Skip to content

Photo of the Day – 10/27/09

October 27, 2009

Corn_Art“Corn Art”

I thought this was an awesome display we saw at the Figge Art Museum the other day. These different colored ears of corn are hanging from a rope attached to the ceiling high above. A light on the ceiling pointed straight down onto each ear of corn for illumination. Each ear of corn had a strange sword type of thingy going through the corn. I’m sure that is to represent something but I have no idea what. Maybe one of you “artsy fartsy” people can help us out?Β Three of the four walls in the large room had a video of corn plants. They just appeared to be blowing in the wind and there was an audio recording of the wind blowing as well. I didn’t “GET IT” really but I must say it was cool to watch and look at none the less. πŸ˜€

27 Comments leave one →
  1. October 27, 2009 3:18 AM

    I don’t GET IT either but it is an interesting photo. Maybe it represents the pain & suffering a corn cob suffers when it gets cooked in a pot of hot boiling water. Like the pain you’d experience if you were hung & pierced through with a sword. Not a very good Artsy Fartsy explanation I know, but it was the best my aging mind could come up with…

    • October 27, 2009 11:04 AM

      sounds good to me Tony. I’m sure almost everyone has a different interpretation of it. πŸ˜€

  2. blissbait permalink
    October 27, 2009 4:58 AM

    to me it says that
    we cannot dress nature more
    beautifully than god

    But we can have a hell of a lot of fun putting her in costumes and trying!

    Cool picture. Thanks and Cheers! πŸ™‚

    • October 27, 2009 11:07 AM

      LOL…..That’s a nice way of looking at it bliss. πŸ˜€

  3. October 27, 2009 8:45 AM

    Hmmm interesting!

  4. S. Le permalink
    October 27, 2009 9:20 AM

    An Art Major made that!!

    It looks like a field of corn infested by pests to me.

    My Art Major hates art interpretation and makes what pleases him, to hell with the “meaning.”

    You’re welcome. No need to thank me. Really.

    • October 27, 2009 11:11 AM

      That’s a good interpretation S.! Your probably right! I think some art really has no meaning. Maybe this is one of those examples and the sword looking thingies are just for visual affect and have no meaning?

      I’m going to thank you anyway S. It’s just how I roll. πŸ˜‰

  5. S. Le permalink
    October 27, 2009 9:24 AM

    Your blog says there are 5 responses to this post but I can only see 3. I think my comment posted twice ’cause I re-wrote it. I think your blog hates me. Forgive my repetition. Forgive my repetition.

    • October 27, 2009 11:12 AM

      WordPress was doing some “maintenance” this morning. No problem! WordPress was doing some “maintenance” this morning. No problem! WordPress was doing some “maintenance” this morning. No problem! WordPress was doing some “maintenance” this morning. No problem! WordPress was doing some “maintenance” this morning. No problem! WordPress was doing some “maintenance” this morning. No problem! WordPress was doing some “maintenance” this morning. No problem!

  6. October 27, 2009 9:49 AM

    something is going on here??? When I put my comment in it disappeared and now it’s here…and it says 6 responses. Weird!

    • S. Le permalink
      October 27, 2009 10:33 AM

      Glad I wasn’t the only one!

    • October 27, 2009 11:13 AM

      WordPress was doing some “maintenance” this morning.

  7. LVISS permalink
    October 27, 2009 9:54 AM

    SMOOTH CLEAN PHOTO. YOU CLICKED IT?

    • October 27, 2009 7:53 PM

      That’s awesome Archie! Thanks for posting this! πŸ˜€

  8. October 27, 2009 3:40 PM

    I’m not sure what to make of the photo but the comments almost made me wet my pants!!!

  9. October 27, 2009 6:51 PM

    Ahhhh… maintenance… that’s why my comment didn’t post.

    I thought they were fishing lures. I’m pretty sure there are some fish in Minnesota that would love to chomp on one of those. Just add worms.

    • October 27, 2009 8:00 PM

      ROFLMAO! I bet there are some fish up there that would bite on them.

  10. October 27, 2009 7:15 PM

    Archu went and found it… just as I was composing my “cornhole” theory in my head…

    • October 27, 2009 8:00 PM

      I would still like to hear your theory though! πŸ˜‰

  11. October 27, 2009 10:39 PM

    Wow, I missed this earlier this morning, I have never seen something like this. I love the creativity in people! Thanks! Great shot!

    • October 27, 2009 10:43 PM

      My pleasure! I thought it was SUPER COOL when I walked in there! πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

