Skip to content

2009 Festival of Trees Parade

December 1, 2009

I will apologise now for the length of this post. The good news is that it’s mostly photos to look at. LOL

One of the largest attractions here where I live is an annual event called the Festival of Trees. More than a premier holiday event, Festival of Trees is the annual fundraiser for Quad City Arts, a local non-for-profit arts agency. More than 3,500 volunteers, over 650 designers, nearly 3,500 center stage entertainers, and over 150 sponsors make Festival of Trees possible. Over 100,000 people experience the festival annually.

The festival begins every year one week before Thanksgiving and ends the Sunday after Thanksgiving. The festival kicks off with a parade called the Festival of Trees Parade. Christmas is my favorite time of the year and I’m also a big fan of parades so I didn’t want to miss this years parade and Logan was excited as well. The parade begins at 11:00am and Logan and I left the house nice and early to try and get a good spot to view the parade from. Parking is limited downtown as well so I wanted to make sure we got a descent parking spot also.

Thankfully, we arrived early enough to get a good spot right on the curb of the street for good viewing. The temperature was quite nice for this time of year and it was cloudy and overcast when the parade began but the sun did come out before the parade ended. Logan and I had a blast watching the parade and I thought I would share with you a little of the parade.

Logan patiently waiting for the parade to start.

 

The parade began with the color guard.

 

There were marching bands from all over the area…..

 

Kings and queens…..

 

Clowns clowning around…..

 

 

Tractors…..

 

Local TV personalities…..

 

Motorcycles…..

 

Balloons…..

 

 

Roller Derby Girls…..

 

Floats and other fun things to enjoy…..

 

Last but not least! What would a holiday parade be without a visit from Santa?

It’s really awesome living in a community with this much holiday spirit!

37 Comments leave one →
  1. December 1, 2009 11:31 AM

    I am very impressed with your parade! The balloons are awesome. Who is the balloon dude karate-chopping his handlers? GI Joe?

    The clown with the 5 o’clock shadow is creepy.

    • December 1, 2009 6:19 PM

      It’s a very cool parade for sure Jean. I think the karate-chopping army dude is in fact GI-Joe. 🙂

  2. December 1, 2009 11:38 AM

    Cool pictures,

    I’ve got some Christmas polls on my blog – should help everyone get in the festive mood! Check them out!

    http://www.thepollpage.wordpress.com

    🙂

    Happy holidays,

    Pete

    • December 1, 2009 6:22 PM

      Thanks Pete, I’m glad you enjoyed them.

      Thanks for dropping by and commenting as well! 😀

  3. December 1, 2009 12:20 PM

    It looks like you guys had a great time! Great pictures thanks for sharing! I love the pink tractor and the Santamobile!

    • December 1, 2009 6:22 PM

      OH yes, we had a GREAT time Heather and it was my pleasure sharing!

  4. December 1, 2009 1:28 PM

    Great pictures!!! Looks like a lot of fun…I want that pink tractor!!!!!! I bet you do too!! LOL 😉

    • December 1, 2009 6:24 PM

      Thanks Nikki and it was a lot of fun. bwahahahahahahahahahaha….I KNEW I shouldn’t have posted that pink tractor photo! 😀

  5. December 1, 2009 2:24 PM

    Now that’s a real parade! You get those big balloons and everything! We don’t have anything that fancy up here 🙂 Glad you had a great time and shared it with us. I was thinking though I’d see more trees….!

    • December 1, 2009 6:26 PM

      It’s the only parade around here with the big balloons. It’s really a big deal here!

      You have to pay to go to the festival to see the trees. The parade is free so they hold back on them. LOL

  6. December 1, 2009 2:56 PM

    I also love all the photos! You always capture the fun. I really appreciate all your work with these photos and really appreciate that you are soooo generous to share them with us! I felt like I was there! 🙂

    • December 1, 2009 6:28 PM

      Thank you very much Luisa and I was hoping someone would say they felt like they were there. I’m glad! 😀

      • December 1, 2009 8:11 PM

        We’re buds! What you see…I see, cause you are soooo good with descriptions and those photos you take! Keep em coming Gary! 🙂

        • December 1, 2009 8:20 PM

          Thanks Luisa! I LOVE being your friend and will definately keep the coming! 😀

  7. Tosha permalink
    December 1, 2009 4:49 PM

    Too cool! We don’t have anything big like that here. We have a christmas parade but its really a small thing..

    • December 1, 2009 6:29 PM

      It’s awesome living in a place with this much Christmas spirit. I LOVE Christmas! 😀

  8. December 1, 2009 7:17 PM

    I WOULD have been there if you would have told me you were going! ….. so real balloons are you serious??? Way cool!

    • December 1, 2009 7:56 PM

      OH yeah, REAL balloons and everything. I didn’t think you would want to go because Nick or Paula wasn’t going. 😦

      • December 1, 2009 10:43 PM

        well geez you didn’t tell me you had real balloons! That would have made a difference 😉 I’ve never been to a parade with real balloons. All we get here are old cars, tractors, and ballteams!

  9. LVISS permalink
    December 1, 2009 7:55 PM

    AS USUAL YOU HAVE COME UP WITH SOME LOVELY PHOTOS .

  10. December 2, 2009 12:10 AM

    What a great parade! Very impressive photos. I especially liked Rocket J. Squirrel. He is absolutely one of my faves! Thanks for sharing and taking the time to post all of them. I know posting photos on WordPress is very time consuming. At least it is for me. 😉

    • December 2, 2009 1:00 AM

      It was awesome and thank you very much Tammy! The pleasure was all mine and I’m glad you enjoyed them. 😀

  11. Tasneem R permalink
    December 2, 2009 5:07 AM

    Was really nice to look at these pictures , got a lovely idea of how ‘Festival Of Trees ‘ is celebrated . But why is it called festival of ‘tree’? Could not see a single tree !
    Christmas Holiday Personality- What does your Christmas Holiday say about you?
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/christmas_personality/christmas_personality_instructions.asp
    ( That’s a free test )

    • December 2, 2009 10:48 PM

      You have to go to the festival to see the trees. Not many trees in the parade. 😀

  12. Tasneem R permalink
    December 2, 2009 5:09 AM

    can you plz also tell me where is Tony?Has he deleted his blog?

    • December 2, 2009 10:26 PM

      Looks like he DID delete his blog Tasneem. It’s a shame! 😦

      • Tasneem R permalink
        December 3, 2009 12:42 AM

        Yes I couldn’t believe when I saw that hence thought of asking…

  13. December 2, 2009 11:19 AM

    Great parade! We’re suffering from a cold snap here, but I suppose being in Illinois you’d call me a whimp for saying temperatures in the 30’s is a cold snap 🙂

    • December 2, 2009 10:32 PM

      Thanks Era, it was a lot of fun. I wouldn’t say whimp…..pansy maybe but not whimp. LOL

  14. December 2, 2009 12:46 PM

    <> But I want a pink tractor!!!!!

    Great parade .. I love parades too but um.. was that a balloon of Hitler?? The one that toppled over??

    If not.. then.. um.. they may want to repaint it or something!!

    ROFLMAO

    • December 2, 2009 10:36 PM

      Now that you mention it…..he DOES resemble Hitler a bit huh? LOL

      Thanks for pointing that out and giving me a laugh. ROFLMAO!!

  15. Sherri permalink
    December 2, 2009 8:57 PM

    That’s one bad ass parade Gary! Looks like everyone enjoyed it.

  16. December 2, 2009 10:37 PM

    OH yeah! EVERYONE had a BLAST! 😀

Leave a Reply

