Skip to content

Revenge of the Pond People

September 21, 2009

 

Written Saturday, August 16, 2009

There are five main areas for campers to setup camp at the resort we belong to.

  1. Cabins are available for rent by the night, or by the week. Most people that camp in the cabins are people traveling from one place to another and stop there for a little fun on their journey or people that very rarely camp and have no camping equipment of their own. People that camp in the cabins are called “Cabin People” by members.
  2. All the way in the back of the resort or “The Back 40” as it’s called by members. There is no running water or electricity in the back 40, just a lot of trees with a few open areas for tents to be pitched. People that camp here are called “Tent People” by members.
  3. Down the hill and around the corner is a nice area for RV’s. Nice until it rains anyway. Any small rain that comes along turns the area into a swamp with standing water all over the place. When we get a large rain, well you can just imagine. This area of the resort is called “The Swamp” and people that camp here are called “Swamp People” by members.
  4. Around the lake is setup for RV camping as well. The lake is a man made lake in the shape of a very large “U”. People that camp around the lake are called “Pond People” by members.
  5. Last but not least is on top of the hill or “Snob Hill” as it’s called by members. Snob hill is setup for RV camping as well and people that camp on snob hill are called “snobs” by members.

itr7

itr3

itr2

I am PROUD to be pond people! I prefer to pull my RV in by the lake so that I can fish whenever I want and I like the view of the lake every morning when I wake up and when I’m sitting around the campfire in the evening. The people around the lake are good hard working people and I have made many pond people friends.

People that camp on snob hill really only associate with other people on snob hill. It’s called snob hill for a reason. It’s NOT uncommon to take a bike ride up there or walk your dog up there and get the cold shoulder from most everyone up there. I have waved at people up there on MANY occasions only to have them turn their heads like I wasn’t even there. I’m certainly not alone as they do that to pretty much everyone that is not a snob hiller. Many of the campers you find up there are in the $100,000 on up price range and let’s just say their cars look really good sitting in front of those RV’s as well. Now don’t get me wrong, I don’t have ANYTHING against people that have a lot of money. If you worked hard in school, made good choices in your life and now are reaping the rewards then GREAT, however treating other people like you are above them or better than they are because you have a lot of money I DO NOT care for. Does anyone for that matter?

About the only other problem that pond and swamp people have with snob hillers is that they complain. They complain A LOT! They complain so much and about such STUPID things that it’s downright funny to us pond people. You name it, they complain about it. Kids, golf carts, dogs, scooters…….you name it, and they complain about it. My buddy “Blind Tommy” summed things up nicely one night around the campfire when he said “This is NOT a retirement village, this is a campground”. “If you want things to be like a retirement home, move into one.” “There WILL be all different ages of people here that have fun in different ways”.  WELL SAID TOMMY!

As you may already know from a post last week, the resort held their annual hog roast yesterday. The hog roast weekend is one of the busiest weekends of the year. Free food seems to attract people I have noticed. Resort members that may only camp once or twice a year always show up for the hog roast as I would expect. Because of the awesome weather and free food, this weekend ended up being the busiest of the year. Almost the ENTIRE resort was filled to capacity. When snob hill was full, some of them had to come down with us pond and swamp people. When we saw them pulling in, we knew this was going to be a bad thing.

A large group of us pond people were sitting at my buddy Billy’s site after having our dinner and listening to the band for a while when Michelle the park ranger drove up in an official resort Ford pickup truck. Us pond people LOVE Michelle! She is funny, great to chat with, nice as can be and would be pond people if she was a camper. She stopped the truck, pointed at me and asked me to come over to the truck. Everyone started laughing and saying “Uh oh, someone’s in trouble” like we were in high school again. As I made my way to the truck in the road, Michelle looked really serious and I really thought I was in trouble for something. When I got to the truck, Michelle smiled and said “you’re not going to believe this one”. She explained that someone complained about our dog Brody barking too much. My dog of course barks from time to time but not any more than any other dog so I was pretty surprised to be hearing this. Michelle knew this also since she drives by our camper several times a day and see’s Brody out in the yard. Michelle said the only reason she even said anything to me is because she HAD too because it was a complaint but NOT to worry about it or do anything differently for that matter. She mentioned that this lady had been calling almost all day complaining about golf carts, dogs other than mine and kids. KNOWING that Michelle is NOT supposed to clue me in on whom the complainer is, I asked anyway. After a little coursing and sweet talking her, she finally divulged who it was after I promised NOT to say anything to her. The complainer was as you may have already guessed, a man and woman that couldn’t get a spot on snob hill so they took a spot with us pond people.

