Skip to content

The One That Got Away

June 26, 2009

Written Tuesday, June 9, 2009

 

Tonight after dinner and Logan was in bed for the night, my son Nick and I decided to do a little fishing. We have a pretty good system down where he baits the poles while I’m casting them. Nick doesn’t like to cast large catfish poles and those are all we use. We use pole holders that are stuck into the ground about 12” so we don’t have to sit there holding the poles and don’t have to worry about the poles being drug out into the lake by a fish.

After three catfish poles were baited and resting in a pole holder, Nick and I got comfortable in our camp chairs with a cold soda. We started chatting about this and that while watching our poles and sipping our sodas. Suddenly, one of my poles was bent half way down towards the lake. Now for a catfish pole to be bending in the middle of the pole, you know it’s a big one!

I quickly sat my soda down, jumped up out of the chair like I was bitten by a rattlesnake and ran to my pole about 10 feet from where I was sitting. I ripped the pole out of the holder and started to reel the monster in. Nick knowing how big this bad boy has to be, ran and got the dip net out of the back of the camper because he knew we were going to need it. Nick reached out with the dip net as far as he could and waited for me to wrestle the giant in close enough for him to scoop up with the dip net.

I reeled my reel and pulled on my pole to get this fish up to Nick. He fought with all that he had and was starting to get tired. I kept reeling and pulling on my rod just trying to get him into the dip net. Finally after a few minutes of fighting, he got tired and quit fighting. I reeled him in towards the dip net and he suddenly out of nowhere mustered up one more burst of energy. I was amazed at how much he pulled on my line when suddenly, SNAP! My line breaks and the monster swam away. I use 20lb test line and a 30lb. leader with a swivel on my pole so anyone that may fish KNOWS that this was a NICE catfish!

I looked at Nick and he looked at me. I think everyone in the resort heard my next explanative…

SON OF A B%&*h!!!

16 Comments leave one →
  1. sandysays1 permalink
    June 26, 2009 9:28 AM

    Ain’t it so! The big ‘uns get right up to you thumb their nose and swim away. Sandy

    • June 26, 2009 9:42 AM

      They can be sneaky sometimes for sure Sandy. I’ll get him next time. 😉

  2. Janet Folkerts, CCC permalink
    June 26, 2009 9:37 AM

    A fun story that I could visualize…thanks for sharing that ‘fish tale’……. If you ever catch ‘THE Big One’ savory the flavor of the quality time spent with your fishing partner..the memory will far outlast the taste of success and with each recall “THE Big One” will get even bigger.

    • July 9, 2009 5:59 PM

      Thanks Janet and I’m glad you liked the story! I “savor the flaovr” of the quality time I spend with my boys every day. Thanks for dropping by!

  3. June 26, 2009 10:52 AM

    Great post, I feel like I was right there. Funny this story makes me want to go fishing. It’s pretty exciting when you know you have a monster fish. Ive never fished for catfish before, mainly up here it’s trout, pike, perch and mackinaw. Too bad it got away.

    • July 9, 2009 6:01 PM

      Thanks Starla…glad you enjoyed. It’s VERY exciting to get that BIG one on your line. Not so fun to lose it though. Eh, such is life. 🙂

  4. June 26, 2009 11:13 AM

    My son is a fisherman and I’ve heard his stories about the one that got away. My son only fishes saltwater and usually from a boat. He told me recently about a big fish he caught that jumped right out of the boat after he removed the hook. You’re just going to have to get out there and try again. I love fish stories.

    • July 9, 2009 6:02 PM

      Jumped right out of the boat after taking the hook out? Awww man! That’s WORSE for sure Joan!! What a bummer!!

  5. Olman permalink
    June 27, 2009 9:52 AM

    Those big catfish can be some line/hearth breaker for sure. I remember spending whole days on the Ste Lawrence River when i was younger (way younger) fishing for the big channel catfish. Some of them took me and the boat for a free ride while i was trying to get the “monster” close to the surface. Some made it in the boat but some just could not be brought in and would endup leaving with hooks baits and good length of line.

    • July 9, 2009 6:04 PM

      They can get pretty darn big for sure Olman! Some of them BIG one’s I have caught and some just get away. 😀

  6. June 27, 2009 3:47 PM

    been there done that and lost many a nice fishing pole by a big ole catfish busting them in half. I know how you feel. Now I really want to come up there and go camping with you 😦

    • July 9, 2009 6:05 PM

      I’m still waiting for you to come up JJ! 😀

  7. June 28, 2009 2:07 AM

    Sounds like you hooked Jaws or Moby Dick

  8. June 28, 2009 4:00 AM

    I was ready to jump out of my chair and give you guys a hand!… Oh, that’s right, I’m reading…not actually there. That sounded so exciting. I’ve never been fishing and that made we want to try it. But I don’t think I can handle the bait…ewwww. I love to watch Deadliest Catch about crab fishermen off Alaska. There’s just something about fishing!

    • July 9, 2009 6:07 PM

      It’s ok era, you can still give us a hand if you would like. LOL You have NEVER been fishing? Well that’s just a crying shame Era! If you are ever out my way, Paula and I will take you out fishing for some big ole catfish!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

