Skip to content

Randy and the Killer Canopy

July 23, 2009

Written Wednesday, June 24, 2009

 Here at the resort, the rules state that we may only occupy one site for two weeks. When your two weeks are up, you must move your camper to another site. You may move it only one site over but it must be moved. The resort does this so members don’t horde the prime spots and it gives everyone a fair chance at them.

I am currently parked about eight sites down from Randy and across the small lake from Tommy and Billy who are camping right next to each other. The positioning of our campers is in the shape of a perfect triangle across the lake from one another. Randy, Billy and Tommy all live in the same neighborhood and I know them all from camping with them here at the resort. When I wake up in the morning and look across the lake, I usually receive a wave, a flipping of the bird or sometimes Billy will even do a dance of some kind. I will then respond accordingly and we all laugh about it. Billy and Tommy do the same to Randy also and Randy responds back accordingly as well. Sometimes at night, we send signals across the lake to each other with the use of flashlights. We all just like to have a little fun.

This morning I woke up, grabbed my morning cup of coffee and headed outside to enjoy it by the lake. I sat down in my comfy chair and noticed Randy across the lake in his golf cart chatting with Billy and Tommy. When they noticed me sitting there Randy waved, Tommy flipped me the bird and Billy did a rain dance. I waved at them shaking my head and laughing. A few minutes later, I saw Randy leave in his golf cart, ride around the lake waving at me as he passed my camper and arrive at his camper a few sites down from mine.

Moments later after I hear Randy’s golf cart shut off, I begin to hear Randy yelling “HEY” across the lake to Billy and Tommy. I ASSUMED Randy was getting the attention of Billy and Tommy to wave or give a crude hand gesture to them like we always do. I sat in my chair waiting for Billy or Tommy to look over at Randy. Randy kept yelling “HEY” and Billy and Tommy just kept sitting there talking to each other. They OBVIOUSLY couldn’t hear Randy but he just kept yelling at them across the lake. After about 10 minutes of this I thought to myself “For god sakes Randy they can’t hear you!” “Give it up already would you” but he just kept yelling. After about five more minutes of Randy yelling across the lake, I began to wonder if something was wrong. Why would he be THIS adamant about flipping someone the bird so I started walking down there to make sure he was ok?

I walked towards Randy’s camper not being able to see him and Randy kept yelling “HEY” across the lake. The closer I got, the louder Randy’s voice became and the “HEY” I thought was being yelled was actually “HELP”! When I heard that first “HELP”, I walked faster and faster and soon I could start to see his legs from under the camper. I could tell he was standing up but still couldn’t tell what was wrong. I came around the corner of his camper and there he stood with his hands on the canopy of his camper looking as though he was pulling it out for some shade and his head was turned in the direction of Billy and Tommy across the lake.

“Randy, are you ok” I asked. Randy turned his head around towards me and I could see the tears in his eyes. Randy is a BIG burly guy so when I saw the tears in his eyes, I knew he was hurting. He looked right at me and said in a distraught voice “NO, MY HANDS!” I looked at his hands and saw that they were BOTH pinched between two brackets of the canopy. Only his thumbs were visible and not pinched, his other eight fingers were being pinched BADLY. I ran over to him and put my hands on the brackets and started to pull them apart from one another to free his fingers. It took ALL my strength to pull them apart far enough for him to pull his fingers out. When his fingers were out and I let go of the brackets, one of MY fingers got caught and Randy had to carefully pull the brackets apart to let my finger out. It REALLY hurt having my one little finger in there for 5 seconds so I can only imagine how badly that must have felt for Randy. When Randy pulled on the canopy to open it up, the bottom bracket holding the canopy to the camper broke. The canopy is spring loaded so when the bracket broke, the tension in the spring was released and caused the brackets to snap back together with Randy’s fingers between them.

After we were both freed from the jaws of the camper canopy Randy took a step back, looked at his fingers and started to recite explanatives he learned at a tender age like “MOTHER %&*$@#” and “SON OF A %$^&*” just to name a couple. I walked over to him and asked to see his hands. All of his fingers had been pinched to the bone and discolored pretty badly from a lack of blood flow. They kind of looked like swelled up little sausage nubbins.  I asked if he would like me to take him to the hospital but he suggested an ice pack on them first. Randy walked inside his camper and I followed. We got him some ice in a bag and he held them on his fingers still spouting off an occasional explanative from time to time. After a few minutes, he removed the bag and there was no change to his fingers. I asked him to put the bag back on his fingers for about 15 minutes and if there was no change again, I would strongly urge him to let me take him to the hospital.

