Skip to content

Fishing…It’s a Family Affair

June 30, 2009

Written Sunday, June 14, 2009

 If you are active in any organization for the preservation of catfish…move along, there is nothing to see here. If you feel sorry for fish…move along, there is nothing to see here.  If you find catfish to be “cute” or “cuddly”…move along, there is nothing to see here. If you think fish are caught in oceans, lakes or streams already cleaned and frozen, just needing a box and a trip to the supermarket to be purchased by a consumer…move along, there is nothing to see here. If seeing a photo of a catfish being butchered for a future dinner is too much for your pansy ass…move along, there is nothing to see here.

If you do not fall under any of these categories, please read on…there is plenty to see here.

The fishing here at the resort has been pretty good. Well…when it’s not raining anyway. I have caught some pretty nice catfish these past couple of weeks. The fishing will slow down a bit when it get’s really hot out but for right now, it’s open season.

Fishing for us is a family affair. We all of course like to catch them but it’s usually me that does most of the catching because the boy’s can’t stay still long enough. The whole being patient thing is just too much right now. LOL

Family_Affair1

Family_Affair2

Family_Affair3

Logan not only enjoys catching them but he also likes to “stun” them with a hammer right before being cleaned. We do this so they don’t flop around while they are getting cut open and their insides removed. Some people nail them to trees and I have heard of other various methods of keeping them still while you clean them but I have always used the “stun” method with a hammer. My dad taught me this method when I was a little boy and I taught this little trick to Logan when he was two years old. Three years later, he “stuns” them like a pro.

Family_Affair4

Family_Affair5

After the “stun” process is complete, the fish move down the production line to Paula where the cleaning process begins. No, I didn’t make a typo….I said Paula. YES, I know how to clean a fish and lord knows I have cleaned a million of them. However, I am man enough to admit that my cute, normally harmless and somewhat shy wife does a better job than I do. She is very dainty and meticulous when she cleans a fish were I am more of a cut, stab, rip and tear kind of a fish cleaner. She always ends up with two to three times more meat than I do when all is said and done. Paula thinks this is an excuse to get her to clean the fish but it’s really true! 😉

Family_Affair6

Family_Affair7

Family_Affair8

Anyone interested in a fish fry?

34 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2009 4:29 PM

    That is going to make for some good eating. I love some catfish. My favorite is fried with corn mill and some greens on the side with some hot sauce……OK, I have to go get some country cooking now.

  2. June 30, 2009 4:40 PM

    Fish Fry sounds Fun. Wouldn’t that be fun a Bloggers Fish Fry! I’m so impressed with your catch. And Paula!!! Cleans fish like a pro, I can’t let Navar see this, I think he might fall in Love sorry Gary, just saying. I bet they are something to catch they are pretty big fish!

    • Paula permalink
      July 1, 2009 5:20 PM

      Truthfully Gary just doesn’t like getting dirty…..just kidding 🙂

    • July 9, 2009 6:40 PM

      Well come on over guys and let’s have a big fish fry!

  3. S. Le permalink
    June 30, 2009 5:55 PM

    Those are big fish!

    Paula is a good woman. Better keep that one!

    • Paula permalink
      July 1, 2009 5:19 PM

      Most of the time.

    • July 9, 2009 6:41 PM

      Oh don’t worry about that. I plan on keeping her for the rest of my life.

  4. June 30, 2009 6:51 PM

    Is Paula by any chance a surgeon? wow. After seeing that cleaning job, I believe your story, and she’s smiling too?!! lol.

    Guess you guys will be eating for awhile, looks good.

    • Paula permalink
      July 1, 2009 5:18 PM

      No, I work in computers. But I do like cutting up things.

  5. June 30, 2009 7:51 PM

    I am going to have to try catfish. It sounds yummy. When my son brings home fish he’s caught it’s all filleted for me. He knows I won’t do it plus he does it so well. How do you get such a long vacation? It seems like you have been on vacation forever.

    • July 9, 2009 10:38 PM

      Well that would be nice Joan! Sounds like you have a good son! 🙂

  6. June 30, 2009 10:05 PM

    I’ve seen men on TV participate in a sport called “noodling” to catch catfish. Gross! I hope you didn’t catch it that way.

