Skip to content

Just Curious 11/16/09: Childhood Frights

November 16, 2009

it_clown

 

 

What were you afraid of as a child that seems silly to you now?

78 Comments leave one →
  1. Tasneem R permalink
    November 16, 2009 4:02 AM

    I can remember when I was in junior school I used to be highly petrified of the school-toilets! There was this rumor among the school children about the toilets being haunted !!!

  2. November 16, 2009 8:23 AM

    that’s my favorite clown!!! 🙂

    my answer would be

    santa claus

  3. S. Le permalink
    November 16, 2009 8:35 AM

    I am still frightened of clown! It’s not silly to be afraid of them!! Don’t laugh at me!!

    I was also afraid of the Department Store Santa. I still think that’s also a good thing to be afraid of.

    Guess I fail.

  4. November 16, 2009 8:55 AM

    I hated that santa claus S.Le.. was it planned to go out and find the most scary looking guy to stick behind that fake mass of whiskers?? I REFUSED to have anything to do with santa when I was a kid. He could bring my crap on christmas eve but I refused to go to his lap beggin. He got a note from me! Creep never brought anything on the list anyhow..he always brought socks and shit! BASTARD!

    • November 16, 2009 11:22 AM

      BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! He probably felt you only deserved socks for Christmas. You must have been on the naughty list. LOL

      • November 16, 2009 12:43 PM

        yeah he can cram that naughty list. That’s what my mom always said too!!

  5. November 16, 2009 9:01 AM

    how bout the cracks in the sidewalk..remember the ones that if you stepped on them they’d break your moms back. I know that’s one reason I am so short…I was so busy trying not to step on cracks I developed a hunch! Funny when my kids were told that they were out stepping on all the cracks they could find! SIGH!

    • November 16, 2009 9:51 AM

      LOL…My youngest daughter did that when I told her about the cracks. I told her if you step on a line you break your daddy’s spine, if you step on a crack you break your mother’s back. So depending who she is pissed of at she will find a line or a crack! 🙂

  6. November 16, 2009 9:11 AM

    The dark. It’s totally silly now, right? Hehehehe. That night-light? Oh, that’s my daughters’.

    • November 16, 2009 11:29 AM

      Well of course it’s your daughters! Who else would have a stripping male night light? 😀

  7. November 16, 2009 9:52 AM

    I was afraid to go in our backyard alone as a little kid. My brother had me convinced that the bogey man lived out there and he would only attack me if I was by myself! I hate older brothers!

    • November 16, 2009 11:32 AM

      Yeah, my little sister hated me growing up too. LOL

  8. November 16, 2009 10:40 AM

    The dark. When I was probably 7 or 8, a teenage girl told me a story about how this ghost would come to haunt you if you didn’t fall asleep at night. She said all I would see was the ghost’s head, floating in the corner of the room near the ceiling. I was afraid of the dark for YEARS after hearing that story.

  9. November 16, 2009 11:15 AM

    When I was a kid, I wanted a ventriloquist dummy so bad I could hardly stand it. My parents surprised me with one on Christmas morning and I was HISTATIC! I played with that thing whenever I could!

    Then about six months later, I saw a movie called “Magic” with Anthony Hopkins and Ann Margret. The movie is about a schizophrenic ventriloquist who ‘splits’ his identity with his mean as hell dummy.

    After seeing that mean ass dummy walking and talking and swinging knives and crap, I wanted NOTHING to do with my or any other dummy for that matter for a long long time. LOL

    • timshel1 permalink
      November 16, 2009 12:01 PM

      That is an excellent story Gary! I’m actually laughing out loud and not just typing it!

      • November 16, 2009 12:03 PM

        SWEET!

        Glad you enjoyed it Tim! 😀

        I’m REALLY smiling and not just typing it either!

    • November 16, 2009 12:13 PM

      I always wanted a ventriloquist dummy, but my mom would not let me have one because of that movie!

      • November 16, 2009 12:24 PM

        Oh they are all cool until you watch that movie! LOL Have you ever seen it?

  10. November 16, 2009 12:48 PM

    jake had 1 of those dummies too. I think he stuffed it in his closet after we watched that movie. Dead Silent is another one that is good if you like scary dummies (so is the news for that matter)..oh shit that’s another topic.

    so can we tell what we did to their kids to scare them? I used to tell Jake that the sandman was coming and peeking in the windows of all the children and if they weren’t asleep he would rub sand in their eyes and take away all of their toys (ok ..call me mommy dearest..I needed sleep!)
    Then he was afraid of Drop Dead Fred (movie) and so one night while I was laying in bed with him waiting for him to fall asleep I stuck my hand under his pillow and thumped him on the forehead like Drop Dead Fred did…OMG I thought we were both gonna need therapy after that one. It seemed like a fun idea at the time.

