Skip to content

Thanksgiving Lunch and Program

November 19, 2009

Logan's Teacher - Mrs. Abbott

Logan’s school held their annual Thanksgiving lunch and program with parents yesterday. Parents were invited to the school to enjoy a Thanksgiving lunch with their child and watch a Thanksgiving program given by the class. I have been looking forward to this lunch and program for a few weeks now and had a really fun time!

I volunteered some time last week to help Mrs. Abbott prepare for the program. Mrs. Abbott assigned pilgrim hat and indian hat making to me and I went to town. It was really nice to see all the little pilgrims and indians in their hats. 😀

Lunch was served at 11:00am and plates were filled with ham, green bean casserole, mashed or twice baked potatoes, watermelon, a dinner roll and white or chocolate milk. Pumpkin pie, pecan pie and cookies were available for dessert. I was really impressed with the amount of food that was given and it was ALL delicious! I wish I would have had school lunches like that when I was a kid! 😀

Logan enjoying his Thanksgiving lunch.

After everyone was through with lunch, the kids showed their parents some of the things they have been working on to prepare for the program and to decorate the room with.

Turkey's on the wall - gobble gobble.

Logan's spiffy candy dish.

Turkey finger puppets

"We Give Thanks"

We Give Thanks

For family and friends

pie and turkey too.

Thanksgiving’s the time

we say thank you!

I am thankful for

(Logan filled in the blank with)…..My Mom

After the kids had a chance to show us all the things they had been working on, Mrs. Abbott gathered them all together for the program. The kids sang songs for all the parents and we were all smiling from ear to ear. I sat watching them sing their little hearts out and I couldn’t have been more proud of Logan!

Mrs. Abbott's Kindergarten class performing thier songs.

Logan singing his little heart out.

 

Logan singing his little heart out.

Logan singing his little heart out.

Lunch was awesome for both the kids and parents alike! EVERYONE in that room was smiling from ear to ear and had so much fun!

HAPPY THANKSGIVING!

34 Comments leave one →
  1. Tasneem R permalink
    November 19, 2009 1:36 AM

    Happy to see Logan once again! He’s really tiny and sweet boy ! When I was in school nothing like this ever happened except the usual parent -teacher meeting, held thrice a year .

    What Kind of Dad are You? Are you the traditional father or the modern father?
    http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/dadkind/dadkind_instructions.asp

    • November 19, 2009 9:53 AM

      Thanks Tasneem! We used to have a Christmas program every year but that was about it for the programs. I don’t remember any parent/children lunches either. 😀

  2. November 19, 2009 6:42 AM

    Sounds like you had a great day and the pictures are wonderful! You are such a good, involved dad! What a cutie Logan is. I love how he’s sitting with that tray full of good food and just eating the cookie, LOL.

    • November 19, 2009 10:03 AM

      oh yeah, I had a lot of fun and thanks! I’m glad you noticed that little birdy…..cracked me up too! LOL

  3. November 19, 2009 8:00 AM

    What a great post. These school activities make such great memories. Logan is such a cutie pie. Have a wonderful Thanksgiving Holiday!

    • November 19, 2009 10:06 AM

      Thanks Era! They really do make great memories! I hope my little buddy remembers all the fun things we did together when he is my age.

      Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours Era!

  4. November 19, 2009 10:23 AM

    Sounds like a great day! Great pictures of Logan and his classmates! My youngest daughter’s school does a Grandparents Lunch, which is actually tomorrow. The parents are not allowed to come unless they want to help serve lunch. 😦

    • November 19, 2009 6:02 PM

      It was awesome Heather and thanks! The parents aren’t allowed to come? Well that sucks ass! I hope your daughter has a great time with her grandparents tomorrow! 😀

  5. November 19, 2009 12:22 PM

    Nice documentary of your day with Logan! His teacher looks like she does a great job. Thanksgiving can be so much fun for kids. Fortunately, the schools haven’t messed up Thanksgiving like they have Christmas. IMO.

    • November 19, 2009 6:08 PM

      Thanks Tammy! I think Mrs. Abbott does a really good job with the kids. She seems to be a very nice lady and I know my son loves having her as a teacher. Yeah, they have done a pretty good job screwing up Christmas. Give it time and I’m sure they will screw up Thanksgiving too. 😦

  6. S. Le permalink
    November 19, 2009 12:30 PM

    Cute! Looks like you had a fab day at school.

  7. November 19, 2009 12:56 PM

    How cute is that …I always loved the childrens programs at school and day care ..thanks for sharing!

