Skip to content

Lightning Strikes!

September 28, 2009

 

lightning_hitting_oak_tree

Written Wednesday, August 26, 2009

It’s straight up midnight and I find myself sitting on the edge of my bed in the camper getting ready to slip into a coma go to sleep when I began to hear the little pitter patter of rain drops dancing across the roof. “I’m going to sleep good tonight” I thought to myself. “I always sleep well when it rains”. I got all nice and cozy in my blankets and listened to the rain fall as my eyes grew heavier and heavier and eventually fell into a deep slumber. A deep slumber is an understatement really. I sleep HARD! I’m not talking about your normal run of the mill hard sleeper here dear reader. I’m talking about an 8 hour coma!

While in my coma, the little pitter patter of rain drops unknowingly stopped and gave way to lighting. LOTS of lightning! I woke up at 4:30am to drain the dragon use the bathroom and there was such a large amount of lightning that it appeared to be daylight outside. No lights were needed for me to walk from my bedroom in the front of the camper to the bathroom in the rear of the camper because it was so well lit from all the lightning. I didn’t even need to turn a light on to make sure I was hitting my “target”.

After shedding a couple pounds of unneeded liquids, I returned to my bed and slipped back into my coma. Thirty minutes later I was awoke from my coma by a loud #$%^&$%^&&$ that scared me half to death. I about jumped out of my skin when I heard it. While checking my boxer briefs for any deposits, I heard my son Nick exclaim “holy SHIT! What the HELL was that?” “I think it was lightning striking the lake” I answered. “That’s what I thought too. It scared the crap out of me” Nick replied. “It scared me too” I said and we both went back to sleep.

At 7:15am, it was time to get out of bed and wake up the boys for school and work. I brewed some coffee and went outside to drink it. I heard Billy messing around outside so I went over to wish him a good morning. We said our good mornings and Billy asked if I had heard that lighting early this morning. I let him know I heard it and thought it had hit the lake. He thought the same thing and about that time the boys came around the corner ready to go to school and work. We all hopped into the car and started driving towards the front gate of the resort. We passed Billy’s camper and got next to Blind Tommy’s camper and knew the lightning didn’t hit the lake but had hit an oak tree right across the street from Blind Tommy and Katy. There were pieces of wood scattered EVERYWHERE. It looked like a bomb went off at a toothpick factory! When I looked back across the street at Tommy’s, their yard was covered in splintered wood and their van was gone.

I took the boys to school and Nick to work and returned to the resort. Later that afternoon, Tommy and Katy returned to the resort. Tommy said it was so loud and scared them so bad they got into their van and went home. Wood flew so much and so hard that it sounded like it was raining firewood and they camp in a pop-up camper. YIKES!!

Thankfully nobody was hurt and I now know why they say not to stand under a tree in a lightning storm.

20 Comments leave one →
  1. September 28, 2009 2:36 AM

    Good grief that was a close call for blind Tommy. My wife has a cousin who was dragging an aluminium dinghy outta the water & the dinghy got hit. Amazingly he survived

  2. September 28, 2009 7:18 AM

    how scary! I don’t sleep if it rains. Sounds silly i know but if its raining I don’t sleep. I’m the odd ball b/c everyone I know sleeps better when it rains.. Not me..On the rare instances I do sleep when its raining.. It’s because I was so exhausted that I could not hold my eyes open any longer. There have been times that hte hubs has had to convince me to take sleeping meds so I could function the next day after being up way too long. And if its thundering I damn sure don’t sleep and will NOT take anything to help me sleep. Both times we were hit by hurricanes I was awake the entire time. We were pelted by one for like 13 hours non stop. It was very draining. Both on my body b/c lack of sleep but also very emotional because hurricanes like to pelt us at night. So not only was I up all day but all night as well. And I was the ONLY one up through both of them. I will NEVER understand how someone can sleep through a hurricane. its not your average run of the mill thunderstorm and there are tornadoes flying off the shit like mad.. Sleeping through ti is not an option yet both times 10 people slept next to me while I sat up awake listening to the play by play on the radio.. anyhow..

