Skip to content

Museums Day

October 20, 2009

 

Putnam2Late last week while our youngest son Logan was on fall break, we decided to spend a cold and rainy day at a couple local museums. Just Logan and I hanging together, checking out all the awesome things to see at a museum. The first museum we visited was the Putnam Museum. I haven’t been there since I was in junior high school and it sure has changed since then!

Some of the awesome exhibits we saw were the Asian Gallery, Black Earth/Big River, Hall of Mammals, River Prairie & People and our personal favorite Unearthing Ancient Egypt.

In the Asian Gallery, we saw mysteries from ancient civilizations and the wonders of numerous cultures including artifacts of Japanese warriors, a Fu Dog that once stood guard over a Chinese temple and a beautiful 18th century Japanese Shinto shrine.

In the Black Earth/Big River exhibit we let the river guide us through the natural habitats of our local area. We explored wetlands, woodlands, prairies and walked through a cave. We learned what lives in a rotting log and explored a huge oak tree from the inside out. We listened to the sounds of the marsh and the stories of the people that live on the Mississippi River. We came face to face with live Mississippi River fish in a 718 gallon aquarium.

Putnam1In the Hall of Mammals exhibit, we explored the world of mammals. From the familiar cottontails in our back yard to the weird ant-eating Pangolin of Southeast Asia and the polar bears of the Arctic Circle, mammals were everywhere. We visited an African waterhole and saw lions, zebras, a rhino and more having a refreshing drink. We learned how these animals have adapted to survive under extreme conditions and the perils that they face today.

In the River, Prairie & People exhibit, we traveled through time along the Mississippi River. We first explored the life ways of the earliest local residents, the American Indians. We learned how immigrants from all over the world have made our local area their home.

In our favorite exhibit, Unearthing Ancient Egypt, we stepped into an ancient Egyptian tomb and learned how the people lived and what they required for a pleasant afterlife. We found out how forensic anthropologists determine the sex of a body. We came face to face with a 4000 year old mummy and two ancient Egyptian sarcophagi. Burial masks were on display as well.

After spending a couple hours at the Putnam, we stopped at Hardees for a burger and some chicken tenders and then it was off to the Figge Art Museum.

Figge1I must admit that the Figge Art Museum was MUCH more interesting for me than my five year old son. I very quickly found that five year old boys are NOT as impressed with 19th century European art as their father is. None the less, we made our way through the ENTIRE museum and were able to see everything but I just couldn’t stop at one particular piece of art for any longer than about 30 seconds.

Some of the art on display were Mexican Colonial, 18th/19th century European/American, 19th/20th century European/American, American Regionalism, Haitian, Medieval/renaissance, Modern and wood art. I had an awesome time viewing the art and was amazed at some of the beautiful paintings. I would like to return sometime soon when I can spend a little more time viewing the art. Unfortunately, they only allow photography in the lobby of the building so I was not able to get any photos of the art which was a real bummer. I did get a couple of good shots of the art in the lobby though. 😀

Museums day was an AWESOME day for Logan and I. We had fun all day long and Logan LOVED having dad all to himself. I’m looking forward to our next day out together!

44 Comments leave one →
  1. October 20, 2009 8:03 AM

    What fun! I haven’t been to a museum in years either. The Titanic Exhibit is at the Science Museum of Minnesota and I’m going to go with my daughter’s 4th grade class in November. Can’t wait! Glad Logan had fun and I’m sure he’ll remember that day forever 🙂

    • October 20, 2009 8:34 AM

      The Titanic exhibit I would LOVE to see! Have fun with your daughter’s class and take lots of photos!! 🙂

  2. October 20, 2009 8:18 AM

    you went without us?????? WTF??? Dude seriously! So yeah how much is that Figge to get into ?

    • October 20, 2009 8:36 AM

      Sorry, yes we went without you. He was on break and we just made it a father/son day. 😀 The Figge is $7.00 for adults and worth every penny. 😀

  3. October 20, 2009 8:20 AM

    ok I might be the only one who notices something about the putnam sign… butt go on up there check it out and I want to see if anybody sees anything other than me.

    • October 20, 2009 8:43 AM

      I don’t see anything. Give me a hint. 😀

    • October 20, 2009 9:24 AM

      Do tell jj. I don’t see it either apparently.