    • November 16, 2009 8:26 PM

      Damn! Your a mean mommy! bwahahahahahahaha!

  11. November 16, 2009 1:27 PM

    Cats turning into real people~cats. I know sounds really weird but, okay one day whn I was young I saw on TV that broadway show The Cats. I remember crying then and for a long time was really scared that cats had that ability. To this day I still would never ever watch that broadway show! They are too friggin freaky!

  12. November 16, 2009 2:10 PM

    Thunder & Daleks
    I feared Daleks more than thunder I think
    Would I still fear them now if one came towards me screaming “Exterminate, Exterminate!!!”
    Probably…

    • November 16, 2009 2:19 PM

      what is a Dalek?

    • November 16, 2009 2:20 PM

      nevermind…google is my friend! Yea those sound scary as hell!!!

      • November 16, 2009 8:28 PM

        What is a Dalek?

        • November 16, 2009 8:32 PM

          Wait, Google is my friend too. Yeah, those would freak me out. LOL

          • November 17, 2009 2:14 AM

            Ha Ha you guys crack me up.
            You’s really had me going there for a moment. What’s a Dalek? Good one!!!

  13. November 16, 2009 2:40 PM

    I don’t have time to google..nikki what is it? 🙂 Cuz I was about to give it a “dir-ty”

    • November 16, 2009 3:22 PM

      hahaha I kinda want to say something but think it may be TOO X-rated!

      • November 16, 2009 3:55 PM

        LMAO…nikki..this is GARY’S page…I think we passed that point a Loooooooooong time ago in some other posts! Is it what you posted on FB? If so…LMAO!!!

      • November 16, 2009 8:33 PM

        Shoooooooooot! Let it out Nikki! You aren’t scared of walking and talking dildo’s or something are you? 😀

        • November 16, 2009 10:06 PM

          actually the ones that spit at me scare me more! hahahahaha..oh that was bad….

  14. November 16, 2009 3:46 PM

    I was afraid of the Cowardly Lion when I was really small and Clowns. I’m still creeped out by clowns and anyone wearing a mask of any kind. That clown you have showing is Pennywise from IT! Great, great book.

    • November 16, 2009 3:56 PM

      I always thought that lion was a pussy! I was more afraid of those dumbasses Dorothy’s aunt and uncle had working for them! Holy crap!

    • November 16, 2009 8:34 PM

      I have that book and I’m getting ready to read it. I bought it at a garage sale this past summer. It’s a LONG book! LOL

      • November 16, 2009 8:37 PM

        read the movie..it’s quicker! The story of brainless,heartless, homeless and the scaredy cat..that’s what I call it!

      • November 17, 2009 11:55 AM

        The movie IT was lame. Read the book. It will scare the shit out of you. The movie only shows what the producer wanted to show you. The book was the real deal. This was the worst movie made out of a book that I’ve ever seen.

        • November 17, 2009 8:06 PM

          Good to know, thanks Joy. I hope to start the book real soon. 😀

    • November 16, 2009 8:42 PM

      I knew someone that was really scared of those flying monkey bastards! 😀

      • Paula permalink
        November 17, 2009 3:54 PM

        I don’t like and didn’t like as a child the flying monkeys on the Wizard of Oz.

        • November 17, 2009 5:17 PM

          the only part I didnt’ like about the monkeys was when they carried toto away! Otherwise seriously the most disturbing part of that movie for me as a kid were those morons working on the farm. Oh and those collard greens or whatever those things were aunt em wanted to feed them.

      • November 17, 2009 5:15 PM

        ok wait…are you reading Wizard of Oz or It? I think I might have got confused!

  15. November 16, 2009 5:45 PM

    Oh, Gary. Have a seat…
    1. The movie “Piranhas”. I just knew they were going to come up out of the drain when I took a bath.
    2. The clown from “Poltergist”.
    3. Any talking doll espeically the one from “The Twilight Zone”. What did she say? “I’m going to kill you.”
    4. That spiny thing from “The Tingler”.
    5. A lastly, the phone because I was afraid when I answered someone on the other end was going to say, “Have you checked the children?” from “When a Stranger Calls”.

    • November 16, 2009 8:35 PM

      PIRANHAS!!! Oh MAN! Now THERE is a movie I haven’t seen in like 20 years or more. bwahahahahahahahahaha!

  16. November 16, 2009 5:58 PM

    tammy…that doll from twilight zone was like “my name’s talking tina and I dont’ like you’…then she got really pissed off and said..” My names talking tina and I’m going to kill you. I LOVE that one!

