Skip to content

Just Curious – 10/25/09

October 25, 2009

 

ChurchWhen was the last time you attended church?

18 Comments leave one →
  1. October 25, 2009 8:06 AM

    What decade is this? and when you say attended do you mean be involved or br there?

  2. October 25, 2009 9:16 AM

    yeah you need to elaborate. I am actually getting ready to go to the building in just a few. Am I involved..no probably not..it’s just a different social hour and a half for me. Plus I take mental notes on what I see going on.
    “church” as in the way I think about church died in about 2005 for me. When we made the move to a mall. We became more of a ‘business’ than a ‘church’..yes I know church is the people..but the people changed to a business too. Did any of that make sense? So if you were to ask when did you last attend what you felt was a spiritual experience in a building…I would say the last time we were in our old building. If you are asking …when is the last time you went to a building that called itself a church. In about 20 minutes.

  3. October 25, 2009 10:11 AM

    For Trinity’s first communion. That was a few years ago. I used to go but not anymore.

  4. October 25, 2009 12:35 PM

    About a month ago. I’d like to go more often, but… long story… so I get there when I can.

  5. October 25, 2009 2:54 PM

    Yesterday morning

  6. October 25, 2009 2:57 PM

    I went this morning! Actually since my youngest daughter goes to school at our church, some weeks I feel like I live at the church! 🙂

  7. October 25, 2009 3:28 PM

    This morning. Always makes me feel better when I go.

  8. October 25, 2009 5:11 PM

    Every week…. 🙂

  9. October 25, 2009 7:27 PM

    The last time I went to church was last Christmas Eve. We really need to go more often. 😀

  10. October 25, 2009 7:34 PM

    I went this morning and an interesting thing happened. A lady sitting behind me spoke to me at the end of the service and asked me if I had been visiting long. I said, “I’ve been going here since 2003.” She said she was sorry and I said not to worry because it’s a big place.

    I used to be ridiculously busy with things at church and I finally backed off of several things. I was part of the 20% of people who did 80% of the work. I have just one obligation now and I feel better about things.

    • October 25, 2009 7:47 PM

      That is interesting Tammy. It’s always nice to be noticed eh? 😉

  11. October 26, 2009 9:54 AM

    i’m baaaaaaaad…..so you don’t really want to know so i don’t have to lie ( ooooh, here’s praying my uncle, the Bishop does not blog bol….)

    chikisses
    pee ess: maybe i should sign off with mumster’s name , hmmmmmmmm

  12. October 26, 2009 10:08 AM

    Hmmm let me think………………still thinking………….no idea! A wedding I’m sure. Years I s’ppose! 2 at least.

  13. Sherri permalink
    October 26, 2009 12:39 PM

    The last time I attended church was to get ashes on Ash Wednesday to kick off the Lenten season. Before that, I believe it was my daughter’s 8th grade Confirmation…so there was about a 2 year span in between.

    When my children were young I would take them to mass most every Sunday. Now I enjoy sleeping in on Sundays!! It took some convincing myself before I realized that I wouldn’t burn in hell for not going like my ex husband and priests used to tell me. lol

  14. S. Le permalink
    October 26, 2009 2:31 PM

    About a month I think. I need to do better!

  15. October 26, 2009 6:22 PM

    ok so yesterday it was. We attend a small group with about 5 other couples and actually we are talking for 8 weeks about a book that talks about why people give up on the church and/or christianity..been pretty interesting.
    While there I managed to have a stare down with one chick I cant’ stand anymore who has turned into an absolute thinks her shit doesn’ stink bitch….and sent flaming daggers through my eyes at the youth pastor that I can’t stand.
    ..and that my friends is why “I” go to church!

  16. October 27, 2009 12:45 AM

    I WAS ONCE A BAPTIST DECON OF A CHURCH IN THE TOWN I LIVE BUT THAT WAS ABOUT NINE YEARS AGO. THE CHURCH BECAME TO POLITICAL FOR ME TO WANT TO BE A PART OF. NOW THE GOOD OLD OUT DOORS AND MYSELF WORSHIP GETS ME BY!

Leave a Reply

