Skip to content

Just Curious 11/28/09: Black Friday

November 28, 2009

 

Did you spend black Friday shopping in stores or avoiding stores?

23 Comments leave one →
  1. November 28, 2009 9:03 AM

    Avoiding. No way, no how.

  2. November 28, 2009 9:54 AM

    I stayed home and hung more Christmas lights outside my house. I avoided the stores like the plague!

  3. S. Le permalink
    November 28, 2009 10:37 AM

    I stayed home and did the washing, dragged out some Christmas decor, cooked, baked, and enjoyed my home and family. I NEVER go out on Black Friday. I just can’t see fighting crowds for the CHANCE of getting a bargain. Art Major drove to a nearby city at 4:30 A.M. to stand in line to get a Wii Fit special package. The store had 21 of them and he was number 22. HE GOT NOTHING!! I refuse to indulge in such nonsense. On the other hand, had he arrived a bit sooner, he would have gotten the item for 1/2 price. He was bummed.

  4. November 28, 2009 11:01 AM

    Avoiding and baking 2 turkey pot pies. 😀

    • November 29, 2009 12:27 AM

      MMMMMMMMMMMMMM….turkey pot pies (in my best Homer Simpson voice)

  5. November 28, 2009 1:36 PM

    I sat at the kitchen table and shopped via . com style. In my jammies with no shoes on and my cup of coffee next to me. Every once in awhile I would kick myself in the ankle to replicate what I might have felt while in the store and also kicked the chair leg as a retaliation

  6. November 28, 2009 1:46 PM

    We stayed home most the day…we did venture out for supper (McD’s) and then to Walmart but by then it wasn’t too bad. I thought about going at midnight shopping but that’s as far as I got!

    • November 29, 2009 12:29 AM

      I did run into Walmart for a few minutes in the afternoon to get some more Christmas lights and it wasn’t bad either.

  7. November 28, 2009 6:16 PM

    We went to Menards in the afternoon for Christmas lights. It wasn’t bad and we got LED’s for #3.97 a box!

  8. November 28, 2009 8:13 PM

    My hubby dragged me out to shop for Christmas lights. (We didn’t get nearly as good a deal as Sue did. We paid $11.99 a box! And only 60 lights per box!) We also ended up in a craft store where I bought picture frames and stood in a line that reached the back of the store! The frames were a REALLY good bargain though, so I guess it was worth it.

  9. November 28, 2009 9:02 PM

    I will answer this one by saying I was out shopping today! LOL 🙂

  10. November 28, 2009 9:59 PM

    I stayed at home. I’m frugal all year long so if I buy Christmas gifts at regular price, I figure it evens out.

    Besides, the secret is the “real” sales are the week before Christmas. 😉

    • November 29, 2009 12:30 AM

      I share the same secret. The longer you wait the better the deals seem to get. 😀

  11. November 28, 2009 11:05 PM

    don’t like black friday, prolly never will. it’s just not FuN!

  12. November 29, 2009 9:12 AM

    I went 1 time. That was enough for me. It was the year the cabbage patch dolls were a big thing….you know how you can get an aisle cleared for yourself…go to another one and scream loudly that “I FOUND THE PATCH”! After I got all the carts screaming around to that aisle..I went and got what I needed. CLEAN UP AISLE 10!

    • November 29, 2009 9:50 PM

      Wow, that’s going back a while. I remember my dad almost getting killed at Toy’s R Us by some lady and almost having to beat another lady in the store getting one for my little sister for Christmas one year. One lady almost attacked him while he was looking at it and another lady snatched it out of his cart while heading to the checkout. He literally almost smacked the lady for taking it out of his cart. LOL

  13. November 30, 2009 12:15 AM

    the thing is they were ugly as hell. I couldn’t bribe erin to take one she thought they needed to go back to the factory!

    • November 30, 2009 1:56 PM

      Yeah…they were ugly as hell and I never did figure out why they were such the rage. Maybe because they were so different from all the other dolls on the market when they came out or something? I don’t know….I wasn’t into dolls when I was a kid. My sister got hers the first year they came out in like 1981.

  14. November 30, 2009 12:16 AM

    omg I can remember the brawls right there in the aisle for them. It was unreal!

    • November 30, 2009 1:57 PM

      Oh yeah, people were getting in fist fights all over the country over those damn dolls. LOL

  15. December 1, 2009 4:56 PM

    First year ever that i’ve actually gone out on black friday. It didn’t go well at all.. I came very close to injuring an old lady for ramming me w/ her shopping cart over and over again. Target was insane and I think people need to have their heads checked. I will never ever ever let my mom and sister talk me into joining that idiocy again

Leave a Reply

