Skip to content

GNATS!

May 20, 2009

 

GnatI can’t take it anymore; it’s time for a RANT!

Late spring and early summer bring gnats out of nowhere here in Northern Illinois. They come every year during this time and there is NO escape! They seem to be worse after it rains for a long period of time or when the rivers come out of their banks. Pools of water are breeding grounds for the little bastards and I just happen to live along the Mississippi river and beside the Rock River. The little bastards are absolutely relentless!

They swarm in herds of what seems like a million or more right in your face! They land in your hair and crawl on your head and neck, fly into your eyes causing some obvious discomfort and fly into your mouth every time you try to speak which is extremely annoying. When outside this time of the year, you find yourself CONTANTLY waving your arms around your face and head trying to keep the little bastards off of you which only works for like a millisecond. OMFG they are ANNOYING!

A couple of days ago my wife, youngest son and I took our dog for a walk in our neighborhood. We walked one street over and saw a nice older gentleman with his dog standing out in front of his house. We stopped to let the dog’s sniff each others asses and started chatting a bit. We were maybe standing there one minute when we all began to be attacked by the little bastards. I’m sure the neighbors across the street got a laugh at us standing there waving our arms around our heads and faces like crazy people. They are so small you can’t see them unless they are about a foot or less away.

Last night, my wife and I were sitting outside in the back yard on the patio chatting about the day. We were out there for about 5 minutes and couldn’t take it anymore. The gnats starting swarming around our faces and biting my wife on the neck.

Then there are the evening baseball games my son plays in that my wife and I go to watch. Half the time you don’t even know what’s going on in the game because you are too busy swatting at the freaking gnats.  There is nothing like sitting outside at a baseball game swatting at gnats for 2+ hours let me tell ya!

Do you have problems with gnats like this where you live?

DIE you little bastards…DIE!!

Ok, I’m done now.

Thanks for letting me get that off my chest. 😉

30 Comments leave one →
  1. May 20, 2009 5:06 AM

    Is a Gnat the same as a Mosquito, I hate Mozzies I always swell up a fair bit & itch like crazy when I get bitten

    • May 20, 2009 9:54 AM

      No Tony, gnats are much smaller and don’t bite the same way. They really just like to swarm you. They almost suffocate you. Mosquitos are equally as bad but at least they bite you right up front. They don’t beat around the bush!

    • May 20, 2009 4:54 PM

      No, they are different from a mosquito. Mosquito’s fly solo where as these little bastards fly in swarms. Mosquito’s also are only interested in sucking your blood where as gnats want to bite you and drive you up a freaking wall. They are much smaller than a mosquito as well.

  2. May 20, 2009 5:09 AM

    Or is a Gnat a special Mosquito that only bites Gnu’s. Perhaps they should be called Wildemozzies or Mosqitebeests. Oops I’m rambling on…..

  3. May 20, 2009 7:41 AM

    We have Mosquitoes… If they got any bigger they could take over the world..
    These blood sucking little minions of Ol’ Lu himself!

    They bite you, leave you scratching like a mongrel with fleas. I especially hate it when they make you itch in those areas that are inappropriate to scratch in public…

    Oh trust me! Their blood sucking antennae or whatever the hell it is is growing stronger… Pretty soon we’ll all be wearing titanium suits to save our asses! [very angry face]

    • May 20, 2009 4:55 PM

      OH we have Mosquitos too Archie. They will start biting like freaking mad here in the next couple of weeks. LOL

  4. May 20, 2009 7:53 AM

    yeah…they migrate over here from Illinois!!! I almost hate them worse than mosquitos…at least you can see mosquitos…gnats just give you a sneak gang attack.

    they seem to die down over here a bit in the summer but when it’s spring and there is a lot of water we are plagued by both mosquitos and gnats. HATE is too kind of a word for them. 😦

    • May 20, 2009 4:58 PM

      I don’t know which I hate more to tell the truth. They die down here when it get’s warmer too. Then comes the mosquitos of course.

