Skip to content

Bloggers Meet Face to Face

November 9, 2009

I have scratched a name off my “Bloggers I Want to Meet in Person” list! Yes dear reader, Saturday night I had the distinct pleasure of meeting the witty and ever so snarky JavaJunkee in the flesh. My son Nick came along on the drive so that he could meet JavaJunkee’s lovely daughter Erin.

Meeting1

Lisa (JavaJunkee) and the lovely Erin.

We met in JJ’s hometown which is only about a 40 minute drive from where Nick and I live. We all met in a chic and VERY trendy restaurant called Applebee’s which maybe you have heard of? The four of us all “clicked” from the second we said hello to one another which I had figured would be the case. It was a night full of laughter and fun for all of us!

Meeting2

Lisa (JavaJunkee) and I

Meeting4

My son Nick and JJ's daughter Erin

We all enjoyed a delicious dinner together and talked and laughed and talked and laughed and talked and laughed more. All the talking and laughing seemed to be a little much for some of the tables around us and they started to complain about how loud we had become. We all felt that we had no choice but to get a little gangstah with their asses!

Meeting3

Gangstah JavaJunkee and Gangstah Gary

Meeting5

Gangstah Nick and Gangstah Erin

After dinner, I suggested we all go to a coffee shop for some coffee. I mean, how can you meet the famous JavaJunkee in the flesh and NOT have coffee with her right? Unfortunately, the town that JJ and Erin live in roll up the streets at 7:00pm! JJ and Erin could only think of one coffee shop in town and didn’t think that it would be open so late at night (8:30pm). Erin and JJ suggested that we go to the bowling alley for some bowling AND coffee. The bowling alley has a little place to get coffee, soda, candy, hot dogs, etc. We paid our bill and I gave some of the wait staff crap as I do every time I go to a restaurant and off to the bowling alley we went.

Meeting10

For reasons that would take too long to discuss here and now, I don’t think I will ever bowl again for the rest of my life so I decided to sit out. I would have MUCH more fun watching everyone bowl but JJ decided not to bowl and keep me company. Awwwwwwwww, thanks JJ! JJ and I sat and chatted while filling our bodies with much needed coffee and our kids bowled. We made a lot of snarky ball jokes all night and were in stitches most of the time they were bowling. Let it be known that JJ and I BOTH suggested that our kids use the bumpers but both of them kindly declined. As you can see in the photo below, this proved to be a bad decision for both of them. 😀

Meeting9

Erin's bowling ball "kerplunking" into the gutter. Just one of many!

Meeting6

PBA bowler Erin

Meeting7

PBA bowler Nick

Meeting8

PBA bowler Nick

Nick used the “Roll and Flick” method of bowling which really didn’t work well for him I must add. At the end of the night, Erin had pretty much mopped the floor with him. Nick tried different bowling balls all night blaming his suckiness on his ball choice and the lanes being either too slick or too dry. We all went along with it of course as to not break his spirits.

Nick at one point decided to pose for a photo with Erin showing off his “blue balls”.

Meeting11

Erin and Nick with his "blue balls"

I swear I can’t take that kid anywhere! LOL

It was so awesome to meet my blogging buddy JJ and her lovely daughter Erin in the flesh! Nick and I both had an awesome time with you lovely ladies and we are definitely doing this again! I believe that Nick and Erin made a little love connection if ya know what I mean but NOBODY heard that from me. 😉 I wonder it’s because she can kick his ass in bowling or because of his HUGE blue balls. Hmmmmmmmmm? *shrugs*

78 Comments leave one →
  1. Tasneem R permalink
    November 9, 2009 7:28 AM

    Ok! so you had loads of fun that evening ! The pics have come out really well…I’m too bad at bowling !

    What is the most suitable sport for your attitude and grace? What sport would fit you best? Find out now! Check your sports type here – http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/sportstype/sportstype_instructions.asp

    • November 9, 2009 3:04 PM

      Thanks Tasneem and we had an AWESOME time together!! 😀

  2. November 9, 2009 8:06 AM

    WOOO HOOOOO!!! omg gary those pictures are amazing!

