Skip to content

Just Curious – 05/07/09

May 7, 2009

 

castHave you ever broke a bone and have to wear a cast?

31 Comments leave one →
  1. lviss permalink
    May 7, 2009 3:37 AM

    luckily i never attend any political rally , so far i escaped

  2. May 7, 2009 7:13 AM

    Nope, I am a boring person.

    • May 7, 2009 11:04 AM

      NOTHING wrong with not breaking any bones Lyla. 😀

  3. May 7, 2009 7:24 AM

    oh well shit I saw that arm and thought we were going to talk tattoos! DARN IT!

    Yes I’ve broken bones and no I’ve never worn a cast. And OMG you would have thought that with all the fighting and rough housing I did as a kid something would have got broke through all that but hell no..I have to have the strange shit happen to me to break something..

    Case in point A.
    When I was a kid I liked to play in our piano stool…I had both hands in it when our siamese cat jumped on it and it came down on 3 fingers on both hands. 2 fingers on each hand BROKE. All they did was tape them together.

    Case in point B.
    Our neighbor girl and her husband had a homemade rigged camper they made out of the pickup bed. Now somebody should have rethought the folding up and down process with big steel beams but she wanted to clean it up one day when he wasn’t home and asked me to help her. We had all but 1 steel bar up…it wasn’t wanting to budge which should have been a red flag but her and I got along because we were both bullheaded and this was going to go up. Yeah that bar went up and one of the other ones came apart and came swinging down and caught me on the nose. I don’t think that even birthing 2 children produced that much blood. It was like some kind of monty python holy grail skit..there was flippin’ blood everywhere. Good thing she was a nurse. I almost passed out before they got the bleeding stopped. BROKE! (ok typing that can bring back bloody memories that make me feel light headed)

    Case in point C.
    broke my little toe…bless my sons heart when he was little he wrapped a huge ass geode up for me as a gift in his blankie and when I whipped it off the table thinking it was just his blankie..the geode and my little toe met. BROKE!

    • May 7, 2009 11:06 AM

      “A homemade rigged camper made out of a pickup bed”

      If your camper is made out of a pickup bed….you may be a redneck. ROFLMFAO!!

      • May 7, 2009 1:05 PM

        yeah and if you get your nose busted helping so said redneck..you might be a dumbass 🙂

  4. May 7, 2009 7:26 AM

    btw…do I get a prize or something? 🙂

  5. May 7, 2009 7:39 AM

    Yeah I’ve broken my left elbow and had to wear a cast for 2 months.

    It was painful but am proud of myself coz I didn’t bawl my lungs out! All the morphine or whatever they gave me kept me pleasant 😛

    So does this traumatic experience win me a prize or what? 🙂

    • May 7, 2009 11:10 AM

      Sure! I will fling a meatball at you on Facebook!!! 😉

  6. May 7, 2009 9:01 AM

    I have never broken a bone and never worn a cast.

    I always wanted one when I was a kid, though. Having a cast was the coolest thing. Not sure if I’d want to go through the process of needing a cast now, but it might still be cool to have one.

    • May 7, 2009 11:20 AM

      It’s not! 😦 It’s reallly a pain in the ass. They get in the way of everything, itch like CRAZY and the skin inside the cast dies and gets all scaly. Then there is the smell! YUK!

      • May 7, 2009 10:40 PM

        Good point.

        I did have to have an air cast once when I got tendonitis in my knee. That sucker went from my upper thigh all the way down to my ankle. I had to hobble around like a peg-legged pirate for a couple weeks. Within ten minutes I was ready to tear my hair out because of all the itching. I got to take mine off to bathe, so that relieved some of the aggravation. I can’t imagine having to keep it on for two months!

        • May 7, 2009 11:09 PM

          I have only had one cast but it sure was a pain! I’m right handed and OF COURSE my cast was on my right arm so I had to do pretty much everything left handed and I’m REALLY not amidexterous. (sp?)

  7. May 7, 2009 9:04 AM

    I broke my big toe and boy, did it hurt! No cast for it! Had to wait it out! OUCH!

  8. May 7, 2009 9:54 AM

    I broke my finger playing softball with my oldest daughter without a glove. No cast I just taped them up.
    I broke my nose twice. The first time I was about 10 and I was tying my shoes and my shoelace broke and sent my fist right up into my nose. They did tape it up. The second time was just about 5 years ago,I tripped over something on our patio and my nose meet the brick house. On the good side,I have not had a really bad sinus problem since that one!

    • May 7, 2009 11:24 AM

      OUCH!! I can honestly say I have never heard of anyone breaking their nose in a freak shoe tieing accident. LOL

  9. May 7, 2009 10:35 AM

    Knock on wood!! I’ve only broken one of my toes and it REALLY hurt. No cast.

  10. S. Le permalink
    May 7, 2009 10:44 AM

    I’ve broken an arm, a finger, and a toe. Only the arm required casting. Did it showing my cousins how my brother broke HIS arm. I was a dim child.

  11. May 7, 2009 11:04 AM

    Yes, I’ve broken a few bones overtime but, unfortunately, none of the “good” ones that required any cool casting, lol. My ribs have been fractured a couple of times (once, simply from a wicked coughing spell, of all things, and the other time, from trying to lift something I shouldn’t have during a workout session in one ouf our local gyms). Besides those incidents, just my little “piggy” (baby toe) on my right foot a few short months ago. A friend of my oldest daughter left her shoes laying on the middle of our living room floor and, as I walked past them, I guess my toe must have caught the edge of one of the shoes in “just the wrong way” because, sure enough, right after my toe met shoe my toe ended up sticking out in a whole direction (straight out to the right as opposed to straight up where it belonged). It hurt, but not near as much as I thought a broken toe would and it didn’t take long to have it “forced” back into place. I had it put back into place at one of the clinics nearby (which, for me, actually hurt more then the break itself did). Once it was back in proper position the doctor just bound it together with the toe next to it to keep it in alignment and, now, it’s back to as normal as it ever was (which is more than you can say for me, ha ha). And wow, after reading some of the comments above, I feel more than just a little lucky. Heck, just reading some of them was painful…yowtch!

  12. May 7, 2009 12:42 PM

    MY toes..several times and my god is that some kind of pain! My nose a couple times and never got it fixed, I can’t breathe and I have one wicked nose! lol…oh well maybe someday I will get that fixed.

    • May 7, 2009 1:08 PM

      U KNOW WHAT.. Nikki..you just raised a revelation to me. SERIOUSLY..I’m thinking about this now. I had suffered horrible allergies moving out here cuz we have a farmers field right behind us. I was trying to think of when they stopped. Literally I used to be all swollen up and not able to breath and it was awful and then it stopped almost as soon as it came on and I’m thinking it was right around the same time my nose got broke! WOW!

      • May 7, 2009 2:14 PM

        If you have allergies and live right next to a corn field you WILL have MAJOR problems sister! It may bother you most when the corn polinates and are detassled or when the corn is harvested and all the crap gets thrown up into the air.

        • May 7, 2009 4:48 PM

          yeah but the thing is same farmer, same field….and I’ve been allergy free from that since about the same time I broke my nose! HHHMMMM?

  13. May 7, 2009 2:16 PM

    I got into a fist fight with a steel door once. The door kicked my ass and I ended up with three broken fingers and a broken wrist.

    I don’t mess with steel doors anymore! They are badasses!! 😉

    • May 7, 2009 2:55 PM

      ROFMAO….thanks for that Gary!!! Steel doors are BADASSES!!! lmao

Leave a Reply

