Skip to content

Campground Haircuts

September 11, 2009

 

Written Monday, August 3, 2009

Every morning after I roll out of bed and pour that first cup of coffee, I head next door to my friend Billy’s camper and we have our morning coffee and read the newspaper. Tommy and Katy come over after rolling out of bed too followed by my kids, Tommy and Katy’s son and Billy’s grandkids. I guess you could say that Billy’s is our “hot spot”. All the adults talk about the day and this and that while the kids play together.

My son Ryan mentioned this morning that he could use a haircut. I remembered from an earlier conversation around the campfire that Katy used to be a cosmetologist and cut hair for a living so I asked if she would give Ryan a haircut today. Katy was more than happy too and went to get her hair cutting tools. While she was busy gathering her tools, other people started mentioning that they needed haircuts as well including myself. Billy and I have flat top haircuts and Katy had already stated that she can’t do a flat top so we were out.

Ryan asked me what he thought he should do with his hair. I jokingly suggested a mohawk and he thought that was a GREAT idea. I gave him a mohawk a couple of years ago and I gotta tell you, that haircut fits his personality to a tee! Katy returned with her tools and Ryan sat down in a chair. Ryan and I let Katy know he wanted a mohawk and she went to town on the boy. When she was finished cutting, we took the mohawk one step further and colored it blonde. I thought he looked AWESOME!

mohawk4

“Who’s next for a mohawk” Katy asked jokingly. I raised my hand and shouted “oh me Katy…pick me” while laughing. My son Nick looked at his brother Ryan and said “oh yeah, like DAD is going to get a mohawk”. “Yeah, he won’t do it” replied Ryan. I just looked at them both and smiled. “Do it dad, I DARE YOU” Nick said. “Yeah, I DARE you too” Ryan said. Then Billy and Tommy piped up and started daring me too. What else could I do but sit down in the chair and get a mohawk after being dared by everyone? My manhood was on the line here dear reader!

While the lovely Katy was making me look like an Apache, I turned the tables a little bit and started daring Billy and Tommy to get one. We all started laughing about how people at the resort would freak out and how much fun we could have with it. By the time my mohawk was complete, Billy and Tommy were fighting over who was going to get in the chair next. After seeing the adults with mohawks, all the kids wanted one as well and Katy obliged. LOL

 

mohawk1Back row from left to right: Tommy (aka blind Tommy), Billy (aka bitch eyes) and me.

Center row from left to right: Christian (Billy’s grandson) and Ryan (my son).

Front Row: Logan (my son)

 

mohawk2From left to right: Tommy, Billy and Me

 

mohawk3THUGS!

35 Comments leave one →
  1. September 11, 2009 10:45 AM

    I love it! Nothing like a dare to make you do something!
    I can sooo see you riding your pink scooter with your new hairdo! I bet you look really bitchin’! 🙂

    • September 11, 2009 11:30 AM

      Peer pressure at it’s finest jam! LOL Hells to the yeah I look bitchin! I look like Pee Wee Herman with a mohawk! Now how cool is that? LOL

  2. S. Le permalink
    September 11, 2009 10:59 AM

    Add some bling and you all can imitate Mr, T! “I pity the fool!”

    • September 11, 2009 11:31 AM

      Oh believe me, there were many many many Mr. T imitations going on. NOT just by us “mohawk people” either. LOL

  3. September 11, 2009 11:21 AM

    Can’t leave you boys alone for a MINUTE!!! *shakes head*

    Cool, dudes, ….very kewl!!!

  4. September 11, 2009 11:34 AM

    OMG!!! What a great laugh for the morning. I think it’s so neat that you guys all did this. After all, hair grows back and your boys will never forget that you joined them in this. A great memory indeed! I do have to agree with JAM though. You’re gonna look real bitchin on your pink scooter now! LMAO!!!

    • September 11, 2009 12:15 PM

      We had a lot of fun with it! Nobody really expects to see “old” guys with mohawks. LOL We made a lot of memories this summer but I think this one takes the cake. I don’t think my boys will EVER forget dad with his mohawk. LOL

      On the “Harley” I look like pee wee herman with a mohawk! LOL

  5. September 11, 2009 12:36 PM

    I love the names you named the other guys, funny! What a sport you were! Makes me wonder just how far you would’ve gone with your “dares” that day…lol.

    • September 11, 2009 9:37 PM

      LOL, thanks sweetie! Tommy is legally blind and can’t get a drivers license or anything so his name was pretty easy to come up with. Keeping with the whole eye and blind thing, bitch eyes just came out day at Billy and has stuck ever since.