    • November 19, 2009 6:12 PM

      I love those programs too Terri! Sharing was my pleasure. 😀 Thanks for stopping by and commenting!

  8. Nikki permalink
    November 19, 2009 1:07 PM

    This post makes me so happy to see a parent so involved. That last picture of Logan is just adorable and would make anyones day awhole lot better. 🙂 Your boys are very lucky Gary!

    • November 19, 2009 6:20 PM

      I’m glad I have the time to be involved. I didn’t have the opportunity with my older kids so it’s nice to have it with Logan. I would be CRAZY to not take advantage of the time and NOT be involved. Thanks Nikki, that’s VERY nice of you to say!

      My hope is that my little buddy has the time of his life in school and remembers all of the fun things we did when he is my age. 😀

  9. November 19, 2009 1:09 PM

    ahhh aint he cute!!!! What a fun day!! I miss those young days! SIGH

    • November 19, 2009 6:23 PM

      Thanks Lisa and it was a lot of fun! One of these days you will be a grandmother and can once again enjoy those young days. 😀

      • November 19, 2009 6:54 PM

        how many months until May?????? I want to be a grandma while I am young enough to chase them around.

  10. November 19, 2009 3:31 PM

    Great post and great pictures! Everyone looks like they had a great time and I bet your meal was delicious! Happy Thanksgiving!

    • November 19, 2009 6:38 PM

      Thanks Sue! FUN for EVERYONE! I was quite impressed with the “school lunch”. 🙂

      Thanks Sue and Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

      • November 19, 2009 9:15 PM

        Oh, I like your picture BTW! You’ve probably had it for awhile, but for some reason I just now noticed!

        • November 19, 2009 9:27 PM

          Thanks! That’s funny……I have been using it for about a month now. 😀

  11. Sherri permalink
    November 19, 2009 5:36 PM

    Logan a cuttie pie! Nice hats Gary 🙂 Hey, I noticed they served ham instead of turkey…lol I think it’s cuz they didn’t want the kids falling asleep later in the day. lol.

    I remember those days. I miss when my kids were little.

    Happy Thanksgiving to you and your great family Gary.

    • November 19, 2009 6:41 PM

      Thanks Sherri! He and my dogs are my little buddies. 😀 Glad you like the hats! I can make you one and ship you one before Thanksgiving if you would like? You would look pretty stellar at the dinner table in one of these fashionable bad boys!

      Thanks Sherri! Happy Thanksgiving to you and yours!

  12. November 19, 2009 10:26 PM

    Logan is so adorable! What a fun day!
    My daughter’s turkey day is Tuesday. I have to work, but hubby will get to enjoy the day with her.

    • November 20, 2009 12:32 AM

      Thanks Jean and it was awesome! Sorry you have to work and miss your daughter’s turkey day! I hope your hubby and daughter have fun!

      Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family Jean!

  13. November 19, 2009 11:37 PM

    The last picture of Logan was priceless… he’s like the poster child for Turkey Day!!!
    So glad to know that there are school functions that DON’T have demerits, detention and suspensions!!! LOL!!

    Glad you had a great time and made great memories!!

    BTW.. Um.. you mean I’ve been skipping over the watermelon all these years???? Damn pilgrims and their secretes!

    • November 20, 2009 12:35 AM

      Thanks Leese!

      Oh yes, watermelon is a tradional Thanksgiving day dish. Where have you been Leese? LOL

  14. November 20, 2009 1:32 PM

    aww Very cool! I think its great you help out in the classroom! I don’t get to help out much because they don’t like you to bring younger siblings with you and well I’ve always got Wyatt.. Here they don’t have a traditional thanksgiving meal. We all bring food for them to the classroom and they have a small party. Usually it consists of cookies, cake, dips, chips, muffins, cupcakes. finger foods basically.. This year i’m doing veggie tray’s for Cole & Jewel’s classes.. I refuse to load them up on anymore sweets..

    • November 21, 2009 10:27 PM

      I like helping out at the school whenever they ask. I think I’m going to join my son’s school’s version of the PTA. They call it something else at his school. I’m hoping to catch the next meeting and give some input. 🙂

      Pot lucks are ALWAYS fun!

  15. Carole permalink
    November 20, 2009 11:08 PM

    What great pictures. Looks like you and Logan had a great time. It is good to see him having such a great time at school. Our youngest grandson is growing up.

    • November 21, 2009 10:37 PM

      Hi MomJ!

      Thanks! OH yes, we had an awesome time! He really likes school so far anyway. I think most all kids like kindergarten though. Let’s see how he is come 7th grade. LOL

      Indeed he is! 😀

Leave a Reply

