Skip to content

Photo of the Day – 11/03/09

November 3, 2009

Beef_Stew“Last Night’s Dinner”

Photo inspired by Trisha.

Thanks for the subject matter Trisha!

My Beef Stew with Fresh Italian Bread

Something I Learned Today: Β Beef stew is very difficult to make LOOK good for a photo!

61 Comments leave one →
  1. November 3, 2009 1:19 AM

    Wow, you’re not kidding.

    • November 3, 2009 9:13 AM

      It tastes MUCH better than it looks. LOL

    • November 3, 2009 9:13 AM

      Thanks for stopping by and commenting theasley!! πŸ˜€

  2. Tasneem R permalink
    November 3, 2009 6:20 AM

    Do you mean you cooked the dinner, beef stew ? How was it ? the picture is sooo ‘tasty’! I’m hungry now ..

    Cooking is an art! Some are gifted with this art or some develop with experience. However, to better know whether cooking is your cup of tea or not, take this simple test for confirming what your heart says about your cooking!
    Are you a perfect chef too ? check here – http://www.3smartcubes.com/pages/tests/good_cooks/good_cooks_instructions.asp

    πŸ™‚

  3. November 3, 2009 7:23 AM

    I have no doubt this was the greatest beef stew πŸ™‚ Maybe put it in a pretty ceramic bowl with a nice table setting? Or maybe in a bread bowl? just a thought. (from someone who rarely cooks anymore. lol)

    • November 3, 2009 9:21 AM

      It tasted FANTASTIC…..just doesn’t look fantastic. LOL I was actually going to serve it in a bread bowl but they were all out of them so we had to settle on Italian bread instead. I could have taken the time to setup a nice table setting and worked on the lighting to make this shot MUCH better but I was hungry and dinner was READY so what you see is what you get today. LOL

  4. November 3, 2009 7:58 AM

    I love making beef stew in the crock pot. Your beef stew looks delicious. I can see you will have a great time at your house this winter! πŸ™‚ Happy cooking!

    • S. Le permalink
      November 3, 2009 8:58 AM

      Send me your recipe please.

      • November 3, 2009 9:36 AM

        I will post it soon!

        • S. Le permalink
          November 3, 2009 10:14 AM

          @Doraz – Gary actually thought I was asking for HIS recipe!

          • November 3, 2009 10:49 AM

            MEN! πŸ™‚

            Recipe coming up asap!

            • November 3, 2009 8:16 PM

              MEN! REALLY! What in the WORLD was I thinking? ROFLMAO!!

          • November 3, 2009 8:07 PM

            GEESH….what in the WORLD was I thinking ~S~. ROFLMAO!

    • November 3, 2009 9:29 AM

      Thanks Luisa and happy cooking to you! πŸ˜‰

  5. November 3, 2009 8:28 AM

    Yea wow….I bet it tasted very good though!!! Did you take this picture? It may have looked better in a bowl maybe. πŸ™‚ I love beef stew but the last time I made it the pototoes didn’t cook enough 😦

    • November 3, 2009 9:30 AM

      Oh yeah, tasted GREAT! Just hard to make it look good for a photo. I take every “Photo of the Day” photo Nikki. πŸ˜€

  6. S. Le permalink
    November 3, 2009 8:57 AM

    Sorry but it looks like a dog’s breakfast. I’m sure it tasted good though. Especially on a cool Autumn night.

    • November 3, 2009 9:36 AM

      It does look very similar to Alpo! lol It tasted GREAT….just doesn’t look overly appetizing. πŸ˜€

  7. November 3, 2009 9:40 AM

    OK, since nobody else is brave enough, I’ll ask the question… Was this the before or after picture?

  8. November 3, 2009 9:52 AM

    MMmmm, I love beef stew.

