Skip to content

Paula’s Bithday Present

October 1, 2009

Written Friday, September 4, 2009

Just over a month ago, Paula and I were taking a leisurely Saturday afternoon drive around the resort on our friend’s golf cart when a teeny tiny little dog suddenly ran out in front of us. *GASP* don’t worry, we didn’t squash the little guy, in fact we didn’t even come close. The owner of the little dog came out into the road to get him and Paula and I started talking to her about him. Neither one of us had ever seen a dog that small nor that breed. This little guy was small enough to fit into a normal sized woman’s purse and still have room for makeup and spare change. I thought the little guy was cute as a button and Paula fell in love.

Since Paula’s birthday was coming up on the 25th of August, I had been bugging her about what she would like for her birthday. She again this year gave me the same answer she always does, “oh, I don’t know” or “I can’t think of anything” or “Just get me whatever”. All of which are GREAT answers for someone that has no idea what to shop for and a tremendous help. Monday afternoon Paula called me, she finally knows what she would like for her birthday. “AWESOME” I said, “what would you like”? “You remember that little dog we saw on Saturday while riding around on the golf cart” Paula asked. “Yeah, I remember” I replied. “I want one of those for my birthday” she announced and the search for the perfect Teacup Morkie began.

We searched and searched the internet for one that Paula just couldn’t resist and after a couple weeks, he was found. Paula called the breeder and sealed the deal and we were on our way to the Wisconsin/Illinois border to pick him up. It was a three and a half hour drive and we both fell in love with him. We ended up back home close to midnight exhausted but with a birthday present that Paula really wanted this year.

He weighs in at 2.5 pounds and will be a whopping 3 to 4 pounds when fully grown. A Morkie is a “designer” dog and is half Maltese and half Yorkie Terrier.

Without further ado, I would like to introduce you to the latest member of the family, Gizmo.

 Gizmo1

Gizmo2

Gizmo3

33 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2009 5:47 AM

    Yeah – Great Post! Now my missus wants one!

    • October 1, 2009 9:40 AM

      Pretty much everyone that has seen him now wants one. LOL

  2. October 1, 2009 5:47 AM

    Sorry scratch that i am informd two!

  3. October 1, 2009 7:25 AM

    Is there ANY thing more precious? Smaller dogs are so much easier to take care of too.

    • October 1, 2009 9:42 AM

      😀 They are much easier as long as you watch your step. Wouldn’t want to step on the little guy. LOL

  4. October 1, 2009 8:03 AM

    Gizmo!! Great name! Great dogster!

    Happy Birthday, Paula!!

    He’s so tiny you might lose him! Make sure to check your pockets before putting dirty clothes in the washer! 😆

    • October 1, 2009 9:43 AM

      Thanks Trisha!

      ROFLMAO! Good idea! We also have some hawks and owls that hang out around our house. I’m always scared an owl or hawk is going to mistake him for a small rodent and swoop down and fly away with him. 🙂

  5. October 1, 2009 8:18 AM

    Gizmo is soooo cute! Congratulations on the new addittion to the family. How is Brody taking it?

  6. October 1, 2009 8:40 AM

    He is just darling. I’m so happy everyone is happy. Cute little guy.

  7. October 1, 2009 9:59 AM

    Gizmo and Brody are sure lucky! They will have the best life at your place! Have fun, and congrats! 🙂

  8. October 1, 2009 10:48 AM

    He is so cute and I’m glad Paula got a birthday present she loves!

  9. October 1, 2009 12:22 PM

    I love the name! Gizmo, is that from Gremlins?
    He is so cute!

    • October 1, 2009 4:24 PM

      Yep, it’s from Gremlins. Thanks!

      We have to make sure NOT to feed him after midnight!!!

  10. October 1, 2009 1:16 PM

    Aww, congratulations on the new baby! LOL, I groom like 30 little cute dogs named Gizmo. 🙂 Surprisingly, most of the yorkie and yorkie mixes I groom are really good dogs. Malteses are hit or miss with me; some of the meanest dogs I groom are Malteses, but I also have some really nice ones. Beware the tiny dog health problems and watch your step, but I’m sure he’ll be a great addition to your family! And you know I have to say it… start brushing and combing him now! It will make it that much less of a hassle later on if he learns to accept it early on. 😉

    • October 1, 2009 4:26 PM

      Thanks birdpress!

      Paula brushes him almost every single day! His hair gets natty pretty darn quick and he starts to lose his cuteness. We also make sure we never feed him after midnight. 😉

  11. October 1, 2009 2:09 PM

    He is absolutely adorable! I always wanted a yorkie. The only problem I have about it is that they tend to have lots of health problems when they get older and lots of them lose their eye sight.. Most of them are high maintenance.. and well i’m not really one for anything high maintenance.. the kids are enough at this p oint which has lead me to be “not an animal person”. I did get a cat a few months back and he’s great.. Anyhow.. because of my not being so much an animal person and not dealing with anything high maintenance I decided to wait until the kids are grown and then re-assess my want for a yorkie.. they are cute as hell though..

    • October 1, 2009 4:28 PM

      Thanks Tosha!

      They are cute as hell and maybe you won’t wait until the kids are totally grown before getting one. 😀

  12. October 1, 2009 4:07 PM

    Oh, he’s gorgeous! I’d be kissing and cuddling him all day! Lucky Paula! Great gift Gary!

    • October 1, 2009 4:31 PM

      Thanks Jean! He get’s PLENTY of kissing and cuddling from everyone in the house for sure. He likes to return kisses too. LOL

  13. October 1, 2009 5:14 PM

    Hi guys, now I dont normaly link like this but have a look at this postm about 2 mins in starts talkin about small dogs, have a look – James

    http://jimfurie.wordpress.com/2009/10/01/steve-mudflap-mcgrew/

  14. October 1, 2009 9:45 PM

    ok I’m not a dog person but that’s a cute pup 🙂

    • October 1, 2009 10:01 PM

      How could you not love a face like that? LOL

  15. Sherri permalink
    October 2, 2009 5:57 PM

    That could very well be one of the cutest dogs EVER!

    OMG…I want one!

    • October 2, 2009 6:11 PM

      Thanks Sherri!

      WARNING: They are expensive!

      • Sherri permalink
        October 2, 2009 6:19 PM

        Hahaha…that’s what boyfriends and husband are for! 🙂

        • October 2, 2009 6:23 PM

          Really? I need to look into getting me a boyfriend or husband then! 😀

  16. October 3, 2009 1:38 PM

    You won’t regret it. He’s awesome.

Leave a Reply

