Skip to content

I Caught A Dogfish!

July 14, 2009

Written Monday, June 15, 2009

All of our older boys had plans of some kind for the night which left just Logan and I along with Brody our dog at the resort. Logan fell asleep pretty early so I decided to do a little fishing and enjoy the peace and quiet. I took three catfish poles out of the camper along with some chicken livers to use as bait. Brody was tied up on his leash outside and came trotting over to watch what I was doing. I leaned the first pole up against the electrical box supplied by the resort to power your RV and sat the chicken livers down on the end of the picnic table with me standing between the box and the table. I grabbed a treble hook out of my tackle box and began to bait it with some chicken liver. For those of you that don’t know what a treble hook is, THIS is a treble hook…..

Treble_Hook

You push the top of the hook through a nice bloody hunk of chicken liver and down the shaft to the three hooks below. Those three hooks hold the liver on quite nicely and the liver hides the hooks.

While getting my treble hook out and baiting it, I was talking to Brody who was watching my every move. Why was I talking to a dog? Hey, there was nobody else around to talk too and he likes the attention. So anyway, I get the hook baited and turn towards the pole to put it on the line of the pole. After the hook was attached, I turned around towards the picnic table to put the lid back on the chicken liver container. I turn BACK around again to pickup my pole and cast it into the lake only to find Brody hanging from my pole with the treble hook in his mouth. Only his back legs could touch the ground so his first reaction was to pull on the line and pole to get all four paws on the ground which of course only dug the barbs of the hooks in deeper. “OH SHIT”, I shouted scarily. I KNOW what these hooks are like to get out of the mouth of a catfish and I KNOW how much damage they can cause so I was REALLY scared for him.

I first grabbed the pole from the electrical box and laid it on the ground to take some of the tension off the line. Had I REALLY been thinking I would have gave the line more slack but I unfortunately didn’t think of it at the time. All I could think about was seeing how badly he was hooked and getting it out of his mouth. I got down on my knees and wrapped my left arm underneath him so he couldn’t pull any longer and held the line with my right hand to take some of the tension off the line. I calmed him down as much as I could by talking to him so that I could take a look and see how bad he was hooked. One of the hooks was stuck in his bottom lip but not all the way through so I got that one out pretty easily. The second hook was thankfully not hooked at all but the third hook was all the way through his top lip. I started to work the hook back through his lip but since the barb was also through, it would not go back through without tearing his lip up pretty badly. While trying to get the hook out, Brody began to lick and stick his tongue out of his mouth repeatedly. I kept BEGGING him to stop because I didn’t want him to get his tongue hooked and bring the hook into his throat. Suddenly, I saw an older gentleman open the door to his camper and come outside. “Hey, can you help me out for a minute” I pleaded. He calmly walked over not having any idea what was going on. He walked up to us, looked at me holding the dog and then saw the hook hanging out of Brody’s mouth and said “OH SHIT”. He then dropped to his knees with me and held the dog for me. I tried once again to back the hook out of his lip but the barb on the hook was just not going to let that happen. The old man started pleading with Brody to stop licking as I did knowing what could happen if he got the hook caught on his tongue. The old man stood up and said “let’s cut it out, I’ll be right back”. He rushed back to his camper as quickly as he could, opened up his tackle box and rushed back with a pair of pliers. I held Brody by the head so he couldn’t move and the old man cut the hook with the pliers. The hook was then removed from both sides of his lip and he was finally freed. Other than a small hole in his upper lip, he was ok. He started prancing around the yard like nothing had even happened. I called him over and took a look and couldn’t even see anything anymore. He seemed to be just fine! I on the other hand I was a nervous wreck and thanked the old man for his help about 100 times.

I called Paula to tell her what had happened and began to calm down. Hearing her voice always puts me more at ease. Looking back at the situation, it could have been A LOT worse! If Brody would have swallowed that hook or got it caught in the back of his throat, who knows what would have happened. THANKFULLY that didn’t happen and everything turned out ok.

I really have to commend Brody! The little trooper never made a single peep the ENTIRE time he had that hook stuck through his lip. Lord knows if I had a treble hook stuck through my top lip I would be screaming like a school girl!

Dogfish

16 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2009 9:25 AM

    Poor Puppy! Thank goodness he is ok.
    Man the things we catch on our poles other than fish! I caught my aunt once on my pole. I managed to give her an eye brow piercing way before it was the norm! The doctors in the ER were amazed at how well I set the hook on her! 🙂

    • July 21, 2009 11:09 AM

      You caught your Aunt? LOL My dad caught himself once in the back of his leg. 🙂

  2. July 15, 2009 11:37 AM

    That is so traumatic that’s a huge hook took. Like you said it could have really turned out badly. Luckily for everyone it had a happy ending. Navar was casting across a river and caught his friend or the other way around. So when I am around a casting pool I remember the potential of a flying hook. Glad to hear you guys got the hook out with out too much of a problem. Nice t0 have helpful neighbors.

    • July 21, 2009 11:10 AM

      It sure scared the crap out of me Starla! 😉

  3. July 15, 2009 4:47 PM

    OMG! That must’ve been horrible for poor Brody… And sure enough you never judge someone by their size eh?

    And thank God for the helpful neighbor with the plier!

    • July 21, 2009 11:12 AM

      He did really well Archie! I’m sure if he could talk he would tell us he wasn’t exactly happy about the whole situation but he did really well for having a hook through his lip. Thank god for the helpful neighbor is right!! 🙂

  4. July 15, 2009 8:43 PM

    Gary, the message being….come home where it is safe amongst your blogging buddies!
    🙂

    • July 21, 2009 11:12 AM

      LOL……One of these days before you know it, I will be home for good Luisa. PROMISE! 😉

  5. July 15, 2009 9:25 PM

    Ha! I agree with Doraz. LOL!
    Poor Brody. Dogs can really bounce back. Glad you got the hook out, and God Bless the man who helped you!

    • July 21, 2009 11:13 AM

      He bounced back like nothing happened. He was a real trooper about the whole thing! God bless the man that helped me is RIGHT! 🙂

  6. July 16, 2009 8:04 AM

    Awwww, he’s such a cutie pie. Poor thing. I was tense the whole time I was reading! I’m so glad he’s all right.

    • July 21, 2009 11:14 AM

      Thanks Era! He is just fine thank god! 🙂

  7. July 16, 2009 8:06 AM

    BTW, I know you’re on vacation. When you get home there is a tag waiting for you! http://erasundar.wordpress.com/2009/07/16/the-five-best-things/

  8. July 27, 2009 3:49 AM

    Goodness the poor little guy, it must’ve been a horrible thing to see. I’m glad he came through the ordeal ok.

    • August 10, 2009 2:58 PM

      Scared the crap out of me Tony but everything worked out well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