    Ok…let JJ tell you more about the story. Gary and his son are both awesome! We were supposed to meet the whole families but due to other obligations my husband and Paula and the other kids couldn’t make it..so def calls for a do again so that we can all disrupt other’s quiet evenings!

    The “gansta” thing…uh they do things different up by the big city apparently cuz erin and I SUCK at going all gansta on people …we were too busy laughing at Gary and Nick because they have it down. All Gary needed was some bling and a gun! Erin was trying to give the people across from her a snarky look but she looked at gary and started laughing.
    The bus boy is going to need therapy I’m afraid and that’s why we each left an extra dollar on the table. He asked if he could take our dirty dishes away (aka you guys are making way too much noise can you leave)..and Gary says.. “yeah for a dollar.” ..the kid actually not even shittin you stopped to think about it. HOLY SHIT KID..think hard!!!
    Ball jokes(nikki…here’s your cue) …were most def called for and they only made the night even more fun! Texting with paula during the ball discussion was also funny!
    Yeah next time we gotta do something during the daylight hours. Gary is right our town rolls up the sidewalks to everything except bars after about 8pm. We don’t have a nice coffee shop that is open at night but I LOVED watching Nick and Erin bowling. Nick has perfected a toss and flick technique that he is proud of. He tried to show erin but she was not very good with the flicking part. I too..(but you didn’t read it here) think a “connection” was made with the two young’ins..which I would totally approve of!
    I told Gary I know we don’t like to pat ourselves on the back (stop laughing)..but we did raise two amazing teenagers and they both have the same morals and sense of humor and well ok to be honest…look how friggin cute they look together!
    I haven’t laughed that hard in a long time and now I will have just a couple more laugh lines to add to my many lines already..but it was so effing worth it.
    I can’t wait till we get together again. AND come rain or shine or whatever else we WILL be camping with this family next year!
    Now you can all put your green eyed glasses on. I met him first…nah nah nah boo boo!!! 🙂

    • November 9, 2009 3:10 PM

      If you come camping this year I will be sure to schedule another golf cart parade for you to be involved in. I’ll EVEN let you ride with the mayor of the pond people! Huh? Huh?

      • November 9, 2009 4:40 PM

        hell yeah..if I have to load that beast up myself and weave it in and out of traffic as long as somebody can back the popup in for me..I can pull it!

        • November 9, 2009 7:00 PM

          Are you kidding me? “backing it up” is my specialty if you can “pull it”. BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

          • November 10, 2009 8:11 PM

            LMAO…somehow I thought nikki would pull in here with a “dir-ty” 🙂

  3. November 9, 2009 8:10 AM

    What a fun night!! I love seeing these pics and hearing the tale of you meeting your first blogger in the flesh (so to speak).

    • November 9, 2009 3:11 PM

      It really was a lot of fun Jean! I can’t wait to do it again!! 😀

  4. November 9, 2009 8:16 AM

    btw Nick had held onto those blue balls for about 15 minutes while Gary got just the right lighting and stuff…(each weighing about 15 lbs) LMAO…erin was “scolding” me because after all that the dumbass (ME) had forgot to hit SAVE and had missed every shot..so Gary ..can you email me some pics 🙂 Please!!! So she’s not smiling because she’s giving me one of those ” I can’t effin’ believe you can’t hit the save button” looks!

    • November 9, 2009 3:12 PM

      Sure, I will email them ALL to you! I took my time finding the right lighting because well, I thought it was funny to makes him hold his blue balls as long as possible. ROFLMAO!

      • November 9, 2009 4:41 PM

        I know you were enjoying his pain of holding those 2 heavy balls for a long time! You are so evil!

  5. November 9, 2009 8:23 AM

    Does meeting change the bloggers relationship I wonder, for example now you know the person well in person will this change how you may comment on posts or in general conversation as you know the person for example becaouse you know the face the personality you would possibly react differently as to how you would before the meeteinh, however it does look like fun was had by all but just wondering.

