Skip to content

Christmas Trees and the Rest of the Junkee’s

December 7, 2009

Sundays are usually pretty uneventful at our house this time of the year. We are always busy during the warm months but this time of the year we slow down. Sure, we may throw a load of laundry into the washer or cook a nice dinner but other than that it’s veg out on the couch day. Last Sunday however was an exception and we actually went and did something other than facebook and blog.

Paula, Logan, Nick and I spent most of the morning at Festival Of Trees. Festival Of Trees is almost everything Christmas. A huge miniature train display, gingerbread houses, music, wreaths, lights, games for the kids and of course hundreds of ornately decorated trees were some of the highlights of the festival. Now by now some of you may be asking where the photos are. I do have a reason, although it’s a lame reason and I’m still kicking myself in the ass for not bringing my camera, but a reason none the less. Please forgive me for not providing photos of the festival. (bowing head in shame)

I didn’t bring my camera because after we finished strolling through the festival, we met Javajunkee (aka Lisa) and family at the mall. I didn’t want to lug my heavy camera around the mall the rest of the day and I certainly didn’t want to leave it in the car so I left it at home.

Paula, Nick and I had of course already met Lisa and her daughter Erin, but it was our first time meeting Mr. Javajunkee (aka David) and Mr. Javajunkee Jr. (aka Jake). It was the first time any of the Junkee’s met Logan. After we all met up in front of JC Penney’s and being introduced to one another, we decided to head to the food court for some lunch. After lunch, Nick ventured out into the mall with Erin and Jake leaving just the adults and Logan. I walked Logan down to the ice cream shop for some dessert after a quick stop at Aeropostale so I could get a new stocking cap. I found this really cool stocking cap with a bill on it similar to a baseball cap. I really like the hat and Nick really likes it but Paula says I look like Elmer Fudd. Maybe I will take some photos and let you all decide. My sons informed me later that the cap is called a “beanie”.

After I returned to the food court with Logan and my new beanie, we all headed over to Starbucks inside Barnes and Noble for some coffee. We sat there for quite a while chatting and all getting to know one another. Logan spent a lot of time on Lisa’s lap teaching her how to read and looking at books. LOL

Can a Sunday get any better than visiting a festival guaranteed to get you into the holiday spirit and enjoying lunch with new friends? I think NOT! It was a pleasure to see Lisa and Erin again and meeting David and Jake. I’m looking forward to our next get together already! 😀

33 Comments leave one →
  1. Tasneem R permalink
    December 7, 2009 1:36 AM

    Nothing better could have happen than this !! It’s great that you made such nice bunch of friends . Friends are blessing 🙂
    How Friendly Are You?- How good are you as a friend?
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/friendly_self/friendly_self_instructions.asp

  2. December 7, 2009 8:45 AM

    nope it could not have been any better and I need another fix!!!! I gotta say Logan is even sweeter than he looks in those pictures and I had a great time looking at books with him. That’s a smart little guy! We talked about all kinds of stuff.

    Paula and I didn’t go window shopping. Was fun just to sit and get to know her better and we both decided shopping isn’t much fun when you don’t have funds.

    Nick and Erin look so cute together. I am not sure I’ve seen a cuter couple in a long time…of course now it might just be cuz one of them is Gary’s kid and one is mine! 🙂

    yep coffee and good friends. 2 of the better things in life!

  3. S. Le permalink
    December 7, 2009 9:14 AM

    Awww. Making connections in Bloggersville! It’s really cool you all have met. You also just can’t beat Mall Food Court food. It’s a win-win.

  4. December 7, 2009 9:34 AM

    Sounds like the perfect Sunday! I totally understand about the camera. Years ago we bought a video camera for family vacations. It was such a hassle we never took it anywhere. No one wanted to lug it around and the kind of space cadets we are, we were always afraid we’d go off and forget it somewhere. Thank God for small digital cameras that have video capability. It may not give the best results, but at least we’re willing to heft the “deck of cards sized” device, carry it around, and actually use it. Wow, we really are lazy aren’t we, lol.

  5. December 7, 2009 9:46 AM

    {I didn’t bring my camera because after we finished strolling through the festival, we met Javajunkee (aka Lisa) and family at the mall.}

    Oh sure, blame it all on Javajunkee!
    I think it is awesome that you guys get to have these little get togethers. Just make sure to send me and invitation to the wedding!