      • October 20, 2009 10:54 AM

        I suppose we have to keep in mind that this is JJ and her dirty mind at work here Joy. LOL

    • October 20, 2009 11:42 AM

      I sorta see a butt crack but that’s just me! I’m ashamed of myself and will go hide my face now!

      • October 20, 2009 8:31 PM

        ROFLMFAO! Your DIRRRRRRR-TY Nikki.

      • October 20, 2009 9:31 PM

        ROFLMAO!!!! HA you saw it too!!!!

        • October 21, 2009 9:37 AM

          LMAO…after I went and looked for something dirty…that popped out at me!!!!

          • October 21, 2009 12:30 PM

            “that popped out at me”…..well now there is yet ANOTHER DIRRRRRR-TY!

  4. S. Le permalink
    October 20, 2009 9:25 AM

    Your son is just the cutest!

    • October 20, 2009 10:54 AM

      Thanks S.! He got that from his mother. 😀

  5. October 20, 2009 9:25 AM

    I’m glad you had a good time on your day off with Logan. I like the pic of him in front of the museum. It’s really cute.

  6. October 20, 2009 9:41 AM

    gary I gave you a hint…. BUTT!!!!
    Look at the little nub of a post that sign is on. I had to point it out to my daughter too so maybe it’s just me…looks like a butt!

  7. October 20, 2009 9:45 AM

    The memories in your heart of that day will be with you both…forever! Hope you get many, many,many more of those days! 🙂 He is precious and so are you!

    • October 20, 2009 10:58 AM

      Why thank you Luisa! That’s very nice of you to say!

  8. October 20, 2009 11:48 AM

    I love Museums and so does Bailey. We’ll go to the Children’s Museum when the winter gets too long. The Science Museum is Bailey favorite! It’s such a hands on way for kids and adults to learn…and it’s fun. I’m glad you and Logan had a good time. Daddy/son time is the best!

  9. October 20, 2009 12:37 PM

    Days with one on one time with your kiddos are the best!

  10. October 20, 2009 2:24 PM

    I haven’t been to our museum here in years! I’ve gotto visit it! Will post pics soon…

    And Logan looks chooo chweeet! It shows how much he loved hanging out with his dad!

    • October 20, 2009 8:37 PM

      Sweet! I would like to see some pics of your museum visit!

  11. October 20, 2009 2:44 PM

    I am intrigued by the F.U. Dog. Is that what he says when someone challenges him to gain unlawful entry into the temple

    • October 20, 2009 8:38 PM

      BWAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA…..Yeah, I think so! LOL

  12. October 20, 2009 3:05 PM

    Glad you guys had a fun day. It’s the stuff great memories are made of. I love museums. I think the rest of the family tolerates them for my sake 🙂

    • October 20, 2009 8:39 PM

      I always have enjoyed museums. I think Logan will really enjoy them too.

  13. October 20, 2009 3:20 PM

    This may be a stretch but if you ever.. I mean EVER.. have the opportunity to visit the Mutter Museum (sorry, ain’t savvy enough to know how to put the little dot’s above the “u”) … you really need to.

    Like NEED to…

    It’s full of all kinds of medical oddities and really cool stuff like that…

    • October 20, 2009 8:42 PM

      Yeah…..I would love to check that place out. I saw a show on the Travel Channel about that place once. Looks SUPER cool!

  14. October 20, 2009 4:39 PM

    I haven’t been to a museum since I was a kid..

  15. October 20, 2009 6:15 PM

    What an absolutely fun day!

  16. blissbait permalink
    October 20, 2009 8:47 PM

    it’s…why it’s a bird
    no…it’s…..a sailing zebra!
    it’s…oh God….wait…it’s………..

    Walking out of room scratching my head and wondering just who that mysteriously handsome devil can be?! 🙂

    • October 20, 2009 9:05 PM

      ROFLMAO! Just some guy that kept following me around the museum and creeping me out! LOL

  17. October 21, 2009 2:22 PM

    Both museums sound fascinating. I’d love to see that Mississippi River exhibit especially. I’m sure Logan will look back and always remember spending the day with you this way.

    • October 21, 2009 6:17 PM

      I hope he does! We had a lot of fun! 😀

  18. October 22, 2009 12:10 AM

    there has got to be a butt and putnam joke in here somewhere…
    well like a gay guy could say…”putnam there” ?? Hmmmm let me think!

Leave a Reply