    • November 9, 2009 3:14 PM

      At least in this case…..HELL NO! JJ was everything I expected and more so NOTHING will change at all. If anything, now that she has met me in the flesh, she can only expect to get MORE shit from little ole me! BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

  6. November 9, 2009 8:39 AM

    oh fuck no…I will still give him shit..he will give me shit and nothing has changed …at least not on my part. I probably held back a little on the snarkiness I usually impose on people but next time he’ll get a real dose of it! 🙂
    There may be some bloggers that meeting would change how they respond or interact with each other but like Gary said… he (and I) both knew that we would just ‘click’! The four of us just ‘clicked’ and I am sure that the rest of the family will click as well.

    • November 9, 2009 3:15 PM

      Snarky away JJ……I can keep up with the best of them!! 😉

  7. November 9, 2009 8:40 AM

    Gary..erin and I both concur we should NEVER do the “ganstah” thing again..we totally suck ass at that.

  8. S. Le permalink
    November 9, 2009 8:48 AM

    Wow! Amazing! Cool that you got to hang out.

    • November 9, 2009 3:16 PM

      It really was cool to all hang out together. I can’t wait to do it again! 😀

  9. November 9, 2009 10:13 AM

    How fun for you guys. I’m happy for you.

    • November 9, 2009 3:17 PM

      Thanks Joy! It was an AWESOME night! 😀

  10. November 9, 2009 10:19 AM

    I am so glad you guys had a great time! Awesome pictures!

    • November 9, 2009 3:17 PM

      Thanks Heather and and it was soooooo much fun!! 😀

  11. November 9, 2009 10:31 AM

    That was awesome! I’m so glad you all got together!!

    Just wait till spring! I want a caravan of WP blogger friends headed my way–N.E. PA!

    I can only imagine the trouble we are going to get in to….. oh, my.. better put aside some money for bail….

    • November 9, 2009 3:31 PM

      I’m glad we got together too! It was a blast!

      Money for bail….BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

  12. November 9, 2009 11:47 AM

    Hi Gary. Nice blog. I’ve seen you around so it’s about time I came by and introduced myself because you weren’t going to do it- LOL! Sorry, just bustn’ some blue balls there. This is the most wonderful post I’ve seen in a long, long, long time- and I promise not to hold it against you fuckers for not inviting me- although they know I wouldn’t go anyway. I’m one step away from being a “shut in”. LOLz. Thank you a zillion for sharing the pics, but when I got to the one labeled, “Gangstah JavaJunkee and Gangstah Gary” I just burst out laughing. Also, of Erin and your son modeling their balls. Damn, this is funny! So, nice to meet you and hope to get to know you better!

    • November 9, 2009 3:41 PM

      Hi Mabs and thank you so much! I’m glad you did come by and I have seen you around as well. I HONESTLY have meant to come by your blog and introduce myself but for some reason never got around to it. Please accept my deepest apologies. ROFLMAO!

      I actually asked JJ why she didn’t invite you to come along and she did mention that you wouldn’t have come anyway. It’s just not how you roll and then she told me ALL about you and your little blog. Honestly, JJ scared the HELL out of me with all the stories. ROFLMAO!!

      It was my pleasure sharing the photos and glad you enjoyed them. As you can see, we fuckers can get all gangstah when we need to be. Somthing to keep in mind in the future. 😉

      It’s great to meet you as well and I’m adding you to my blogroll so I have no excuse for not visiting your most awesome blog!

      P.S. I’m glad you enjoyed my son’s blue balls and will pass the word onto him. 😉

    • November 9, 2009 4:52 PM

      sweets..I knew there was no way you could make that drive on short notice…but damn girl you are almost in the same neighborhood as me and gary so we are all gonna have to get together too!

  13. November 9, 2009 1:24 PM

    I’m officially jealous! We have to plan a big get together so we ALL can meet!!! Maybe somewhere in the middle…do a hotel party weekend!!! HUH???? Sounds like trouble to me…which is what were all about right!?
    I have to say Erin is beautiful. She reminds me of Khloe Kardashian but much more humble I’m sure! 🙂 Nick of course is handsome as ever…I think I saw sparks from the photos between them two also!!!
    LOVE the gangsta picture!!! I think we need a group photo like that!

