Skip to content

Sorry for the Inconvenience

July 21, 2009

Written Tuesday, June 23, 2009

itr05aPardon the pun but I was NOT a happy camper today! As I said in my last post, we are under a heat advisory due to the high temperatures and very high humidity. The combination of the two have pushed the heat index up to 105 to 108 degrees the past couple of days and it will be lingering around tomorrow and the day after as well. Now some of you living in say India, Australia, Africa, Arizona, Mexico or New Mexico might be thinking “108 degrees…buck up buttercup” but here in the Northern Midwest of the good ole US of A, that’s freaking HOT! We have no pretty beaches or palm trees, no sand dunes, no outback’s, no camels and do not live in fear of being eaten by a lion or being trampled by an elephant. We grow corn and hogs here dear reader….LOTS and LOTS of corn and bacon.

I am however NOT your typical lily white assed Midwesterner that bitches when it gets this hot. I love the heat and would be perfectly fine living in a year round warm climate place like say….Jamaica or Hawaii. Who knows, maybe someday?

Anyway, back to the story. Even though I like the heat, I still like to be able to cool off when I get a little too hot. Being at the resort leaves me a few options…..

A. Stay in the air conditioned camper all day and find something to do.

B. Go to the air conditioned clubhouse all day and find something to do.

C. Go to one of the two pools here at the resort.

Since I love the water and love to be in the sun, I chose option “C”. Logan wanted to spend the day in the activity center which I will talk more about in a future post. So, after Logan was at the activity center, I threw on my board shorts, flip flops and sunglasses, grabbed my Corona beach towel, my cell phone/MP3 player and started walking towards the pools.

The outdoor pool has just been recently filled because it was having some problems of some kind and the water is still too cold to swim in so it has not opened yet. Not a big problem though, I will just go to the indoor pool and catch some rays on the sun deck. As I walked to the pool, I thought about how awesome it was going to be to kick back in a lounge chair and listen to some Bob Marley tunes while working on my tan. When I get too hot, I’ll take a dip in the pool to cool off and return to my comfy chair. I was happy as a lark singing “Natural Mystic” and humming “Stir it Up” all the way there. I was ready to “get to work”.

I arrived at the clubhouse, walked inside and down the hallway towards the pool. I watched the sunlight shine through the skylights on the roof and make the pool glisten as I neared its emptiness. I put my hands on the glass door and gave it a push, expecting the smell of chlorine to permeate my sense of smell but was instead stopped dead in my tracks because the door didn’t open. I took a step back and looked at the time on my cell phone. “What the….its ten minutes after ten and the pool opens at ten o’clock” I thought to myself. “They must not have unlocked the door yet” I muttered. While sliding my cell phone back into my pocket I noticed a sign hanging on the door that read “Pool closed today, sorry for the inconvenience.”  I stood there looking at the sign feeling like I just trekked half way across the country with my family in our metallic pee family truckster only to find Marty Moose telling me that Wally World has been closed for repairs. I wanted to drive to the nearest sporting goods store to purchase a BB gun and hold one of the resort maintenance men at gunpoint until they opened the door to the pool. Concerned that the maintenance man would not be as understanding as Mr. Roy Wally was, I changed my plans for the day and opted for option “A”.

I was NOT a happy camper!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. July 21, 2009 4:38 PM

    Smart move changing your plan to option A! It would probably have been hotter in a jail cell! 🙂

  2. July 21, 2009 7:35 PM

    Gary…how upsetting! The pool looks so inviting. I hope you get to play in the pool soon! I do not want to point at the TV when I am watching the nightly news, and say….”Hey, there’s Gary!” LOL Other plan… very smart move!

  3. LVISS permalink
    July 21, 2009 9:41 PM

    WE HAVE BEACHES ALL AROUND OUR CITY BUT IT DOES NOT HELP IN ANY WAY. ONLY HEAT WAVES TILL SEA BREEZE SETTLES IN THAT TOO LATE IN THE NIGHT.
    WE ARE WAITING FOR UR RETURN TO YOUR BASE.

    • July 21, 2009 11:18 PM

      Thanks LVISS! It’s nice to be missed. 🙂 I will be back for good one of these days. 🙂

  4. July 21, 2009 9:49 PM

    That would suck, piss me off and make me go postal too! Way to keep your emotions in check 😉 Did you find out why the pool was closed? Hope you’re still having fun and you found something fun to keep you occupied!

    • July 21, 2009 11:20 PM

      I’m sayin Sue! It was gonna be a GREAT day. LOL They claimed the pool was closed because it was a little “dirty” which to me translates to the dude in charge of the chlorine didn’t do his job. 🙂 I still found something to do though. I took a nice long nap which is ALWAYS nice. 🙂

  5. July 22, 2009 8:58 AM

    LOL …you could have used a water gun and gone into the office and pointed the water gun at them and said in your best Chevy Chase voice…. “the sign says you’re closed I say you’re open!”

    before you even got to that part I was laughing cuz that’s all I could think of was that part in the movie!

    • July 22, 2009 12:38 PM

      ROFLMFAO!! Yeah, that’s what I should have done! I’m gonna do that the next time they decide to close the pool like that. LOL

  6. July 22, 2009 10:10 PM

    Did you find out why it was closed? My husband was a pool/spa mechanic for a while and he says he’d never own one. They can be really nasty if they aren’t taken care of properly. If it was closed then that might be a good thing…they are on top of keeping it clean. BTW, sorry for your heat wave.

    • August 10, 2009 2:54 PM

      It was closed because they said it was too dirty to swim in which translates to someone forgot to add chlorine yesterday if you ask me. LOL

  7. July 27, 2009 3:58 AM

    What numbskull would close the pool on such a hot day. Sheesh some people

Leave a Reply

