Skip to content

Just Curious – 10/01/09

October 1, 2009

 

costumes 

 

What is the best costume you have ever worn for Halloween, either trick-or-treating as a child or at a party when you got older?

30 Comments leave one →
  1. October 1, 2009 8:25 AM

    You guys look great! My favorite costume, although its technically not a costume, is an Indian Sari. I’m told they make a big deal out of Halloween here in my new neighborhood so I might dress up.

    • October 1, 2009 9:45 AM

      Thanks Era! If you dress up, take lots and lots of pictures. 😉

  2. October 1, 2009 8:43 AM

    I also love this photo of you. I think my best costume was when I wore my wedding dress and went as a bride. It was cool since it was over 10 years old and it fit me. That was fun. A few years after that I wore it but put “blood” all over it.

  3. October 1, 2009 9:53 AM

    You guys are invited to my Halloween party, for sure! GREAT OUTFITS! My favorite was when I dressed up like a punk rocker! Even cooler than normal…. 🙂 Or, so I thought! hahaha

    • October 1, 2009 4:19 PM

      Sweet! We will be there and Thanks! I went as a punk rocker to a party once years ago. I forgot all about that until you menioned it. 🙂

  4. October 1, 2009 10:51 AM

    I really liked our costumes last year. We were Mr and Mrs Captain Morgan! I ended up making my husband’s pants to go with his outfit (the blue ones just like he wears) and made bandana’s (?) for us. We didn’t win a darn thing!

    • October 1, 2009 4:22 PM

      Those sound like cool costumes! I’m kinda suprised you guys didn’t wear your leather pants and go as rock stars or something. SORRY, I COULDN’T RESIST!!

      ROFLMFAO!!

  5. October 1, 2009 12:18 PM

    My friend and I went as siamese twin clowns when we were 10 years old! My next favorite was the year I went as a hobo. I put tore up some old clothes put charcoal on my face, had my guitar on a piece of twine and grabbed an empty vodka bottle and put it in a brown bag! Everyone loved it!

    • October 1, 2009 4:23 PM

      Both costumes sound cool and I would have loved to see you in the hobo costume. LOL Got pictures?

  6. October 1, 2009 2:10 PM

    lol one year i basically went as myself but told everyone I was dressed up as my mom.. We look an awful lot alike.. She didn’t find the humor in it.. I found it hilarious..

    • October 1, 2009 4:26 PM

      hehehehehehehe……I think it’s funny! LOL

  7. October 1, 2009 4:09 PM

    Hahahahaha! Great costumes!

    One year I was a tube of toothpaste. Easy! Lampshade for head, white sheet for body with C R E S T glued on in large, felt letters.

  8. October 1, 2009 9:50 PM

    back in the 80’s my SIL (friend then) and 2 other friends dressed up like Kiss..it was awesome. We were way too old to be trick or treating but we did it.

  9. timshel1 permalink
    October 1, 2009 11:43 PM

    Well when I was a small child, I was a raisinette. You might recall the commercials with raisins playing musical instruments (we had them in Portland at least) . Everyone thought I was a prune, so ever since that I’ve been simple stuff. I was 3 hole punch Jim from The Office last year. That was a real hoot.

    • October 2, 2009 12:05 AM

      You must be talking about the “California Raisin’s”?

      • timshel1 permalink
        October 2, 2009 1:18 AM

        Ha yes! There it is. Maybe I should have grown up in Cali or swung by your house. I don’t think you would have called me a prune.

        • October 2, 2009 8:00 AM

          Heck no Tim……I would have called you a California Raisin! The California Raisin’s were AWESOME! 😀

  10. October 2, 2009 10:18 AM

    My mom made the best Halloween costumes. One year I was a lightening bug, another year I was a crayon… The best part was that she made them herself, and didn’t buy something pre-made.
    I think this year I might resurrect the lightening bug.

    • October 2, 2009 10:24 AM

      Those sound like cool costumes! Home made costumes ARE much better than a store bought costume.

  11. S. Le permalink
    October 2, 2009 1:27 PM

    When I worked as Head Teller in a bank, we used to dress up for Halloween. One year I was Groucho Marx including black wig, glasses, mustache and pretzel cigars. I was in the newspaper!

    • S. Le permalink
      October 2, 2009 1:28 PM

      Paula makes an excellent Pirate’s wench. Hope she isn’t insulted by that! Argh!

      • October 2, 2009 5:37 PM

        Nah…I called her my little wench all night that night. LOL

    • October 2, 2009 5:35 PM

      That sounds like a cool costume. It must have been if you made it into the newspaper. 😀

  12. October 4, 2009 1:28 PM

    hey ho wait a second…I FORGOT about the winning a contest once at a restaurant/bar I used to work at…did I tell you this story before?
    Ok so the restaurant had a contest. My sister and all her friends were in on this …they found me a cool jumpsuit like deal and a fake blonde wig…they dressed me up as Dolly Parton complete with big boobs. (back then I needed the help) I think I was like 22? ..yeah anyhow ….so of course that wasn’t enough of a show stopper. The voting was to be at midnight and so at about 11pm they slipped me into the bathroom and a transformation began. I went from Dolly to Bag Lady…I went from glittery jumpsuit to old baggy dress and the fake boobs that were stuffed nylons went upside down from perky to dragging. For her I had an old lady mask. They then exited the bathroom area and went about their business as I came out and made a different appearance. NOBODY had a clue it was me. It was a fantastic performance. I had my little basket that I was taking shit off of the tables it in there. At midnight they all voted and I won and then I had to demask…they all busted up ..because they KNEW it was me for Dolly (no mask) but I had them ALL fooled with the mask. I won like a $50 gift certificate. It was awesome! I need to see if my sister still has pictures.

  13. best costume permalink
    October 5, 2009 9:39 AM

    I think I’ve always either been a reaper or a pirate..Don’t think I have ever stretched from those two themes for a Halloween Costume. I guess it would be time to change, maybe this year I’ll get a little created.

    • October 5, 2009 9:48 AM

      Maybe a police officer or french maid this year? 😀

Leave a Reply

