Skip to content

Photo of the Day – 09/30/09

September 30, 2009

Grasshopper“Grasshopper”

It seems like FOREVER since I last posted a photo of the day. I’m hoping to start posting one every day again in the next few weeks so stay tuned.

28 Comments leave one →
  1. September 30, 2009 2:18 AM

    how could you guys can capture such small creature! Isn’t this grasshopper suppose to hop when they feel someone approaching? Amazing!

    • September 30, 2009 6:49 AM

      It starts with having a good eye for a photo, then having the right equipment to take the photo and make it happen. Oh he did eventually hop away but he let me take a few shots of him first. You just have to act quickly. 🙂

      Thanks for dropping by and leaving a comment KC!

  2. September 30, 2009 3:38 AM

    That’s a fantastic photo, did you take it yourself???

    • September 30, 2009 6:50 AM

      Thank you very much Tony! Yes, I took that photo all by myself. 😀

  3. September 30, 2009 6:40 AM

    Amazing detail! Possible caption: What are you complaining about? I’ve seen you without makeup!

  4. September 30, 2009 7:17 AM

    and what a fine specimen he is. What I wouldn’t give to have orange bug eyes heeeeeee! I have always been in awe of the smallest creatures actually having eyes with a pupil making them look like little characters. lol. good post keep em coming.

    • September 30, 2009 9:01 AM

      Thanks Renee! I’m hoping to get back to posting my “Photo of the Day” again soon!

  5. September 30, 2009 7:54 AM

    That is a really good photo Gary. I like it a lot.

  6. September 30, 2009 8:52 AM

    I can not believe some people eat these guys! Great shot! I was sad you quit posting photos. I am glad you will be doing that again! What ever happened to that book you were going to do?

    • September 30, 2009 9:05 AM

      I know! How could you shove something like that into your mouth? I’ll pass. Thanks Luisa and I hope to start posting a “Photo of the Day” every day again soon!

      The book? Ah yes, THE BOOK. The book hasn’t happened. 😦

  7. LVISS permalink
    September 30, 2009 9:17 AM

    A GOOD CLOSE UP SHOT.

  8. September 30, 2009 9:52 AM

    Great picture! Hmmm maybe I should print it out and put it on my oldest daughter’s mirror! She HATES grasshoppers!

  9. September 30, 2009 10:13 AM

    He’s cute!! I like it!!! :}

  10. Sherri permalink
    September 30, 2009 12:41 PM

    Great photo!

  11. Tosha permalink
    September 30, 2009 2:28 PM

    thats a great pic.. very buggy.. i cant get pics like that.. 1. wrong equipment.. 2. small animals/insects/etc.. see me and run for their lives..

    • September 30, 2009 3:12 PM

      Thanks Tosha! Oh, he ran for his little life. I snuck up on him and was quick enough to fire off a few shutter clicks first though. I’m like a ninja I tell ya! LOL

  12. September 30, 2009 3:00 PM

    Awesome shot! I’m impressed!

    Was he really that bright green or did you enhance the color?

    • September 30, 2009 3:13 PM

      Thanks birdpress!

      I saturated greens & yellows just a bit but nothing more.

  13. blissbait permalink
    September 30, 2009 5:49 PM

    hoppingly handsome
    wise one glowing so bright green
    tell me life’s secrets…

    Great shot! Thank You and Cheers!

    • September 30, 2009 7:00 PM

      Thanks blissbait! Cheers and thanks for dropping by and commenting.

  14. September 30, 2009 10:01 PM

    Great picture Gary! It’s good to see your photos again!

    • September 30, 2009 10:37 PM

      Thanks Sue! It’s good to be doing my “Photo of the Day” again! I missed blogging this summer and am slowly but surely getting back to full speed blogging. LOL

Leave a Reply

