Skip to content

I Lost My Mojo!

October 23, 2009

 

mojo1As you already know, over Labor Day weekend we became a two puggle household when we brought Mojo home. When Mojo and Brody were introduced to one another, they played together and became best buddies right away. After a short time they played all day long together, enjoyed taking walks together with me and LOVED taking golf cart rides around the resort. Everywhere I went, Mojo and Brody went. We were the three amigos.

One day after we had Mojo for a week or two, I poured their food into their bowls as I did every morning. For some unknown reason out of the clear blue, Mojo FREAKED OUT on Brody. He growled at him and attacked him like he was a wild dog that had not eaten in a week. Brody not having a mean bone in his cute little body got really scared and shied away from Mojo. I just dismissed it as Mojo being really hungry. Later that same day, I poured food into their bowls once again and Mojo attacked Brody yet again only this time worse. I had to literally pull Mojo off of Brody. I couldn’t believe it and didn’t understand why he would start doing this out of nowhere. The only solution we could come up with to solve this problem was to separate them when they were fed. I would feed Brody inside and Mojo outside or Brody in one room of the house and Mojo in the other. This worked really well for a quite a while and Mojo never bothered Brody other than at feeding time.

mojo2At least for a while anyway. A couple weeks later, Mojo started to growl at Brody whenever he got close. Brody would come to Mojo to play or whatever and Mojo would growl at him and Brody would just leave him alone. After a short time of this, Mojo decided to take things one step further last Friday evening. Brody came over to say hello to Mojo and Mojo FREAKED OUT and attacked Brody. Brody had ENOUGH of being growled at for the past few weeks and gave Mojo a taste of his own medicine and attacked back. I felt like Michael Vick in my living room as they fought. They fought so hard that Mojo ripped one of his nails off and started bleeding all over the living room floor. I finally got them separated and Paula took care of Mojo’s nail as I calmed Brody down.

The next morning, Paula called our vet and told him what had been going on. The vet told us that dogs sometimes just turn on each other for no reason and there was really nothing you could do about it other than put the dogs into obedience school but even then that doesn’t always work. Paula and I agreed that Mojo unfortunately had to go. There was no way we were going to keep doing this and taking a chance of turning nice and loveable Brody into cujo. Saturday afternoon, Paula posted an ad on Craig’s List and a very nice lady emailed Paula about Mojo the next morning. She came to our house later that day, fell in love with Mojo and took him home with her.

I was pretty bummed out about having to give him away but it just had to be done. Logan cried for a bit but thankfully got over it pretty quickly and understood he had to go.

Good luck at your new home Mojo!

40 Comments leave one →
  1. October 23, 2009 6:16 AM

    Oh NO! That’s not good but i’m glad you guys found a good home for him. My inlaws had dogs that would tie up. Well basically one was an ass and attacked the other anytime he came near. Only my inlaws were not smart and kept both dogs which turned into a very.. tense environment most of the time..

  2. October 23, 2009 6:42 AM

    Wow, I’m so sorry to hear about that. It must have been a difficult decision, but I would probably have done the same thing if it was putting the animals at risk having them together. I don’t believe the vet that “sometimes that just happens” because that isn’t normal behavior. A trainer may have better answers. I’m really glad you found someone to take him though! Hopefully he will do better in a different environment. I’m sure it was very hard to let him go, but it’s for the best, and hopefully there will be peace in your household once again!

    • October 23, 2009 4:33 PM

      Thanks birdpress and peace has once again been restored. 😀

  3. October 23, 2009 7:42 AM

    Sorry to hear about Mojo. I am glad you found him a new home.

  4. October 23, 2009 8:16 AM

    I’m so sorry. I know how difficult it must have been to make such a decision, but I’m sure it helps somewhat, knowing that each of the dogs will be happier this way.

    • October 23, 2009 4:34 PM

      It sucked but it just had to be done. We will miss the little guy! 😀

  5. October 23, 2009 8:42 AM

    Mojo sounds like he is going to be just fine in his new home. You guys did all you could to keep him. Tough decision! All best wishes your way! 🙂

    • October 23, 2009 4:36 PM

      oh yes, the lady that took him home seemed to be very nice and I’m sure he will be just fine. Thanks Luisa! 😀

  6. October 23, 2009 8:44 AM

    Well that’s a real bummer. I would have done the same thing. You just can’t have that nor do you want it. You never know, one day he could have done this to you or one of the kids. It’s awfully strange though.

    • October 23, 2009 4:37 PM

      Yeah, we just couldn’t put up with it any longer and it had to be done. A real bummer none the less because we didn’t adopt him to give him up ya know. Like you said though, we have the kids to think about as well. 😀

  7. October 23, 2009 9:12 AM

    What a sad outcome, but kudos to you for looking out for Brody’s best interest first. At least Mojo has a new home now. Otherwise, you would have needed to call in the Dog Whisperer. Remember, “You are the pack leader.” *said like Cesar Millan* hee hee!