    • November 9, 2009 2:00 PM

      LMAO yes we all do have to get together!!!! Yeah uh huh lots of trouble. I had to kind of behave because half the police force goes to the same church so it could get kind of messy if I get in trouble here..I got no problem going to another town and acting the hell up!

      thank you for your kind words on Erin. I guess I’m partial cuz I think she’s beautiful too 🙂 She’s usually really shy but has had no problem finding lots to talk about with Nick.

      if we take a group gansta pic..I am gonna need some coaching. And not to be looking at gary while I’m trying to do it cuz I just had to keep laughing!

      • November 9, 2009 3:45 PM

        I’ll coach you JJ….I have already had practice at it. BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

    • November 9, 2009 3:43 PM

      ALL of us meeting would be so awesome! A group gangstah pic would be FUNNY AS HELL! I would LOVE to see Joy throwing gang signs at the camera. BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

  14. November 9, 2009 1:42 PM

    Yay! I’m smiling just reading about you two. Thanks for sharing the pics and memories with us. The kids do look good together, whether they decide to just be friends or whatever. I’m sure it was a good bonding experience all around! Lisa, I’d totally suck at the “gangsta” thing too. Gary and Nick certainly do pull it off pretty well though. 😉

    • November 9, 2009 2:01 PM

      I.Know.Right about gary and nick and the gansta thing…it’s almost scary how good they are! Me and erin laugh too easy to pull something like that off! We can give a snarky ..don’t look at us look but that’s not what Gary was going for!

      • November 9, 2009 3:50 PM

        I was going more for the “don’t fuck wit us” look. BWAHAHAHAHAHA!

        • November 9, 2009 4:45 PM

          ahhh well shit now you didn’t clarify that…that one we can do..we practice that one often!!! But I can’t be watching you when we are trying to be serious!

    • November 9, 2009 3:49 PM

      Sharing the pics was my pleasure Laura! We all had an awesome night! Nick and Erin do look pretty good together don’t they? 😉

  15. November 9, 2009 1:54 PM

    Lisa you aren’t supposed to smile while gang signing!!! LMFAO! I LOVE gary’s face!!!!! I’m still laughing at that picture….Lisa..put that up as your FB picture!

    • November 9, 2009 2:02 PM

      I couldn’t help it nikki…I could see gary out of the corner of my eye and then nick across the table was trying to coach me and all I could do was laugh!

      • November 9, 2009 2:35 PM

        I wouldn’t be able to stop laughing either!!!

        • November 9, 2009 4:51 PM

          no you wouldn’t have been able to !! You are too much like me when people are trying to be all serious and then they say something and it makes you laugh and you can’t stop!

    • November 9, 2009 3:44 PM

      I couldn’t figure that out either nikki!!!! I thought, WTH is she doing smiling while trying to flash gang signs?!

      • November 9, 2009 4:48 PM

        sue if you would have been watching gary and listening to nick give instructions you would have laughed too!

    • November 9, 2009 3:51 PM

      Lisa and Erin were the NICE gangstah’s! ROFLMAO!!

  16. November 9, 2009 3:11 PM

    Great post – check
    great pictures – check
    green glasses on – check
    LMAO – check!!!

    Thanks for sharing, it’s evident that you guys had a great time. Nick and Erin look awesome together, but no pressure here lol!

    • November 9, 2009 3:53 PM

      LOL….thanks Era!

      We all had an AWESOME TIME!!

      I think they look really well together as well. NO PRESSURE here though either. 😉

      • November 9, 2009 4:49 PM

        pressure pressure!!!! 🙂 2 nice kids who look great together what more is needed?

  17. November 9, 2009 3:46 PM

    I am also jealous of your meeting!!!!!!!!!! Where was our invite???? OR was it just to make a love connection for your kids?! (Which btw are cute and handsome and all that in between!) I’m glad you guys had a great time and I sure hope we can all get together sometime!