I walked back to all my friends and started telling them what Michelle had said. They all just laughed about it but knew that if they were complaining about the golf carts, they were probably complaining about them as most of my friends have golf carts and nobody on snob hill does. Now we were all sitting there pissed off and wanted to walk over there and give them a piece of our minds but we couldn’t. I had promised Michelle that I would not say anything to them. We couldn’t however just let this go so I came up with an alternate plan for revenge that would not get Michelle into any trouble for spilling the beans to me.

I came up with a golf cart parade around the resort! Let’s give the bitcher’s something to really bitch about I told everyone! I gathered up as many pond people with golf carts as I could find. I don’t have a golf cart so I rode my electric scooter or my “Harley” as I like to call it and Billy rode his scooter. Billy and I led the parade on our scooters with 12 golf carts following us. We first paraded in front of the people calling and bitching about my dog and the golf carts. We all honked, waved and yelled as we drove by. Then we headed up to snob hill and did the same. We made as much noise as we could as we paraded around snob hill like we owned the place. When we drove through the swamp, people were clapping and cheering at us as we paraded by them. They knew what we were up too. It was so much fun that we took the same trip around once again and were even louder this time around. The swamp people not only clapped and cheered as we paraded by but this time some of them jumped into their vehicles and honked back at us as we honked and yelled.

We must have made our point rather clearly because Michelle told us all this morning that not ONE SINGLE person called and complained. I think we scared them. LOL

The pond people got their revenge! 

44 Comments leave one →
  1. September 21, 2009 3:31 AM

    Good grief I never picked you for such a trouble maker. I can see why they were complaining. Fancy having to lower your standards & come down off snob hill to camp with the likes of you lot 😀
    Actually I thought you’s did an awesome job of giving them all a good stir up. People like that deserve all they get. This post was a great read

    • September 21, 2009 12:08 PM

      Thanks Tony, I’m glad you enjoyed! I’m not usually a trouble maker but I/we just had enough. 🙂

  2. September 21, 2009 6:19 AM

    Great story! I can’t stand snobs. I’m glad you had the good guys (and gals) on your side. 😉

    I never knew camping was so much like high school! 😯

    • September 21, 2009 12:10 PM

      Thanks Birdpress!

      The men and women pond people were definately on my side! Camping at the resort we belong too can be similar to high school, yes. High school was a lot of fun though! LOL

  3. S. Le permalink
    September 21, 2009 8:18 AM

    And you can make the sequel, “Revenge of the Pond People: Ride of the Golf Carts.”

    Sounds like there are a lot of nicknames there. So are the Members called, “members?” (think about it.)

    • September 21, 2009 12:11 PM

      There are many nicknames, for sure S. Members ARE called members, yes! You have to admit, it’s better than being a “unit”. 😉

  4. September 21, 2009 8:23 AM

    Pond People 1 – Snob Hill 0

    Revenge is sweet.

    AV

  5. September 21, 2009 9:55 AM

    EXCELLENT. I roared with laughter reading this. I LOVE it. I can’t stand stuck up people like this to begin with and after all, it’s a campground. Way to go Gary.

    • September 21, 2009 12:12 PM

      LOL…glad you enjoyed Joy! That’s right, it’s a campground for gosh sakes. It’s NOT a retirement home!

  6. September 21, 2009 10:12 AM

    I want to be a pond person!! That sounds like so much fun! Honk ’em if you’ve got ’em.

