Skip to content

Just Curious – 05/19/09

May 19, 2009

 

bellypWould you allow your 16 year old daughter get her belly button pierced?

32 Comments leave one →
  1. May 19, 2009 6:47 AM

    sure as long as I went with her and took her somewhere that I knew was clean.

    but we are all about body art here so maybe I’m the freak. 😉

  2. S. Le permalink
    May 19, 2009 7:54 AM

    No.

  3. May 19, 2009 8:55 AM

    She would have to wait until she was 18 – that’s when I got mine pierced.

  4. timshel1 permalink
    May 19, 2009 11:05 AM

    No need to have my daughter advertise her belly more than she needs to when she’s 16. I would have her wait until she’s 18.

  5. May 19, 2009 11:36 AM

    Nope. NO! Absolutely NOT. I think it’s just a little bit to young. I’m not so against the piercing though. It’s more the after effects like “showing it off” and the clothes she’d want to wear so EVERYONE can see it.

  6. May 19, 2009 11:36 AM

    I think I would make her discuss it with Mr. Donald Mills first….

  7. May 19, 2009 11:37 AM

    Probably not.. and if I did I’d do what jj would do.

  8. May 19, 2009 1:24 PM

    Hey Gary I started a new page called video soup corner on my blog. The first video I chose is for you. I have a feeling your going to love it. To answer your question about the belly button ring, no way, but the reality is I probably wouldn’t have a say in the matter.

  9. May 19, 2009 2:04 PM

    I would say no until she is 18 then she can do what she wants. Thank goodness my daughter never wanted one. Though she has a huge tattoo on her back which I sort of love.

  10. May 19, 2009 4:16 PM

    2 words….HELL NO!

  11. May 19, 2009 4:58 PM

    I feel that she will have plenty time to express herself, so she could wait.

  12. May 19, 2009 7:09 PM

    IF I had a daughter, there is no way in hell I would let her get her belly button pierced!! She would have to wait until she turned 18 and hate me forever for saying no. LOL

  13. May 19, 2009 7:29 PM

    Oh yeaaa why not!!!! Haha I can say that because I don’t have a daughter!! Seriously though,not at 16. I got mine done when I was 17, I also got my tattoo when I was 17. Both I regret. I hate my tattoo and I have a small scar from the ring. I just wouldn’t do it again if I were to do it over. I was dumb and got a flower around my belly button, well what do you think happened to that flower when lil miss Nicole got pregnant!? sigh….oh well! I’m glad I have a boy and I’m sure he’ll want piercings too…his dad has them all over (tastefully) so maybe Jason and I should discuss at what age we will let him.

    • May 19, 2009 9:24 PM

      Did your flower turn into a weed?

    • May 20, 2009 8:37 AM

      That’s exactly why I got my tattoo where I did – I clearly remember considering each part of my body that I might want to have tattooed and thinking, “If I gain a lot of weight, will the tattoo get distorted more here?” So I chose a part on the small of my back that I figured was the least likely to stretch the tattoo if I suddenly ballooned up.

      • May 20, 2009 5:04 PM

        Good choice! That’s a HOT place for a tat on a female!!! Geesh, you sound HOT Megan. LOL

        • May 20, 2009 8:56 PM

          Haha…thanks, Gary! You’re doing wonders for my self esteem today!

  14. lviss permalink
    May 19, 2009 8:49 PM

    WHAT IS THE PURPOSE OF THIS PIERCING.

    • May 19, 2009 9:23 PM

      Guy’s think it’s hot. I think it’s hot myself!

      • May 20, 2009 8:35 AM

        It’s good to hear a guy say he thinks a pierced belly button is hot. My guy is kind of “blah” about it – he says, “it’s part of you, so I like it.” Although…I do get the feeling that if I had it done after we met, he wouldn’t have been so passive about it. So, thank you, Gary…you have inadvertently rekindled in me a spark of feeling hot that has somewhat dulled over the past few years.

        • May 20, 2009 5:01 PM

          It was my pleasure Megan! I have ALWAYS thought pierced belly buttons are HOT HOT HOT!! I LOVED it when my wife had hers. She took it out when she got pregnant with our youngest. 😀

  15. Sue permalink
    May 20, 2009 8:40 AM

    Nope. She’s gonna wanna show it off and that’s the last thing she needs to be doing at 16 is pulling up her shirt or wearing things that don’t cover it! No, no and no! 18 would be better.

  16. May 21, 2009 12:30 AM

    NO. NO. NO. NO. NO. No. That being said, I hope they don’t go sneak off to some creepy dive and get it done. We’ve started discussing piercings with them and gently expressed our preference that they don’t do it.

    • May 21, 2009 12:36 AM

      That’s a good idea! If I had a daughter, I would be doing the same. Now I do have both my ears pierced and don’t mind if my son’s get their ears pierced. Two of my four do have them as a matter of fact.

  17. May 21, 2009 10:44 PM

    I would hope my teen would respect him/herself enough to not deface any part of their body, even when they are an adult. Piercings and tatoos are just fads that most people I know have regretted getting.

    It’s bad enough when we make poor choices and have to live with the thoughts of them. It’s worse when those choices are visible and can’t be removed.

  18. June 4, 2009 10:53 AM

    I would have her talk to a friend of mine who got her’s pierced, then it got infect, oozed pus for 6 weeks, needed medical intervention (antibiotics), and still couldn’t wear anything with a waistband for about 3 months it hurt so bad. After that, she pulled it out, which also needed a doctor’s help. After that, sure.

    That being said, I bought stud for my GF and I love knowing that she is wearing it under her very conservative office clothes….

Trackbacks

  1. ♥ that time again ♥ « ~javajunkee~

Leave a Reply

