Skip to content

Saddest Day of the Year!

October 26, 2009

 

itr1The canopy has been rolled up for the last time, the bug lantern has been put away and all the firewood has been burned. The pools have been emptied, the restaurant is now closed and the volleyball nets have been taken down.

Most people I know really enjoy fall, cooler days and crisp nights, the beautiful fall colors and relief from the summer heat. I however am a summer person and don’t get excited about fall swallowing up summer. Fall is a prelude to a long and dreaded Northern Midwest Winter and brings for me the saddest day of the year, the day our camper is put into storage for winter. That’s right dear reader; we sadly put our camper into storage for the winter and camping season officially ended last Sunday.

Paula, our second oldest son Austin and I headed out to the camper last Sunday to clean out the camper of everything and winterize it and get it moved into storage at the resort. There was LOTS to be done and the three of us spent almost all day working on it. Clothes removed, dishes removed, bedding removed, odds & ends removed, battery removed, propane tanks, water drained, anti freeze into holding tanks, the list goes on and on. The more we moved things out, the sadder I seem to become. I started reflecting on all of the fun we had this camping season and then like he knew I was thinking of him, my buddy bitch eyes drove up in his truck.

Bitch eyes was there checking on his camper in storage and decided to drive by and see if mine was still there. He stopped and chatted with us all for a while and made my day a little brighter. Thanks for that bitch eyes!

We did a lot of laughing about the fun we had last summer. Golf cart parades, conversations around the campfire, throwing my second youngest son into the lake, putting dead catfish under blind Tommy’s camper, and all the other crazy fun we had. We are all looking forward to next year ALREADY!!

I have one request of my readers today. I ask that sometime during your busy lives today, you take just a few seconds to bow your head in silence and pray for an early spring. Bitch eyes and I are counting on ya! 😉

Thanks!

27 Comments leave one →
  1. October 26, 2009 9:34 AM

    I used to feel just like this when we shut down the cabin for the year. It really is sad. I remember thinking “what will we do all winter” but we just did different things. We had football and all that other good stuff. It is sad though and I will hang my head and wish for a short winter for you and bitch eyes.

  2. October 26, 2009 9:49 AM

    oh don’t be too sad…..fall is nice too

    ah well, this chi is so used to Summer the whole year, she’d say anything

    chikisses
    pee ess: you’re lucky to have 4 seasons to look forward to……ok, i….eh mumster hates trodden snow and the cooooooooold winters.
    Moi??? ….no idea what you guys are yapping about

  3. October 26, 2009 10:04 AM

    Awww poor Gary and Bitch eyes!! LOL…I will hang my head for you too!
    Look at this way…At least now you have months to look forward to next summer!! ;}

    • October 26, 2009 3:19 PM

      Thank you Nikki! Bitch eyes and I really appreciate it. 😀

  4. Sherri permalink
    October 26, 2009 12:32 PM

    Gary,

    I’m praying that you tell me why you call that guy “Bitch eyes”…lmao!

    Here’s to wishing you an early Spring. I live in S. FL now but lived in Ohio until 3 years ago when I moved here. So basically, it’s summer here all year long. I literally live 1/4 from the beach. After experiencing mid-western winters I can truly say…I don’t miss that at all. However, “I feel your pain friend…I feel your pain!”

    • October 26, 2009 6:57 PM

      I call him “Bitch Eyes” because…..well….it just suits him I guess? LOL I just called him that one day and it stuck ever since. 😀

      Awwwwww man! 1/4 mile from the beach? YOU SUCK! LOL

  5. October 26, 2009 6:20 PM

    I bowed my head in silence for you and then yelled and screamed at the summer “we” didn’t have. Every friggin time we could have gone camping it rained. I’m sorry but I’m not paying that much money to be in a camping spot and have to sit in a pop up!
    So I am mad more than anything. Yesterday while at my sisters house for lunch (where our pop up is stored) ..we did the same thing ..only because she lives in the country I have to haul mattresses and cushions home and store them in the bedroom. BLAH! So dryer sheets scattered everywhere inside. Mouse poison randomly placed. All of this and NOT ONE time was it at the campground this year.

    so here is a request of you and bitchy eyes…say a Dear Next Summer for us..that we can have enough money to come up there and camp out with you guys at least once in awhile next year! And you need to stake a claim next to a NICE CLEAN bathroom for me! 🙂

    • October 26, 2009 7:03 PM

      Bitch Eyes and I really appreciate it! We didn’t have much of a summer here either. We pretty much have the same weather as you do there. It was still better than sitting around the house all summer long though for sure. I have all winter to do that. YAY! That’s gotta SUCK! Doing all that work on a camper you never even used. FRIGGIN FARKLE! LOL

      NICE CLEAN bathroom! GOT IT! 😉

  6. October 26, 2009 6:21 PM

    OMB…I just realized something …isn’t that place you stay the one they found that guy dead at????

  7. October 26, 2009 7:20 PM

    awwww…cant you still camp in the winter? I mean, it’s a bit hard core but…

    • October 26, 2009 7:56 PM

      I COULD…….but not worth it. LOL I don’t “DO” cold.

  8. October 27, 2009 4:13 AM

    Ah!!!! Memories, who could forget the Golf Buggy parade through snob hill

    BTW did you do a diagram of which way the battery leads go on when you disconnected it so you get it right for next summer’s re-connection???
    Just sayin’….

    • October 27, 2009 11:05 AM

      ROFLMAO! No…..I didn’t. MAN I hope I don’t have the same problem next Spring as I did this year. LOL

  9. October 27, 2009 4:16 AM

    Oh I forgot my virtual minutes silence …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………. OK that oughta do. Farewell summer in America.
    But it’s nearly here now in the southern hemi, the last few days have been warming up nicely

    • October 27, 2009 11:05 AM

      Suuuuuuuuuuuuure……just rub it in Tony. LOL

  10. October 27, 2009 4:18 AM

    Goodness look what happened to my long dotty line of silence, it has defaced your blog, feel free to edit or delete it. I thought it would just go down for a few lines but it has kept going to the right for almost forever. Sorry!!!

  11. October 27, 2009 8:23 PM

    we have a campground close to us that stays open year round..I could so do that if I had a camper like Gary’s. Ours has a furnace but there is something about canvas and a furnace that make me go uhhhh no!

  12. October 28, 2009 7:58 AM

    I found myself feeling so sad reading that. Weird.

    Summer is just around the corner here in Brazil. 40-45ºC days, perfect beer drinking weather. I don’t “DO” cold either, that’s why I moved to Brazil.

    AV

    • October 28, 2009 5:59 PM

      Brazil? I have always wanted to visi Brazil! Do the women run around it revealing costumes all the time like we see on T.V.? LOL

  13. Billie permalink
    October 28, 2009 6:22 PM

    Billie here-AKA Bitch Eyes. Nice story Big Bitch Eyes! Might stop by tomorrow for coffee. When will it be ready–and you’ll be awake?

    • October 28, 2009 6:27 PM

      Well hi there Bitch Eyes! Come on by! I just have to take the kids to school in the morning but I should have a fresh pot of coffee brewed at about 8:30am!!

  14. October 29, 2009 5:45 AM

    On the beach, yup. They call the bikini fil dental dental floss, because… well you’ve seen them, you can imagine the because. But even in the streets, especially Copacabana, they wear very little, and what there is is quite revealing.

    AV

    • October 29, 2009 8:47 AM

      Well that must be hard for you! LOL Brazil is just one of the countries I have wanted to travel to and experience their culture and cuisines!! 😀

Leave a Reply