  18. November 9, 2009 3:56 PM

    You, Nikki and Joy are all on my “bloggers I want to meet in the flesh” list so we all have to get together one of these days. We would all have so much fun!

    JJ and I have been talking about meeting for a while now. Way before Erin and Nick were talking to one another. Once they started talking to one another we thought it was time to FINALLY meet in person like we had been talking about. 😀

    • November 9, 2009 4:50 PM

      I ditto gary…we have a list and y’all are on it.

      • November 9, 2009 7:02 PM

        Uh hh…..yeppers!

        • November 9, 2009 7:15 PM

          so does this mean I’m cool?

          • November 9, 2009 7:18 PM

            nikki..you are the epitomy of cool!! HELL YEAH!! We talked about you alot! 🙂 especially your quick catch on of where to throw in a
            “dir-ty”!

            • November 9, 2009 7:20 PM

              uh that would be epitom(e) hkd on foniks wrkd four me

            • November 9, 2009 7:46 PM

              BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA…….yeah! We can always count on you to throw in a “dir-ty” at the right time! 😉

          • November 9, 2009 7:45 PM

            Well I don’t know if I would go THAT far as to say “cool”. Chilly maybe but not so sure on the cool thing. ROFLMAO!

            • November 9, 2009 11:30 PM

              I’m like Stewart on MadTV…**look at me look at me….see what I can do?** Tell me I’m NOT cool! ;}

              • November 10, 2009 12:08 AM

                BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!!! Ok…..YOUR COOL! 😉

  19. November 9, 2009 4:15 PM

    Gary & JJ, what a wonderful post/story/fairytale all rolled up in one.

    AV

  20. November 9, 2009 4:21 PM

    I can see by the smiles and the wonderful photos that you all had a time that will never be forgotten! 🙂 Thanks for sharing your visit!

  21. LVISS permalink
    November 9, 2009 8:39 PM

    THE PICTURES ARE GREAT. THIS IS WHAT HAPPENS WHEN YOU MEET ANOTHER BLOGGER AND PUT IT DOWN IN YOUR BLOG 64 COMMENTS. I ALSO SOMETIMES IMAGINE ALL OF US MEETING SOMEWHERE SOME DAY. WILL IT EVER HAPPEN.

    • November 9, 2009 9:30 PM

      Thanks LVISS! Wouldn’t that be GREAT if we could ALL get together sometime? I would LOVE that! 😉

  22. November 9, 2009 9:39 PM

    I would love it too!

  23. November 10, 2009 1:35 PM

    Looks like a great time was had by all. It’s heading for summer here so I guess it’s heading for winter in your part of the world which I guess would explain the blue balls. I don’t think you really met the REAL JJ, look at her avatar, see it’s not the same lady in your photos, think there was a bit of JJ substitution racket going on. I’m not sure I get the Gangsta thing, bit of a mystery to me what it’s all about????

    • November 10, 2009 8:13 PM

      Ahhhhh, the gangstah thing. Ok, here goes……

      Here is the States, we have a serious issue with gangs. They all started in the larger cities like New York and Los Angeles but now are found just about everywhere. Most gang members are drug users, drug pushers, etc etc. Gangs try to “rule” the streets to make more money in drug trafficing and therefore don’t get along well with other gangs. It’s kinda like the new MOB. Anyway, each gang has a “sign” they use with their hands to signify to other people what gang they are associated with. When a gang member shows a sign, it’s called “throwing a sign” or “throwing signs”.

      • November 10, 2009 9:06 PM

        me and erin’s gang sign would be scratching our heads in confusion!

        • November 10, 2009 9:19 PM

          Hey, if it works for you then go for it! ROFLMFAO!

  24. November 10, 2009 4:54 PM

    what? that avatar looks just like me only I’m better looking in person.. would you like to elaborate on why you think that’s not me tony?

  25. November 12, 2009 8:04 PM

    I think that is so cool that you went out of your way to meet a fellow blogger! Glad you all had a nice time.

Trackbacks

  1. Bloggers Ball « ~javajunkee~

Leave a Reply