    Lightening has done that to my back yard as well.. It’s a scary thing to hear. I have a friend who was hit by lightening.. she was standing next to a tree.. they say lightening never hits the same spot twice.. thats a lie.. it can and will.. There was a church local to me and it was hit more than once by lightening. First time it burned half the church down.. they rebuilt it. Second time it burned only a room.. I dunno but I got a weird feeling they aren’t heeding the warnings they’ve been given.. *shrugs*..

    • September 28, 2009 7:26 PM

      I don’t know if I could sleep in a hurricane or not? My gut tells me yes. I HAVE slept in a tropical storm which is not nearly as bad as a hurricane but I didn’t have any problems sleeping through that at all.

      Yeah, that IS a lie. I have heard about trees and buildings being struck by lightning multiple times.

  3. September 28, 2009 7:39 AM

    That’s two close calls I’ve heard about recently. One was my son in Atlanta. He narrowly missed getting zapped a couple of weeks ago when lightning hit his house and now this!

    That’s some scary sh*t!!

    • September 28, 2009 7:33 PM

      NO SHIT? Oh man….did his house catch on fire or anything? What was the extent of the damage? I’m sorry to hear that Trisha!

  4. September 28, 2009 7:44 AM

    Lightning is some pretty scary stuff. I’m not “afraid” of it but I do respect it.

    • September 28, 2009 7:34 PM

      That’s the way I am too. I’m not “afraid” to be struck by lightning or anything but I have a lot of respect for what it can do. I try really hard to NOT piss it off. LOL

  5. September 28, 2009 3:55 PM

    So happy you and your family came out in good standing! I feel so bad for your friends! You got to be careful with Mother Nature!

  6. September 28, 2009 3:56 PM

    and yet another reason why popups are a no go in a storm. We made it through one at a campground close to you but said from that one on never more never more!

    • September 28, 2009 7:45 PM

      I wish I had a dollar for every storm I have been through in a pop-up. I have been through some NASTY storms in a tent too.

  7. September 28, 2009 4:06 PM

    whoa! I’m glad no one was hurt. I love to sleep on rainy nights. I’m a mess during a drought. Once lightening struck my neighbor’s house and she lost a few appliances from the surge and a tree out front. We were right next door and had no idea.

    • September 28, 2009 7:47 PM

      Yeah, I love to sleep on a rainy night. Really? Right next door and had no idea eh? You must slip into a coma at night like I do. LOL

  8. Sherri permalink
    September 28, 2009 4:52 PM

    Yep, thunder and lightening scare the bejesus out of me! I live in Fl where it’s the number one place for lightening strikes. Not so fun, so I make sure to never go out in ligtening storms. We had one just a little while ago, but now the sun is shining and you would have never guessed it was raining only a few hours ago! Gotta love FL!

    • September 28, 2009 7:50 PM

      I didn’t know FL is the #1 place for lightning strikes. See, you DO learn something new every day. LOL BE CAREFUL MILF……ER…..Sherri! LOL

  9. September 28, 2009 6:35 PM

    That’s wild! You know your friends are scared when they LEAVE. wow.

    • September 28, 2009 7:52 PM

      I think they left more for their 5 year old son than themselves. That’s just a guess though??

  10. September 28, 2009 10:01 PM

    Lightning is scary stuff and electricity in general is scary stuff. I’ve been caught out in a severe thunderstorm before (on horseback no less) and we saw then heard the huge lightning strike. When we finally made it back to my cousin’s, we found out that the huge lightning strike was a big oak tree in their back yard 30 feet from the house. There was nothing left of the tree!

    • September 28, 2009 10:18 PM

      No kidding? Maybe it was a good think you were caught out in the storm then? Who knows what COULD have happened?

Leave a Reply

