Skip to content

Just Curious 12/01/09: Secret’s Out Santa

December 1, 2009

 

 

 

How did you find out the secret behind Santa Claus?

32 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2009 12:48 AM

    I think I was 6 and my father hired a guy (dressed as Santa) to visit us during the night, the dude came singing the most outrageous song and I woke up. He didn’t have the big tummy and the next day I had so many questions my mom ended up spilling the goods on Santa… Needless to say I was horrified but still wanted my Santa presents.

    • December 1, 2009 6:12 PM

      Bwhahahahahhahaahahaha…great story Silindile! Thanks for sharing it. 😀

  2. Tasneem R permalink
    December 1, 2009 4:33 AM

    Well I was in school when I first gotto know that there ain’t any real Santa . Every year in school we used to celebrate X’mas and a duplicate Santa would come and throw sweets and candies on the sitting audience . I used to grab one or two !

    Which Ornament on Christmas Tree are you?- Are you an angel or a star on the Christmas tree?
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/christmas_ornament/christmas_ornament_instructions.asp

  3. December 1, 2009 7:12 AM

    I ran across the catalog where my parents had carefully written down their order! Sure enough, got those gifts that year. Actually, I am pretty sure I knew before that point.

  4. December 1, 2009 8:01 AM

    I can’t remember how old I was, but I remember that Christmas vividly! My mother’s parents live in Missouri so my grandma would send us our presents every year. That Christmas I remember sitting on the floor surrounded by my pile of presents and noticed that Grandma Claus’s handwriting (yes, my grandparents’ last name is Claus!) was the same as Santa’s! I started to say something and my older sister’s looked at me, then mom looked at me and smiled and gave that shut-up-right-now glare b/c I have a younger brother. I wasn’t sad or anything, but will never forget that!

    • December 1, 2009 6:14 PM

      Are you serious? Your grandparents’ name is “Claus”? Now THAT’S friggin AWESOME!

      Where in Missouri Sue? I lived in Springfield for a while.

  5. S. Le permalink
    December 1, 2009 9:22 AM

    Older Brother. He always spoilt everything. Well, nearly.

  6. December 1, 2009 9:24 AM

    I actually don’t remember how I found out. I know I pretended for many years and my parents didn’t know I didn’t believe.

    • December 1, 2009 6:16 PM

      You probably didn’t want to break their hearts! I think parents have more fun when their children still believe! 😀

  7. December 1, 2009 9:25 AM

    I was about 5 or 6 when my lovely older brother decided to show me all the presents in Santa’s, I mean my mom and dad’s closet! They were all wrapped and he unwrapped them a little bit just enough to see what it was and retaped it! At least he started a new tradition because we did that every year until we moved out of the house!

    • December 1, 2009 6:17 PM

      You two are SNEAKY! LOL Why do the older brothers ALWAYS get the blame? We have a bad rap I tell ya. LOL

  8. December 1, 2009 9:28 AM

    what is this secret you speak of?

    • December 1, 2009 6:18 PM

      Oh no, I’m not going to spill the beans here. Us big brothers already have a bad rap from all the comments here today. bwahahahahahahahaha

  9. December 1, 2009 11:32 AM

    Oh, bummer. My sister showed me all the gifts in my parents closet. 😦

    • December 1, 2009 6:21 PM

      FINALLY a sister get’s the bad rap. bwahahahahahahahahaha!

  10. December 1, 2009 1:27 PM

    I have no idea…I don’t remember when I went from believing to not believing. My son is asking questions now and we’re pretty sure he knows santa isn’t real…we just tell him to never stop believing in the spirit of Santa…oh and keep it quiet for the little ones.

  11. December 1, 2009 2:54 PM

    I believe in the Legend of Saint Nicholas. 🙂

  12. Tosha permalink
    December 1, 2009 4:51 PM

    I have no idea

    • December 1, 2009 6:30 PM

      It’s been a while I bet. At least I hope anyway. LOL

  13. December 1, 2009 7:20 PM

    I don’t know what you are all talking about. These are all lies. There is a santa and he is delivering a harley to me this christmas!

    • December 1, 2009 7:56 PM

      I get to ride “bitch” for the first ride! I CALLED IT!

  14. December 1, 2009 10:45 PM

    LMAO!!! Ok deal! And I shall call you Ethel!

  15. December 2, 2009 12:57 PM

    Oh.. ok.. this is a funny story.

    When we were kids, my mother and father used to decorate the house and put the tree up on Christmas Eve once me and my brother went to bed. When we got up on Christmas morning, they would say that Santa had did it.

    Dunno why.. probably because back then they both worked and me and my brother couldn’t be in the same room without fighting so I guess it was just easier on my mother’s blood pressure …

    Anyway.. when I was about 7, I happened to wake up in the middle of the night.. heard the commotion downstairs and peeped .. thinking I’d see Santa. But nooooo .. so I waited until they went to sleep then woke my brother up to “share the news”. There was probably some “na na nah nah na”s going on.. don’t remember but it sounds like something I would do.

    We had one of those silver aluminum trees that sat on a rotating musical base with one of those color wheels spinning on it :: hey, we’re Italian.. what can I say! :: so I turned the switch to make the tree rotate and guess what happened?

    The tree was too close to the wall and when it spun, one of those aluminum branches went right into the light socket. You know what happens with aluminum and electricity?? Yea.. well.. the damn thing sparked and the flammable tree skirt caught on fire..

    So while I’m trying to blow out the flames with my little 7 year old lungs, my brother is going “Ew! Ew! Your SO IN TROUBLE” .. not helpful at all.

    The curtains caught on fire before either of us thought to enlighten my parents of the situation but by that time, my father was already half way down the steps in his tighty whities beating the crap out of me with one hand while dialing the fire department with the other.

    Thankfully, there wasn’t as much damage as you would expect.. but it did make for a very interesting Christmas that year!! LOL

    • December 2, 2009 10:43 PM

      OMFG that’s FUNNY AS HELL! I almost fell off the couch laughing so hard. Thanks for sharing that one Leese! bwahahahahahahahahaha!

    • December 2, 2009 10:43 PM

      You should so blog this on your blog! LOL Just copy and paste from here. bwahahahahahahahahaha

  16. Sherri permalink
    December 2, 2009 8:55 PM

    I think one of my classmate told me in like second grade but I didn’t want to believe it. I also had older siblings so they might have spilled the beans too. All I know is after I found out…Christmas was never the same.

    Once I had my children all the magic came back….lol it comes in waves. I guess I’ll experience the magic of Santa once again when the grandkids come along. I still enjoy xmas and love the feel of christmas spirit.

  17. Carol permalink
    December 4, 2009 10:32 AM

    I still believe in Santa!! The first Christmas after I was married (just a baby at 18) I didn’t have a present from Santa under the tree. I tried to be brave–but I cried. My mom rewrapped a little checkers game she had gotten for her great nephew and gave it to me. I have had a present from Santa every year since. One year, I was trying to figure out what the tiny, thin, hard gift could possibly be–I love guessing. We all had a laugh when I opened it to find the credit cards I had given to my mom to hold so I wouldn’t go over my Christmas budget. I love Christmas and everything associated with it (except the Scrooges). That is why my mom named me Carol–duh “Christmas Carol”! I cried more than my youngest son did when I had to tell him there really wasn’t a Santa–I didn’t want him being made fun of at school any more because he , like his mom defended Santa. MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ALL AND TO ALL A JOLLY SANTA!

Leave a Reply