As we waited the 15 minutes, we started laughing and joking about the whole situation. I apologized for taking so long to get over to him and explained that I thought he was yelling “HEY” instead of “HELP”. I explained that I thought he was trying to get the attention of Billy and Tommy to flip them the bird or moon them or something. While standing there with his fingers caught, he became convinced I had gone inside my camper and couldn’t hear him yelling. We laughed the whole 15 minutes and when the time had gone by and Randy moved the ice bag off of his fingers, they were looking much better. We laughed some more and I thanked him for the blog post and left. Later that day his fingers were back to normal and I asked if he would pose for a photo to go along with the blog post but he kindly declined.

19 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2009 1:02 PM

    Oh man Gary, that’s just awful. Thank goodness you were there and decided to check him out. I’m so glad things ended well. Is he okay now? I see the date on this post. He’s really lucky.

    • August 10, 2009 2:55 PM

      Yeah, he is fine and very lucky indeed. Losing his fingers is a bad thing for the owner of a car shop to do. 🙂

  2. July 23, 2009 1:53 PM

    OMG!! that made me start having a panic attack!

    None of his immediate neighbors could see or hear him???? That’s scary I mean if you wouldn’t have double checked he could have lost fingers 😦

    glad it turned out ok and now I am taking a xanax!

    • August 10, 2009 2:57 PM

      LOL….panic attack!

      NONE of his immediate neighbors were there at the time. I was the only person around and I wasn’t that close to tell the truth. If I wouldn’t have double checked, there is no question he would have lost his fingers. Everything thankfully turned out ok though. 🙂

  3. July 23, 2009 10:30 PM

    I am happy that your friend Randy is all better. It must have been very scary for him…standing there..wondering what to do. Thank goodness you helped him! I am glad you did not get hurt! Maybe you should think about getting home soon! 🙂

    • August 10, 2009 2:58 PM

      Yeah, mabye I should Luisa. Ok, I thought about it. I’m not ready yet. Someday though! 🙂

  4. July 24, 2009 10:54 AM

    Ah the joys of camping! When I was a kid somebody always got hurt while we were camping, never failed!
    Glad you where there to help out.

    • August 10, 2009 2:58 PM

      Randy was glad I was there to help too. LOL

  5. July 27, 2009 3:56 AM

    Boy camping sure is dangerous jamming fingers, hooking dogs. Stay safe Gazza out there in the wilds of America

  6. July 31, 2009 3:45 AM

    I noticed on your Twitter that you got a Harley. Wow Gazza that’s cool for an old bloke….
    Are you in one of those Satan’s Riders/Hell’s Angels/Bandito’s/Comanchero’s/Don’t even think about pissing me off or I will slit your throat type gangs???
    Just wonderin’…..

    • July 31, 2009 9:03 AM

      Tony ~ Rumor has it it’s not a Harley but a pink scooter. The only gang he probably belongs to is the Pink Ladies!

      I am now going to run, not walk, but run from this page! 🙂 Love ya Gary!

      • Paula permalink
        August 2, 2009 10:46 AM

        Just a Mom you are right it is a scooter….he wishes it is a Harley.

        • August 10, 2009 3:03 PM

          My lovely wife PRETENDING she knows what she’s talking about again. Why oh why honey? 🙂

      • August 10, 2009 3:02 PM

        The Pink Ladies? Ohhhhhhh, SNAP on me! Your HARSH! LOL

        Yeah, you better run lady! LOL

    • August 10, 2009 3:01 PM

      “an old bloke”? You talkin to me? Who you calling an “old bloke”? I hope you aren’t talking to me Tony. Some of my “boys” may just have to pay you a little visit. LOL

  7. August 5, 2009 3:32 PM

    Hey Gary…man what a story! Ya’ll should have some password that means HELP, GET THE F OVER HERE!!!
    A Harley??? LOL Gary couldn’t handle a Harley!!!!! LMAO…that is too funny. We need pictures of this “pink” scooter!!

    • August 10, 2009 3:05 PM

      What do you mean I couldn’t handle a Harley? WTF? You and JAM are dogging me hard! LOL

      IT’S NOT PINK!!!!

Trackbacks

  1. Salsa De Randy « Gary’s World

Leave a Reply

