Skip to content

Just Curious – 10/09/09

October 9, 2009

computer-virus-pictureDo you regularly update your virus protection software and regularly scan your computer for viruses, spyware and maulware?

36 Comments leave one →
  1. October 9, 2009 8:01 AM

    Yes I do.

  2. October 9, 2009 8:26 AM

    One of my sons has me set up nice with my computer. He is my personal assistant! I am so lucky to have him! He is VERY talented with computers.

  3. October 9, 2009 8:52 AM

    scanner runs everyday at the same time. I use the free version of AVG and have been very happy with it’s results.

    • October 9, 2009 10:06 AM

      AVG catches more stuff than Norton & McAfee.. More often than not…

      • October 9, 2009 10:09 AM

        I agree! AVG works great! Norton is also a resource HOG!

        • October 9, 2009 10:27 AM

          VERY!! I clean more viruses off pc’s that use norton than anything else and you cant convince the peeps that norton is bad b/c you pay for it.. hmph! And trying to convince them their pc would run faster using something else.. they think you are crazy..

          • October 9, 2009 10:30 AM

            I feel your pain! I have the SAME problem as you do with other people. They just can’t believe that a free product is better to use than something you purchase. I suppose it’s because MOST of the time, a purchased piece of software IS better than a free one.

            • October 9, 2009 10:33 AM

              yep the logic is ass backwards for sure.. But in the years i’ve ran free software I havent had a virus (While it was turned on.. there was the 1 time that wyattt disabled my software and i ended up w/ a virus. my fault though.. When I ran Norton and/or McAfee.. I had many..

    • October 9, 2009 10:08 AM

      I use AVG as well. It works GREAT and you can’t beat the price. 😀

  4. Sue permalink
    October 9, 2009 9:52 AM

    Yes b/c it’s automatically set up to!

  5. October 9, 2009 10:05 AM

    yes.. of course!

  6. S. Le permalink
    October 9, 2009 10:20 AM

    Yes.

    Avast! is the best free one. It launches BEFORE Windows so it catches anything what tries to get in.

  7. timshel1 permalink
    October 9, 2009 12:06 PM

    When I had a PC I used AVG and Spybot and that was the best combo I could find. I have a mac now and I think there’s less than 100 viruses written for my operating system so I don’t even worry about viruses anymore!

    • October 9, 2009 4:45 PM

      Most definately less viruses written for Mac OS and Linux as well. 😀

  8. October 9, 2009 12:48 PM

    If you do not run a quality firewall and anti-virus software and you connect to the web beware I have put forward the the goverment that we send two big blokes called ripper and slash to come round your house and destroy your computer, rip of your arms and beat you to death with the wet ends,

    To summerise Yes one should use a quality anti-virus (I use Avast Pro on all pc’s and the server it has great scores and I belive the free version is the same quality not all of the advanced tools though) and firewall

  9. Sherri permalink
    October 9, 2009 6:55 PM

    Again…this is why boyfriends and husbands come in handy!!! *snicker*

    • October 9, 2009 7:01 PM

      Again…I gotta get me one of those boyfriend/husband things.

  10. blissbait permalink
    October 9, 2009 7:15 PM

    i’m a good doobie
    yes! i scan regularly…
    where’s my gold star, sir!

    🙂

    • October 9, 2009 7:27 PM

      It’s in the mail with your rubber check. 😀

      • blissbait permalink
        October 9, 2009 7:35 PM

        Rubber? Que Pasa??? :0

  11. October 9, 2009 8:21 PM

    I also use Avast … but it isn’t because it’s good.
    I use it because I’m in love with the voice that says “.. virus database has been updated.”

    He makes me swoon

    • October 9, 2009 8:26 PM

      ROFLMAO! Since I’m an AVG user, I have never had the pleasure of hearing this voice. Maybe it’s a good thing my wife uses AVG too then? LOL

  12. October 9, 2009 9:02 PM

    So Gary looking for a husband what kind of finacial package you offerin?

  13. LVISS permalink
    October 9, 2009 9:02 PM

    I THINK AVG DOES EVERYTHING FINE WITHOUT A HITCH FORE ME. THE SCAN IS SCHEDULED FOR A SPECIFIC DAY.

  14. October 10, 2009 10:45 AM

    No not good enough I know how you cook, (ie commando) and i could never enjoy that sausage & mash again!

    • October 10, 2009 11:17 AM

      ROFLMAO!! Well, that’s about all I have to offer you. I guess we just weren’t meant to be. 😦

  15. October 16, 2009 11:04 AM

    After Commodo Internet Security’s failure & my major virus attack last week I have now installed Kasperski Internet Security & it even found stuff lurking from ages ago that the free Commodo & AVG programs missed. I figure the extra cost of 50 bucks a year is worth avoiding repair bills

Leave a Reply