  17. Sherri permalink
    November 16, 2009 8:14 PM

    When I was little we would visit my Mom’s family in Mingo ,Ohio (stop laughting Gary!). The drive home was along the Ohio river and I was always afraid of going over the guard rail down into the river. Little did I know that the car would have went 30 feet down crashed and burned and probably need to roll over like 10 times before it went into the river.

    Yeah, that’s what I was scared of!

    • Sherri permalink
      November 16, 2009 8:16 PM

      Opps that’s Mingo Junction…near Steubenville, Ohio where Dean Martin was born. Just a little fun fact!

      • November 16, 2009 8:37 PM

        Mingo Junction, Ohio? Is that anywere around Pettycoat Junction? bwahahahahahahahahahahaha!

        • November 16, 2009 9:45 PM

          LMAO!!! you can’t know pettycoat junction..you are not old enough!!

        • Sherri permalink
          November 17, 2009 4:59 PM

          Gary,

          Why did I have a feeling you were going to ask that? lol. Yeah, it was just as bad. Trust me. It a small town along the Ohio River not far from Wheeling WV. It’s as hicktown as you can get.

      • November 16, 2009 8:38 PM

        Dean Martin was friggin COOL!

  18. November 17, 2009 5:05 PM

    Clowns.

    It was… and will FOREVER.. be clowns!

    • November 17, 2009 8:09 PM

      Cool! Now I know what to dress up as next Halloween when I come trick-or-treating at your house. 😉

      • November 17, 2009 8:49 PM

        Oh.. cute, Gary! Really, really CUTE!!

        I remembered something else …

        You know those life size dolls that are about 3 feet high with Cindy Brady curls and glass eyes??

        yea.. well.. since I was a tomboy, I had absolutely NO interest in dolls :: unless I was decapitating them with my brother’s Tanka Truck crane .. oh, the joys of real metal toys!! :: anyway.. I had this aunt that I NEVER saw but one Christmas she graced our table :: actually, she was tanked but that’s not the point :: and she bought me one of those dolls.

        My brother used to move it around all the time when I was sleeping .. have it bending in a drawer or poking in a closet.. or the WORST .. half sticking out under my bed when he was under there shaking the bedspring…

        Scared the crap out of me and scarred me for life…

        That.. and the movie Weird Ronald :: or Bad Harold .. something like that ::

        I’m never going to sleep tonight now!!!

        • November 19, 2009 9:33 AM

          I used to do the same thing to my little sister with some of her dolls. Ahhhhhhhhh, memories! LOL

  19. November 17, 2009 8:21 PM

    she’ll pop some caps off in your ass!

  20. November 18, 2009 9:33 AM

    now I’m wanting to know what movie you are talking about leese..I can’t figure it out. Was it a horror movie?

    • November 18, 2009 2:06 PM

      Hey JJ … What the HELL would I do without the internet!!!

      The movie was called BAD RONALD and it was one of those MILLLIIIOOONN DOLLLAAARRR MMOOVVVIIEESSS on tv..

      BTW .. you have to say that like an announcer to get the full effect!!

      Anyway .. it came out in 1974.. so I was about 9?

      The movie is about this weird kid who pushes a girl who was teasing him. She accidentally hits her head and dies.. the boys mother thinks that the police won’t think it’s an accident so she hides him in :: I think :: a secret room in her house. But then she dies and the house gets sold and nobody knows that the kid is still living in there…

      The scariest thing about the movie was the PEEP HOLES!! EYES PEERING OUT OF PEEP HOLES!! OMG.. I’m getting all chicken-fleshy thinking about it!!

      I still cannot stand the thought of an eyeball peering out of a peep hole!!!!!

      According to IMDB, the movie is out on DVD .. I’ll have to see if I can find it because I know that stupid little low budget made for tv movie will still scare the bejesus out of me!!!

      • November 19, 2009 9:44 AM

        I have never even heard of this movie but the storyline sounds pretty damn cool if you ask me. 😀

  21. November 18, 2009 11:19 PM

    well shit I looked that up and didn’t find anything. I must have not googled down far enough or something. All I could think of was Simple Jack and that’s not a very old movie although Ben Stiller could scare the shit out of anybody!

  22. November 18, 2009 11:21 PM

    ahhh I found it!!! Gonna have to check that one out. I would have been 12..you would have thought I’d remember it.

  23. Tosha permalink
    November 20, 2009 1:41 PM

    The dark.. but i dont think its silly where others are concerned.. Just to me because I actually JUST outgrew this fear.

    • November 21, 2009 10:29 PM

      BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA….uhhhh…hey, nothing wrong with that….bwahahahahaha!

      • Tosha permalink
        November 22, 2009 6:14 PM

        LOL! i know.. its insane right.. but lots of bad shit happens in the dark!

Leave a Reply