  5. May 20, 2009 8:01 AM

    try this…spray olive oil spray lightly on exposed skin. The bugs don’t want to land on oil and something in it blocks the human scent from being so attractive to the insects.

    • May 20, 2009 4:59 PM

      I might try that but I don’t know if I would like oil all over my skin though either. 😀

      • May 20, 2009 8:39 PM

        I’m gonna give it a shot. I am tired of spraying all those chemicals on and figure I’d rather have oil on me than those bastard gnats buzzing around me.
        I think the olive oil spray is supposed to help with mosquitos too…we’ll see.

        • May 21, 2009 12:14 AM

          So you haven’t actually tried the oil thing yet?

  6. S. Le permalink
    May 20, 2009 8:29 AM

    Gnats are second only on my “hate” scale to mosquitoes. Then comes flies and earwigs.

  7. Sue permalink
    May 20, 2009 8:36 AM

    We have gnats and mosquitos. Mosquitos being the bigger problem in all sense of the word!

    • May 20, 2009 5:02 PM

      We have both too. I just don’t know which I hate worse. LOL

  8. May 20, 2009 9:45 AM

    We have gnats and they must DIE!

  9. May 20, 2009 9:57 AM

    I hate gnats. I also hate mosquitos. Gnats also don’t like cigarette smoke. I can remember when the kids were playing ball and a person could still smoke without being arrested, everyone would want one of my cigarettes and they wouldn’t even smoke it but it kept them away. Now mosquitos, I only wish it were that easy. Ours do disappear once the really hot weather get here and UP STEPS the mosquitos.

    • May 20, 2009 5:10 PM

      I have noticed that they don’t like cigarette smoke. Unfortunately, Paula doesn’t like it either so I gotta watch it. LOL It’s the same thing here Joy, they go away when it get’s real hot and then the mosquitos kick in and take their place. LOL

  10. May 20, 2009 8:19 PM

    Gee Gary, I am really sorry to hear about those little rascals bugging you all! I wish I knew of a way to help, but I have no ideas! Be careful and try not to let them spoil all that crazy fun you guys gave!
    See ya Gnatter…

    • May 21, 2009 12:14 AM

      “See ya Gnatter” ……HA! You kill me Luisa!! 😀

  11. lviss permalink
    May 20, 2009 9:01 PM

    THATS GNAT FOR US.

  12. lviss permalink
    May 20, 2009 9:04 PM

    WE LIVED AMONG MOSQUITOES FOR TWO YEARS . WE BECAME SO PALLY THAT AT ONE POINT OF TIME THEY STOPPED BITING US

    • May 21, 2009 12:16 AM

      Now THAT’S bad lviss! Can’t say I envy you!! 😀

  13. May 20, 2009 9:10 PM

    I am from sunny, or rather rainy Florida. The gnat should be our state mascot. They are everywhere, all the time. It usually doesn’t get cold enough to get them out of here either so I really feel your pain.

    • May 21, 2009 12:18 AM

      NO THANKS MAN!!! I can’t stand those little bastards. I have been to Florida several times and I don’t remember them being that bad? Maybe I was in a good area or something?? LOL

  14. May 21, 2009 12:12 AM

    Like Eric said, we get gnats galore in Florida. I’ve had tennis lessons cancelled because they formed a thick cloud all around us. The tennis balls were covered with them!

    Thanks to all the rain, we’re gonna have mosquitos like crazy. I didn’t think about that when I was talkin about how great the rain is.

    • May 21, 2009 12:19 AM

      Oh wow, now that would just drive me NUTS!! NO THANKS!! LOL

  15. Daniel Euergetes permalink
    April 4, 2010 5:45 PM

    Yesterday I noticed a gnat once in a while.

    Today, beautiful weather during the setting of the sun, coo light breeze. Better enjoy it whilst it is still Spring in Florida.

    Dammit! Here they come! Trying to get into every orfice in my face! Crawling on my scalp! First swarm of the year! Not so nice out anymore!

Leave a Reply

