Skip to content

Just Curious – 10/03/09

October 3, 2009

 

2016_o_citiesUnless you live in a cave or on the bottom of the ocean, you have heard by now that Rio de janeiro has won the vote as host city for the 2016 Summer Olympics. Chicago was eliminated on the first vote yesterday as host city.

Do you think Rio de Janeiro was the right pick? Would you rather have had a different city win the vote? Does it even matter to you?

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Tosha permalink
    October 3, 2009 3:48 AM

    Maybe it should matter to me.. but it doesnt..

  2. October 3, 2009 7:39 AM

    I’m happy for Rio. It’s never been down there. It’s their turn I think.

  3. October 3, 2009 12:25 PM

    It would have been great for the economy here in the states, but…Oh well!

  4. Sherri permalink
    October 3, 2009 1:49 PM

    I’m just glad that I happened to read the news yesterday and see that story…whew! Now I don’t have to feel like the village idiot because normally I’m the last to know these things 🙂

    Nah, I don’t care either way. Do you think that a panel of men had something to do with the decision?…I mean Rio De Janiero does have A LOT of NUDE beaches 😉

  5. October 3, 2009 3:21 PM

    LOL short and simple I am just gonna ditto what Tosha said.

  6. LVISS permalink
    October 3, 2009 8:34 PM

    LATIN AMERICA HASNT HAD THE CHANCE TO HOLD THIS EVENT SO FAR. THATS WHY THEY GOT IT THIS TIME.
    I ALWAYS THOUGHT HOLDING SUCH BIG SPORT EVENTS ARE A BIG DRAIN ON ECONOMY AND ENTAILS LOT OF HARDWORK AND TIME. I ALSO DO NOT UNDERSTAND WHY PEOPLE SHOULD BE OVERLY HAPPY. ACTUALLY IT THROWS NORMAL LIFE OUT OF GEAR IN THAT PART OF THE COUNTRY. DO YOU AGREE WITH ME GARY?

  7. October 3, 2009 10:36 PM

    It’s not like I would have been able to go had Chicago been picked. I’m sure Rio will put on a great show!

  8. October 4, 2009 11:52 AM

    I was really hoping that Chicago would win the bid. I live only a couple hours from Chicago and I would have loved to have gone to see some of the events! If Chicago had one, I think it would have employed not only a lot of Chicagoins but also many people around Chicago as well.

    I’m sure Rio will be an AWESOME place for the Olympics and congrats to them!!!

  9. October 4, 2009 8:06 PM

    I must be living in a cave or in a house full of boxes to unpack! LOL
    I love the Olympics! It will be interesting to see how Rio will prepare to host. I bet they’ll do a great job.

    • October 4, 2009 8:12 PM

      I bet they do too Tammy. 😀

      How is life in the new cave going? 😀

  10. October 5, 2009 9:41 AM

    I didn’t hear that Rio got the vote until yesterday, but I have an excuse.

    In any case, I think as long as the Olympics are held at all, and held in a relatively safe place (i.e., not in the middle of a war zone), it’s a good thing.

    If they really wanted to shake things up, they would hold the Olympics in my home state of Delaware. Boy, wouldn’t that be fun?

    • October 5, 2009 9:49 AM

      Ohhhhh, Delaware would be AWESOME! Delaware….the party state! ROFLMFAO!

    • October 5, 2009 9:50 AM

      Actually. now that I think about it…….is there really any difference between Delaware and Rio?

  11. Sue permalink
    October 5, 2009 1:05 PM

    I don’t really care b/c I will never get to go, but part of me is a little worried. I just got done reading an article about how men plan trips to Rio just for the prostitutes! They spend all that money to spend more money for sex b/c the women there are suppose to be so amazing. Excuse me?! I just hope that it does that country more good than harm b/c hosting the Olympics is something you should be proud of.

    • October 5, 2009 7:59 PM

      I never really thought about it like that. The thing that really bothers me are terrorists. Can Rio HANDLE the security that will be needed against terrorists??

  12. October 6, 2009 6:51 PM

    We didn’t even bid… So it doesn’t matter much.

    But what I do know that it provides a lot of revenue and global spotlight for the city/ies.
    Since, Chicago is already popular and beautiful, Rio came out like the underdog that won.

    Hope they step up to the plate though. I mean, these days there are threats against representatives of almost all countries including India and Srilanka…

    Pray that nothing bad happens…

Leave a Reply