    You are married to a good woman! Kudos to Paula!

    • July 9, 2009 10:39 PM

      I have seen that too. That’s crazy innit!! No, we catch them the old fashioned way on baited poles. 🙂

      I really did marry a good woman and thanks Tammy!

  7. June 30, 2009 10:32 PM

    Please tell me you coated it in cornmeal and deep fried it – that’s the only way to eat catfish! God, I miss living down south…

    • Paula permalink
      July 1, 2009 5:17 PM

      yes we coat it and deep fry it.

  8. July 1, 2009 3:23 AM

    I’m like you, more of a cut, stab, rip and tear kinda guy. You just gotta hope Paula doesn’t lock the fish in the car, or leave her keys in the fish. Oops I better shut up she has a big knife. The one your son has is a monster

    • Paula permalink
      July 1, 2009 5:10 PM

      It is the same fish. It just looks so much bigger with Logan holding it.

    • July 9, 2009 10:41 PM

      Lock the fish in the car or leave her keys in the fish. HA! You KILL me Tony!!

  9. July 1, 2009 9:34 AM

    We used to cut the catfish up into bite sized pieces and dip them in cornmeal and fry them. Catfish nuggets the kids loved them.
    I hate to tell you this but we salt water fish and we call the catfish we catch out there Hard Heads. We club them and throw them back! When they are around there are no other fish to be caught. I like catching trout, black drum and red fish.
    I do not clean fish! I never have and never will! I told my husband years ago “that there is a man’s job!”

    • Paula permalink
      July 1, 2009 5:15 PM

      I have always believed in helping out with the man’s job (if I can) just like my husband can help out with the woman’s job (if he can). My dad had two daughters and no sons and he made sure we knew how to change and fix a lot of things (including) our cars, so basically he made us tomboys which is not so bad.

      • July 2, 2009 10:37 AM

        I’m right there with you on everything else Paula! I do however draw the line at cleaning fish. More power to ya! 🙂

  10. July 1, 2009 8:04 PM

    You guys sure do know how to live and have fun with family! I am so happy you have the chance to do all of the things in life that matter! I hope you are taking lots of photos and video. It is good for use later in life when the kids think they did not do enough! LOL 🙂

    • July 9, 2009 10:45 PM

      Thanks Luisa! We certainly try to have as much fun as possible….especially in the summer months. 🙂

  11. July 2, 2009 9:53 PM

    That really is some technical skill Paula’s got there. In St. Thomas, my cousins would go spear fishing off the beach by their house, clean em and fry em with johnny cake all right there on the shore. Those were the days.

    • July 9, 2009 10:47 PM

      That sounds DELICIOUS Era! I have never had a Johnny cake and would love to try one. They lookd delicious!

  12. July 4, 2009 12:40 AM

    Wow nice family event!

    And I must say, your son is seriously cute when he’s holding that hammer to ‘stun’ the fish. I must tell my father to try that too.

  13. July 7, 2009 3:12 PM

    Fish Fry sounds yum!

    It’s great that all of you like fishing… Logan looks all business with the hammer! lol he is just so cute!

    And I sure hope you make it upto Paula for doin all the gutting for u boys 😛

    • July 9, 2009 10:51 PM

      Come on over Arch and we’ll have a fish fry! 🙂

      I TRY to make it up to Paula when I can anyway. 😉

  14. July 7, 2009 10:45 PM

    this brings back memories of all the fishing we did. We could catch catfish and it was my job to skin them. We had an assembly line going on because we would catch so many..and I got the skinning job! Good job Paula..you look like you are having fun! 🙂

    • July 9, 2009 10:52 PM

      She does look like she is having a good time hacking up that fish doesn’t she? Maybe I should be a little concerned?? LOL

  15. July 9, 2009 8:38 AM

    Great pictures! Paula, you do do an excellent job with a knife. Glad you’re all having a great summer 🙂

    • July 9, 2009 10:52 PM

      Thanks Sue! I hope you and yours are having a good summer!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