    • September 21, 2009 12:12 PM

      It was a BLAST Jean! You are more than welcome to become pond people! 😀

  7. September 21, 2009 11:19 AM

    I love this! My mom used to always say: “Kill ’em with kindness!”

    • September 21, 2009 12:13 PM

      Thanks JAM! I’m glad you enjoyed. 🙂

  8. September 21, 2009 11:21 AM

    Sounds like fun. You guys probably scared the daylights out of them with the golf cart convoy, 😀

    • September 21, 2009 12:13 PM

      We sure made a statement, that’s for sure. 🙂

  9. September 21, 2009 11:58 AM

    that’s it…next year you find us a spot next to you there at pond paradise I would have been all over this…even without a scooter. I will have to buy me a skateboard or something to throw in the van. You are too effing funny!

    • September 21, 2009 12:14 PM

      Oh JJ, you would have had a BLAST! Don’t worry, I’m hoping to have a golf cart in the spring and I will have room for ya. 😀

  10. September 21, 2009 12:57 PM

    Gary, I believe you have been hanging around Cousin Vinnie toooooo much! Hee Hee 🙂 Great story!

    • September 21, 2009 3:53 PM

      Ha ha ha…yeah, he is starting to rub off on me. LOL

  11. September 21, 2009 1:51 PM

    ah ha! Fantastic. We used to go “camping” at hub’s aunts lake house.. Only its in a “camp community” and its actually a mobile home with an extension built on and has like 4 fridges, full kitchen, 6 beds, satellite tv, video games, and the woman stocks all those fridges w/ more than you could ever dream of..

    BUT its some of the best fishing ever and the view on the lake is spectacular! There’s a bluff bank that is sooooo quiet most of the time. Anyone rarely goes up there. and it just so happens its the only place you can get cell service there.. I’ve sat up there sketching many a morning..

    Oh.. there are also the lot of em that call to complain about the kidlets and the noise and the golf carts.. but they have annual golf cart parades there.. its alot of fun..

    • September 21, 2009 3:58 PM

      A mobile home? A mobile home isin’t “camping” Tosha! LOL

      Annual golf cart parades eh? Now that sounds like my kind of place for sure. 😀

      • September 21, 2009 7:39 PM

        it SOOOOOOOOOOOOO is camping!!!!!!!!! LOL.. I did enough camping in my childhood.. The real camping.. I deserve to camp like this..LOL! Plus.. You have the lake, fishing poles, boat, golf cart, old ladies bitching about the noise, outdoor grill, beer,wine,mosquitoes, flies, raccoons, ability to b attacked by a wild animal… see.. camping!

        • September 21, 2009 7:40 PM

          Oh yeah! The fish fry and all that fun stuff 2

          • September 21, 2009 11:11 PM

            Ohhhhhhhh, I LOOOOOOOOOVE a good fish fry!

        • September 21, 2009 11:10 PM

          Ok, a lake, fishing poles, a boat, golf carts, old ladies bitching about the noise, outdoor grill, beer, wine, mosquitoes, flies, raccoons and the chance of being attacked by a wild animal IS camping! Sleeping in a mobile home…..NOT SO MUCH! LOL

          • September 22, 2009 10:06 AM

            LOL.. how is it different? you sleep in a camper w/ electricity hook ups right? I just happen to have a full size bed to sleep in when i’m there. However.. I had a full size bed in the last camper I stayed in as well. *shrugs*

            • September 22, 2009 10:10 AM

              Well sure I sleep in a camper with electricity and I also have a queen size bed in my bedroom. A mobile home to me is…..well…..a home. LOL

  12. September 21, 2009 2:16 PM

    HAHAHAHA!!! I love that you got ’em!!

    Hey, next time string up some battery-operated Christmas lights around the golf cart tops, grab some kazoos and sing I Got Friends In Low Places at the top of your lungs! Dye your Mohawks with KoolAde first though!!! YEHAAAWW!!!

    • September 21, 2009 3:30 PM

      ROFLMAO!!!! Now that would get gett’n em!