      We probably would have went further with the dares since we were already on a roll. Just never came up I guess. LOL

  6. September 11, 2009 1:01 PM

    AUH DUDE! DURING THE EARLY 80’S WHEN THE PUNK SCENE WAS GOING STRONG I HAD A PURPLE MOHAWK WITH RED AND BLACK CHECKERED BOARD SQUARES SURROUNDING IT! IT WAS COOL LOOKING WITH MY RUDE BOY JEAN VEST ON AND MY COMBAT BOOTS TO BOOT!

    • September 11, 2009 9:39 PM

      LOL….those were the days Purple Hatter….those were the days! There was a time when Punk was about all I listened too. The Dead Kennedy’s, Surf Punks, The Dead Milkmen, Suicidal Tendencies, Naked Raygun, Circle Jerks, JFA, Black Flag and The Sex Pistols to name a few. 🙂

  7. September 11, 2009 1:12 PM

    Gary, “old” is a state of mind. You , my friend, are one of the youngest people I know!

    • September 11, 2009 9:40 PM

      Why thank you Trisha! I also agree that old is a state of mind! I just refuse to grow up and get old ya know. 🙂

  8. September 11, 2009 1:40 PM

    Next thing you know, Gary’ll be getting tattooed by an old blind gypsy woman, buy a pair of drums and become Travis Barker Jr! lol!

    Jokes apart, This is so cool!

    • September 11, 2009 9:40 PM

      “Tattooes by an old blind gypsy woman”. HA….You KILL me Arch!

  9. September 11, 2009 1:57 PM

    That’s hilarious and the pictures are great! I also have to say, Ryan, especially that first pic of him, is SOOO cute! He does need some sun on that newly-shaved scalp though! (As I’m sure the rest of you do too.) It’s funny how the freckles just stop!

    • September 11, 2009 9:42 PM

      THANKS birdpress! LOL…he DOES need some sun on that scalp huh? Actually, he needs some sun all over his lilly white ass. Ryan doesn’t tan so we affectionately call him “Casper”.

  10. September 11, 2009 2:04 PM

    GARY YOU HAVE BEEN HONORED WITH THE BEST STORY OF THE WEEK AWARD LOCATED ON MY SITE FOR THIS STORY.

    • September 11, 2009 9:43 PM

      Hey, thanks Purple Hatter! I really appreciate it and i’m glad you enjoyed the story enough to honor me with an award! 🙂

  11. September 11, 2009 4:09 PM

    LOL, you guys look like rock stars! Thanks for brightening an otherwise dreary day!

    • September 11, 2009 9:44 PM

      ROCK STARS? (blush) THANKS Era! I don’t know if I would go THAT far but hey, if you say I look like a rock star then so be it. LOL

      Glad I could brighten your otherwise dreary day! 🙂

  12. Tony permalink
    September 11, 2009 6:29 PM

    Awesome haircuts you’s have going on there. I couldn’t help but put it to music

    De Campground campers got haircuts,
    Doo-dah, doo-dah
    De Campground haircuts are real tough,
    Oh, de doo-dah day.

    Gonna cut all night,
    Gonna cut all day
    Got myself a mohawk style,
    Hope it doesn’t look gay.

    I came campin’ with my hair boring,
    Doo-dah, doo-dah
    I go back home with a real cool style,
    Oh, de doo-dah day.

    • September 11, 2009 7:29 PM

      That’s terrific Tony. I love it.

    • September 11, 2009 9:45 PM

      HA HA HA HA HA HA….LOVE IT! Thanks for the diddy Tony! LOL

    • September 12, 2009 8:01 AM

      Got myself a mohawk style,
      Hope it doesn’t look gay!!

      ROFL!

  13. LVISS permalink
    September 11, 2009 8:50 PM

    LIKE CROWS SITTING ON THE HEADS.

    • September 11, 2009 9:47 PM

      Well those are odd looking crows LVISS. 🙂

  14. September 12, 2009 12:03 AM

    Niiiiiiiiiiiice!

    • September 13, 2009 6:22 PM

      😉 Thanks Megan! I can hook you up with one if you would like? LOL

  15. September 13, 2009 2:54 PM

    ROCK ON!
    🙂

  16. September 14, 2009 8:46 PM

    OMG!!! Just out of curiosity, what did Paula say?!!!

    • September 14, 2009 8:58 PM

      Paula was NOT happy! She just told me she WOULD NOT be seen in public with me and said I look like a dumbass. LOL Other than that, she was pretty cool with the whole thing. LOL

Trackbacks

  1. The Best Story of the Week Award « Gary’s World

Leave a Reply

