Skip to content

It’s Beginning to Look a Lot Like Christmas

December 8, 2009

 

Ev’rywhere you go;
Take a look in the five and ten glistening once again
With candy canes and silver lanes aglow.
It’s beginning to look a lot like Christmas
Toys in ev’ry store
But the prettiest sight to see is the holly that will be
On your own front door.

 

My own front door!

Christmas cheer has certainly descended upon our house once again. Our outside lights were hung and ready to be turned on the day after Thanksgiving this year. We had some pretty nice temperatures to work in which was really nice. Usually I’m outside hanging those lights in 30 degree weather so it was a refreshing change. Every year I put out a few more lights here and there. I figure in 10 years or so, hanging the outside lights will take the entire month of November. My motto ever year is the same…..MORE LIGHTS!

Believe it or not, you are looking at 2100 lights in this photo and a 4 foot lit Santa Claus. There are another 600 lights on the garage that you can’t see in the photo. The power company LOVES us!

 

Walk inside our front door into our living room and you will see since this past Sunday…………

Our Christmas tree!

We have a very nice tree skirt that we haven’t put under the tree yet. Our dogs would fight over who gets to turn it into their blanket so we will put it out when it can be covered with presents. We are starting our Christmas shopping this weekend. Yes dear reader, I said STARTING our Christmas shopping this weekend. 😀

It’s definitely looking like Christmas! The most wonderful time of the year!

33 Comments leave one →
  1. December 8, 2009 3:20 AM

    This seems to be a popular title as I wrote just not that long ago, with the same title for my post. Excellent! Merry Christmas, it’s a good thing to see people who not only believe in Christmas, but count it true and spread it.

    • December 8, 2009 11:06 AM

      Hi Canaan!

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting. I certainly appreicat it.

      Merry Christmas to you and I’m ALL about spreading holiday cheer my friend. 😀

  2. December 8, 2009 8:36 AM

    Oh wow! Very festive lights display! I like that you’ve lined your sidewalk. I love those big light bulbs. V Nostalgic.
    Your Christmas tree looks beautiful! Now it just needs presents.

    • December 8, 2009 11:07 AM

      Thanks Tammy!

      Our tree does need presents under it huh? I will send you our wish list! LOL

  3. S. Le permalink
    December 8, 2009 8:42 AM

    That’s a lot of lights! Glad I don’t have to put them up! Nice tree. Yeah, our cats think the tree skirt is their personal nap blanket. By the end of the season it looks like more cat fur than velvet.

    • December 8, 2009 11:08 AM

      I don’t HAVE to put them up but I really like too. They look so pretty all lit up at night. 😀

  4. December 8, 2009 9:06 AM

    did you move out the furniture to get that in there 🙂 I see no furniture!

    • December 8, 2009 9:07 AM

      btw..your house looks so nice! You should go out and take pictures of it with the snow!

      • December 8, 2009 11:08 AM

        Thanks JJ and I might just do that. 😀

    • December 8, 2009 11:08 AM

      Yeah, there is a couch that normall sits there. 😀

  5. December 8, 2009 9:28 AM

    I was sitting at my computer this gloomy rainy morning and then I saw your beautiful decorations and I feel so much more festive now! Thanks for sharing that. Apparently we forgot our Christmas stuff in the attic of our old house so we’ll have to see what we can russle up this weekend.

    • December 8, 2009 11:10 AM

      AWESOME! I’m glad I could share a little holiday cheer with you Era.

      OH NO! The new owners may make good use of your decorations. I know I would cause you have GREAT taste!

      Russle up some good stuff this weekend Era. Picutres! Lots of pictures! 😀

  6. December 8, 2009 12:50 PM

    Very nice Gary 🙂 Your home looks super cute, I mean manly, with all those lights and I must say, your hardwood floor looks very shiny!!!

    • December 8, 2009 8:08 PM

      Thanks Sue! We try to keep our floors looking nice. You just never know who’s gonna dropy by or when. 😀

      • December 9, 2009 2:10 PM

        hhmmm and how many sleeping bags will fit in that area?

        • December 9, 2009 8:19 PM

          A LOT! Come on over! 😀

        • December 9, 2009 8:19 PM

          When the living room floor is full we have the finished basement also! 😀

  7. December 8, 2009 2:46 PM

    I agree… take a photo with snow!! 🙂 You did such a great job, very nice and clean. I can’t stand when poeple just throw up lights and be done. I can really tell you put time and effort into it! Payed off!!! 🙂

    • December 8, 2009 8:15 PM

      Thanks Nikki! I spend a lot of time every year putting all those lights up and NEVER just throw them up. Looks tacky….may as well not even put them up.

  8. December 8, 2009 3:38 PM

    The house looks beautiful and festive, as does the tree!

    My cat LOVES the tree skirt. She’ll spend the entire month of December hanging out under the tree and always seems a bit sad when it comes down after Christmas.

  9. December 8, 2009 5:17 PM

    Gary….you have a beautiful home and a very cool looking Christmas tree! I love all of the lights. I hang lights everywhere I can! I also love to light up the indoors! Thank you for sharing with us your great home! 🙂 Have fun shopping! Don’t forget, I love jewelry…it is easy to mail! LOL 🙂

    • December 8, 2009 8:27 PM

      Thank you very much Luisa! You always have the nicest things to say that light up my day. Thanks for being such a good blogging buddy.

      jewelry is easy to mail……bwahahahahahahahahaha…you kill me!

  10. December 8, 2009 11:09 PM

    Thanks for sharing Gary. It all looks great!

  11. December 9, 2009 8:46 AM

    is that house next door for sale? You should buy it and rent it to me!

    • December 9, 2009 8:21 PM

      No, sorry…..the one across the street just sold a couple months ago also. Maybe this spring? LOL

  12. December 9, 2009 3:55 PM

    Nice job there Clark! Seriously it looks very nice!

  13. Tosha permalink
    December 9, 2009 8:58 PM

    Ohh very pretty! Do you actually help w/ the tree? My dad never did and my hubs doesnt either

    • December 9, 2009 11:09 PM

      Thanks! Sure I help with the tree. It’s one of my favorite things to do. I have always lifted the youngest child up every year to place the angel topper on our tree.

      • Tosha permalink
        December 9, 2009 11:57 PM

        ahh thats great! Hubs said the tree was pretty last night when he came in from work. Thats the most i’ve ever gotten out of him about the tree..

        • December 10, 2009 12:24 AM

          Well somebody just needs to get him into the spirit of the holdays! Sprinkle a little Christmas cheer on him Tosha! 😀

Leave a Reply