    • September 21, 2009 3:54 PM

      Ohhhhhhh, we got ’em GOOOOOOD!
      Kazoos would be cool! Yeah, we should do that next time. LOL The leaders of the parade DID have mohawks. It was AWESOME! LOL

  13. September 21, 2009 8:49 PM

    you are sooo fun. thanks for the lowdown on the different camping statuses.

    • September 21, 2009 11:11 PM

      Thanks Renee…..I think I’m fun. 🙂

  14. September 21, 2009 9:38 PM

    oh my gosh I’ve got some scathingly brilliant ideas for that golf cart going through my head. …but why stop at the golf cart…why not get little wagons to decorate and throw candy and crap! (ok not literally throwing crap but you know what I mean)!

    I’ve always wanted to visit the Hilton On Wheels late at night and turn their cable dishes into high dollar bird baths 🙂 <—-that is my kind of prank!

    • September 21, 2009 11:14 PM

      Ha ha ha…..funny you should mention wagons. There IS a red golf cart at the resort owned by “Billy and Weezy” and they have a little red wagon/utility trailer they pull their grandkids and any other kids around that want a ride. 🙂

  15. September 22, 2009 8:27 PM

    hmmm… Top of the hill, The Pond folks, RV trailers and Cabins…… Bunch of girls.

    Next time you wanna go camping and you want to do it in stile visit Scotland (loch Lomond, Loch Long’ or Loch Caterine that’s real camping in a tent, with a a fire (weather permitting, a carry out , a bunch of mates and don’t forget your migie repellent.

    We dont have the class isues that you appear to suffer from we are all the same, Drowned Rats Ha Ha!!

    Or if your just a wee bit to delicate you could use a Youth Hostle!

    Nice post!

    • September 22, 2009 9:47 PM

      I would love to visit Scotland James! I have also done my fair share of tent camping for sure. About 20 years worth actually. Then we moved to a pop-up camper which is basically a tent on wheels with a sink. If I ever make it to Scotland, will ya take me camping? I will stop by Walmart before I get there and pickup some migie repellent if you tell me what the hell that is. LOL

      A Youth Hostle could be nice….not real sure because I don’t know what the hell that is either mate. LOL

      • September 23, 2009 6:18 AM

        nice

        A migie is a small insect that loves to dine on nothing better than campers or any person for that matter, and we tend to do the same the end up in your mouth, food, drink as they tend to swarm in their millions. you must have sumthing sillilar.

        Youth hostle you’ve never lived! baisicly if you prefer not to camp (you must have this in your neck of the woods they are world wide) you can stay in a hostle which costs a couple of pounds a night, its a communial sleeping type thing (boys and girls seperate) you stay the night,, you use the facility’s and then you do your chore which could be clean the floors, or do the dishes or whatever generaly a 20 minuit chore tha helps the woren keep the building ticking. You will I promise have a great time YH, but a word of caution it’s is for the young as we get older and softer I agree we do need our creature comforts but queen size! Im sure that was a typo should have been king size.

        have a look at http://www.syha.org.uk or http://www.hostelworld.com

        thanks for taking the time to respond, take care

        • September 23, 2009 6:20 AM

          Ps one thing i just noticed, you did not query what a carry out is!

          HA HA

          • September 23, 2009 4:39 PM

            Your right, I didn’t. I don’t know what a carry out is either. LOL What is it? LOL

        • September 23, 2009 4:38 PM

          A migie must be what we call gnats or mosquitos. I have some migie repellent so I am good to go then. 🙂

          A youth hostle looks similar to what we call a bed and breakfast. No doing of chores is required at a bed and breakfast though.

          My pleasure Jim and thanks for dropping in! I hope you come back ofen!

  16. September 24, 2009 7:46 AM

    I want to decorate the little red wagon! Can that be my job? And I want to throw candy!

    • September 24, 2009 4:17 PM

      Sure, you can decorate it all you want and throw all the candy you want as long as you pay for it all. 😀

Trackbacks

  1. Mayor of the Pond People « Gary’s World

Leave a Reply