  9. November 3, 2009 10:35 AM

    It actually looks pretty good. Certain foods just have that “look” πŸ™‚

    • November 3, 2009 8:14 PM

      Why thank you Era! I know you are just trying to be nice though….it’s ok….you can say it looks like Alpo. LOL

      It is however quite delicious! LOL

      • November 4, 2009 9:27 AM

        I make a delicious vegetarian dish that looks similar. Maybe it does look like alpo, but the alpo execs try real hard to make their stuff look like people food.

        • November 4, 2009 11:03 AM

          YEAH…good point Era! My beef stew doesn’t look like Alpo……Alpo is trying to make their product look like MY beef stew! What’s up with that Ralston Purina??

  10. November 3, 2009 12:34 PM

    You’re right Gary, it probably did taste better than it looks!

    • November 3, 2009 8:17 PM

      For sure! It tastes AWESOME but looks like Alpo. πŸ˜‰

  11. November 3, 2009 1:50 PM

    Looks good to me. Nobody actually expects it to look that great. Ever tried to get stew to smile for the camera. It ain’t easy

    • November 3, 2009 8:19 PM

      It’s NOT easy! Thanks for backing me on that Tony! People here have been kinda harsh with this photo today. BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

  12. November 3, 2009 2:00 PM

    GARY……….YOU HAVE BEEN HONORED WITH THE “RA” AWARD LOCATED ON MY SITE…….BE CAREFUL TO READ EVERYTHING ABOUT IT.

    • November 3, 2009 8:20 PM

      Thanks PH! I will come check it out ASAP!! πŸ˜€

  13. November 3, 2009 2:59 PM

    It looks delicious now I’m hungry

  14. November 3, 2009 3:10 PM

    omg I thought you were taking a picture of somebody taking a hurl! πŸ™‚ sorry..I am sure it was delish! πŸ˜‰

    • November 3, 2009 8:24 PM

      Well that was just HARSH JJ! Wait no….it was SNARKY and I love it. BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

  15. November 3, 2009 3:57 PM

    You are the man Gary! A man who can cook is awesome!

    Beef stew is what it is and it isn’t always pretty to look at, but I’m sure it smelled wonderful.

    • November 3, 2009 8:24 PM

      Thanks Tammy! I do all of the cooking here at home and really like it! It smelled and tasted AWESOME!

  16. November 3, 2009 4:32 PM

    That’s me! Late to the party!

    WOW! I inspired you! I am honored….and HUNGRY!!! Man, that looks yummy!

    • November 3, 2009 8:26 PM

      YES! Your tweet inspired me yestreday! LOL Looks like Alpo to me but it tasted AWESOME! LOL

  17. November 3, 2009 6:02 PM

    It looks very much like my mom’s beef stew, therefore, it looks wonderful to me!

  18. November 4, 2009 4:16 AM

    I’m sorry Gary, I know you are proud of that stew, but like all beef stews they look like something the dog threw up…

    AV

  19. November 4, 2009 9:41 AM

    actually at first I thought it was some kind of cookie!

  20. November 4, 2009 9:42 AM

    ROFLMAO…you should have put that up as a mystery photo…….gawd I crack myself up!

  21. November 4, 2009 1:15 PM

    …i take a toke…and all my cares…go up in smoke….here ya go!

  22. November 4, 2009 6:55 PM

    LOL another classic!

  23. November 5, 2009 11:33 PM

    Yeeeeaaaaaaa…. Um…… the picture!!

    Um.. you may want to try.. oh, I don’t know.. KEEPING IT IN A BOWL next time!! LOL!!!

    OMG.. I literally had to put my nose right up to the screen because I was like.. “.. what the heeeelllllllllll???????”

    You’re a trip!!!

    • November 6, 2009 9:53 AM

      ROFLMFAO! Thanks for the tip Leese but I don’t think there will be a next time. BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA!

  24. November 6, 2009 11:48 PM

    Would that be the dogs then?

  25. November 6, 2009 11:50 PM

    mm the more i think are you shure you dont have a cat?

    • November 8, 2009 5:29 PM

      BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA….yeah, I’m sure. πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

