:35 AM

    Christmas Eve we take turns reading Christmas books: I read “Poochy the Pup,” my mom reads “The Polar Express,” my brother reads “The Bearenstein Bears Meet Santa Bear,” and my dad reads “The Night Before Christmas.” My brother and I are also allowed to open one gift each of my parents’ choosing.

    Christmas morning my brother and I have a pact: whoever wakes up first has to wake up the other. Even now, at 26 and 28, we are not allowed to go into the living room until we get my parents up so that they can check to make sure Santa has gone. We drink champagne punch while opening presents (while Mom meticulously takes note of each one so we can write thank-you notes later that day), then eat a hearty breakfast of Sausage Strata. My grandparents come down around noon, and we all visit, then eat a roast pork tenderloin for dinner (which, by the way, has the best gravy in the whole world, ever).

  6. December 8, 2009 11:12 AM

    Spending time with family and friends is my favortie holiday tradition. Putting up the tree and decorating the house is always fun. 😀

  7. December 8, 2009 12:53 PM

    The family get togethers are always great, but I liked getting our Christmas tree. My husband insisted for the first 7 years we were married that we have a real tree so the day after Thanksgiving was spent finding one. 2 years ago I won that war and now have a beautiful fake prelite tree that doesn’t shed needles, get sap on my ornaments or drink lots of water!

    • December 8, 2009 8:11 PM

      I have never had a real tree. They really look nice but they seem to be a lot of work, hassle, trouble and a fire hazard. Not trying to sound like a scrooge by ANY means. Just gonna stick with my nice fake tree. LOL

  8. December 8, 2009 2:44 PM

    Well about the only real tradition we had was cutting our tree dopwn the day after Thanksgiving but like Sue said their family and Paul and Joy have sissied out (JK SUE!) lol and have fake ones now! Not a bad idea and and I think I have Jason convinced on buying a fake one next year…for all the reasons Sue listed. they make pine scented candles so I’ll be okay!
    Other than that just getting together with the family at Paul & Joys house is probably my favorite thing to do during the holidays. She has the cutest decorations and lights everywhere…it’s the best!

  9. December 8, 2009 3:40 PM

    Baking cookies with the kids, decorating the tree with the kids, buying chocolate oranges for their stockings every year, watching “A Christmas Story”, “The Santa Claus”, and all the other Christmas movies.

    • December 8, 2009 8:17 PM

      YEAH! I LOVE watching all the Christmas movies with my kids!!

  10. December 8, 2009 10:57 PM

    We always go to my moms for Christmas Eve and then to my house for Christmas day then to the mountain housetillr New Years Eve! We try to see as many friends and family members possible! 🙂

  11. December 9, 2009 9:10 PM

    Growing up we went to my dad’s mom’s on christmas eve.. then when we got home that night we were allowed to open one gift. it was always clothes. Christmas day we opened the rest of our presents and then went to my mom’s mom…My mom’s mom always let us open 1 gift a week early. it always ticked off my mom but we always got to anyway.. Then when we got older and had our own kids we kinda started our own traditions..

    Christmas eve we always go to my hubs grandmothers and then my kids get to open 1 gift that night and its always clothes.. Hubs doesnt see why I do that but.. some habits die hard.. We always have christmas day at my moms.. everyone comes.. Thats really the only tradition we have..

    • December 9, 2009 11:10 PM

      Those are great traditions Tosaha! I’ll bet your kids will carry on most of those traditions with their children someday. 😀

  12. December 10, 2009 10:29 PM

    Playing ” A Christmas Story” for the full 24 hours TBS plays it.

    It’s funny.. last year we were in Vegas last year during xmas, and actually watched most of the movie at Jimmy Buffet’s Margatritaville during lunch!

Leave a Reply

