Skip to content

Annual Hog Roast

September 15, 2009

Written Saturday, August 15, 2009

The resort held their annual hog roast for resort members today. The resort holds the hog roast every year as a thank you to their members and there is no charge for the meal. An entire hog began slowly roasting in a rotisserie smoker at about 4:00am to be served for dinner at 5:00pm. Before Porky was skewered, his belly was stuffed with potatoes and vegetables. Chefs Volunteers stayed with Porky all morning and afternoon in shifts basting him, making sure the rotisserie didn’t break down or nobody with a pickup drove away with him.

Calico beans, corn on the cob, fruit salad, fresh tomatoes, dinner rolls, potatoes, vegetables and potato salad were served along with Poky in a bun. Delicious apple crisps were served for dessert. A band was on hand for some entertainment after dinner and dessert. The band “Who Cares” played everything from The Beatles to Steppenwolf to REM. Seriously; I wasn’t being a smart ass. The name of the band is REALLY “Who Cares”.

The meal was fantastic and the band rocked! It was an awesome time for everyone!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2009 4:17 AM

    My mouth is now watering like crazy. Thanks for the sensory pleasure. Now I must nag Michelle for roast pork for dinner this week

    • September 15, 2009 9:18 AM

      My pleasure Tony….good luck with your pork dinner. 🙂

  2. September 15, 2009 7:16 AM

    It’s 8:15 A.M. and after reading that I want a pork sandwich with all the fixings! Damn…. all I have is this banana……

    • September 15, 2009 9:19 AM

      Oh man it was gooooooood! Bananna? Doesn’t quite compare huh? LOL

  3. S. Le permalink
    September 15, 2009 9:08 AM

    Mmm… I’d like a bit of snout please with the curly tail on the side!

    I’ll bet it was fab. I’d love some actually. How were the calico beans prepared? Baked? Or are they Cajun? I need to know that. It will help me imagine the entire meal.

    Now I’m drooling all over my keyboard and I’ll have to explain to Husband why the keys are nasty and shorted out. Thanks Gary!

    • September 15, 2009 9:25 AM

      I believe the calico beans were made in a slow cooker. They were AWESOME!

      Sorry about that S! Just ask him to read the posts if you get questioned as to why the keys are all nasty. 🙂

  4. September 15, 2009 10:20 AM

    I have a problem eating food when it still has the face attached to it. I’m just picky like that!

    • September 15, 2009 10:35 AM

      Hey, nothing wrong with that Heather. My uncle is the same way. 🙂

  5. September 15, 2009 5:15 PM

    “…nobody with a pickup drove away with him.” LOL, that would be hilarious – well, not so much for the people who wanted to eat, but the thought of someone driving up and stealing a full smoker seems too funny.

    • September 15, 2009 10:57 PM

      These days…..someone doing something like that wouldn’t suprise me a bit! Still…..it does paint a rather funny picture in my pea brain. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. Revenge of the Pond People « Gary’s World

Leave a Reply