    • October 23, 2009 4:39 PM

      BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA! I wonder how much it would cost for ole Cesar to make a housecall anyway?

  8. October 23, 2009 9:18 AM

    I’m so sorry!! Hopefully he’ll have a nice long life with his new owner. Maybe he needs to be an only dog. Got tired of sharing. None the less you did the right thing. It could have ended much worse! He is adorable!

    • October 23, 2009 4:41 PM

      I think he does need to be an only dog and we were honest with the lady that adopted him as to why we were letting him go. 😀

  9. S. Le permalink
    October 23, 2009 10:07 AM

    ’tis very sad. Mojo was very cute. I hope his new owner loves him and doesn’t have any other pets! Glad he was adopted so quickly.

    • October 23, 2009 4:41 PM

      No other pets, I made sure of that before letting him go. 😀

  10. October 23, 2009 1:43 PM

    Little A:da same ding happined 2 us.we got a dog named trudy.she became friends with sugar the first day.when mi mommy twied 2 feed them…trudy snapped at sugar.dis whent on for lunger than a week untill we got trudy a home. sugar started crying when trudy whent out d door.

  11. October 23, 2009 2:39 PM

    Oh No, No Mojo
    I had the same problem with a female doberman I got once. I already had a rottweiller & decided to get another dog as company for him. I took Rocky with me when I went to look at her to make sure they would get on ok as the bloke I got her off said she had never been around other dogs. They seemed to get on fine. It wasn’t till a few months later that she started getting really aggressive with him. They’d start off play fighting & she would soon get too serious. I had him to the vet a couple of times for repairs. The last time the vet had to stitch up his cheek she tore open so I figured she had to go as I had Rocky from a puppy & he was so gentle natured. A few times he gave her a bit of discipline to put her in her place as he was bigger & stronger, she’d settle down for a while then eventually forget her place in the 2 dog pack again. The RSPCA shelter gave me a contact number for a man who was looking for a doberman, so she found a caring home to go to. She was a lovely dog but like Mojo just wasn’t suited to being around other dogs

    • October 23, 2009 6:41 PM

      Some dogs just need to be an only dog I suppose. It’s too bad! 😦

  12. October 23, 2009 4:48 PM

    Cue austin powers theme

  13. October 23, 2009 5:10 PM

    sadness 😦 not just a lot of words to say here but I’m so sorry you had to do that! Animals can get funky like that.

  14. October 23, 2009 9:02 PM

    Oh, I”m sorry it didn’t work out better Gary. You guys were so excited about it 😦 I’m glad he has a new home and peace has been restored.

  15. October 24, 2009 5:38 AM

    tough call huh Gary……Mojo’s lucky to be placed so fast, hope it works out well

    we dawgs are like that…..i should know as i am more comfortable around hoomans and i don’t even like my soft toy, the poodle bol….

    chikissses

  16. Sherri permalink
    October 24, 2009 12:33 PM

    😦 So sorry Gary and Paula. Luckily Mojo never attacked your wife’s dog too. That is such a sad story. I’m sorry to hear any of that. It’s kinda scary when dogs do that out of nowhere. At least Mojo went to a good home, but it’s hard to give away pets once you’ve made an attachment, however, it’s something that had to be done.

    • October 25, 2009 7:53 PM

      We worried about him someday attacking Gizmo but thankfully he never did. NOT to say he wouldn’t later but so far so good. We decided to let him go before he did something like that. It was hard but like you said, it had to be done.

  17. October 24, 2009 6:21 PM

    I’m sorry about your Cujo. I mean Mojo. I looked into buying one. They are expensive lil’ buggers.

    • October 25, 2009 8:59 PM

      They ARE expensive, yes! They are still only about HALF the price of a Morkie though. 😀

  18. October 25, 2009 12:02 PM

    That is awful I am so sorry but you have to protect Brody. I have a puggle and she is a wonderful dog.

    • October 25, 2009 9:05 PM

      Is that right? What’s her name? How old is she?

      • October 26, 2009 12:45 PM

        Her name is Paddy Mae the ppl that had her as a puppy called her Padma but I changed it a bit. She is 4 1/2 we love her and she is always giving me material to write about.

        • October 26, 2009 6:58 PM

          Paddy Mae I really like……Padma? PADMA? Uhhhhhhhh…not so much! LOL

  19. October 26, 2009 12:58 AM

    So sorry to hear that Gary. I hope everything is peaceful now.

  20. October 26, 2009 1:28 AM

    Awww… am so sorry! But hey, now both Mojo and Brody are gonna be happy!

  21. October 26, 2009 1:30 AM

    On second thought we’ll miss his pictures… he is more photogenic than my Aunt Maria

Leave a Reply