    • December 7, 2009 3:28 PM

      It’s just easier to blame it on someone else ya know. LOL Since that Junkee’s have to foot the bill for MOST of the wedding, invites for EVERYONE!! LOL

    • December 9, 2009 8:50 AM

      It’s always my fault! I create so many victims it’s unreal! ..just ask my son! 🙂

  6. December 7, 2009 1:19 PM

    It could have gotten a little better…. 😉 I could have been there! JK (not really) That all sounds GREAT! I wish we lived closer to you all!! Hey Gary…my son loves those hats with the bills. He says they girls like them too. 😉

    • December 7, 2009 3:31 PM

      HELL yeah! It would have been awesome if you could have been there Nikki. Who knows, maybe one of these days we will all get together??

      So THAT’S why all the girls have been looking at me! 😉

  7. December 7, 2009 3:50 PM

    You treat your camera like a baby too?! I’m so careful with mine. I give long pause to bringing it anywhere, and then I hover over it like a mother hen. Nice you got to meet another blogging (full) family this time. Gah! i wish one of my blog rollee’s was close in proximity to us. I’ve met one tho. That was fun.

    • December 7, 2009 5:54 PM

      Oh yeah Renee, I guard my camera like I would a suitcase full of money! Yeah, it’s really great being able to hang with a fellow blogger. Not only is it cool that we can hang but we get along really really really well also. 😀

  8. December 7, 2009 4:26 PM

    Do Erin and Nick know how cute you guys think they are?! Is there anything happening on that front? *Totally sticking my nose where it doesn’t belong!* That sounds like a great day and I’m glad everyone got to meet this time!

    • December 7, 2009 5:56 PM

      Well let’s put it this way Sue, while we were all at the mall and Erin and Nick were watching us, Lisa and I walked into a jewelry store and started looking at engagement and wedding rings. They were so shocked! LOL They seem to be getting along VERY well. 😀

  9. December 7, 2009 7:30 PM

    that jewelry store thing was some funny shit. We showed nick and erin which ring gary and I thought erin should have…and that they would take payments! I’m not sure that nick knew we were kidding and erin couldn’t have gotten a much brighter shade of red. 🙂

    sue…their facebooks have them listed as “in a relationship” with each other 🙂 this mama couldn’t be any happier for her daughter! Nick is a great guy! His daddy raised him right!

    • December 7, 2009 9:54 PM

      I didn’t know we were kidding either? bwahahahahahahahaha!

      Thanks Lisa! Erin comes from a nice family! 😀

      • December 8, 2009 9:30 AM

        LOL ok yeah we weren’t kidding. Except erin picked out a smaller diamond! She doesn’t want to break his bank! 🙂

        • December 8, 2009 11:15 AM

          She better pick out a plastic ring then if she doesn’t want to break his bank. I think Logan has more money saved than Nick does. LOL

    • December 7, 2009 10:24 PM

      That is AWESOME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Whoop whoop!!!!

      • December 8, 2009 9:16 AM

        my thoughts exactly Sue. They are just too cute! She got mad the other night cuz he told her he was taking a shower and she goes in to her brothers room and he’s texting him and she comes out to the front room and I’m texting with him..she’s like “what the hell?”! So then she sends a text to him something about being in the shower and instead he’s talking to her brother and her mother. LOL it was funny.

  10. December 7, 2009 8:56 PM

    I want to see your beanie.
    Sounds like a great day!

    • December 7, 2009 9:55 PM

      Ok, I will take a photo of me wearing it and post it.

      It was a lot of fun!

      • December 8, 2009 9:18 AM

        yeah but I was one of the first people to see it 🙂 Take a picture of it reversed too so they can see the tag 🙂

        • December 8, 2009 11:16 AM

          I took the tag off the second I walked in the door with it. 😀

  11. December 8, 2009 10:23 PM

    cuz then everybody would be pointing it out and telling you that you had your beanie on backwards..and YOU would have all kinds of comebacks!

    • December 8, 2009 10:49 PM

      bwahahahahahahahaha…..I would rather cut the damn tag off. Besides, your supposed to wear them backwards. LOL

  12. Tosha permalink
    December 9, 2009 9:15 PM

    Sounds like alot of fun!! I’m surprised you didn’t already know it was called a beanie.. only beanies w/ bills on them aren’t all that cool ya know.. We have some but only b/c they are a hunting staple around here.. I’m so glad Logan taught Lisa how to read!

    • December 9, 2009 11:11 PM

      No, I didn’t know they weren’t all that cool. LOL They are pretty popular around here. Not for hunting though. LOL

      Yeah, she needed help DESPERATELY!

Leave a Reply

