Skip to content

Just Curious – 05/01/09

May 1, 2009

 

itr2I enjoy camping! I enjoy camping A LOT! My boys and I spend more time in our camper at the resort we belong to than at our house in the summer. With amenities such as an outdoor pool, indoor pool, 18 hole miniature golf course, lake with good fishing and paddle boats, hot tub, 3 parks, horseshoes, tennis courts and much much more, how could we not?

After my youngest son goes to sleep, my older boys and I like to build a bonfire and do some fishing until the wee hours of the morning. The fishing is always better at night and we like to sit around the fire and talk, snack, poke fun at one another, fart, burp, listen to the radio and just be “guys” together.

Three years ago, my wife Paula was out garage sailing one afternoon while the boys and I were out camping. We were expecting her to come out later that afternoon and fish with us. She pulled up and said she had a surprise for us that we are all gonna LOVE!! She popped open the trunk and there it was. A dream for any camper that spends any time outside after dark. A BUG LANTERN!

Paula smiled at me and said “Got it today at a garage sale for 5 bucks”. We fired that bad boy up that night and heard mosquito after mosquito after mosquito meet its electrified death.

Three years later, the 1976 Sears & Roebuck mosquito slaughtering dream machine is still going strong. This thing has killed about 10 bazillion mosquitoes over the past few years and the best 5 bucks my wife has ever invested!

My question for you is…..What is the best 10 dollar or less investment you have ever made?

33 Comments leave one →
  1. Eric Richardville permalink
    May 1, 2009 12:32 AM

    My wife’s wedding ring……..just kidding. I can’t think of one particular thing but I would have to say any number of my books. I love books…a lot.

  2. May 1, 2009 4:17 AM

    “Stay away from the light!!!”
    “I can’t help it, it’s so beautiful…”
    BZZZTTTT….

    The best under 10 bucks I ever spent had to be an Egg & Bacon McMuffin with a Hashbrown…

  3. May 1, 2009 8:14 AM

    Tony…do you have dreams about McDonald’s???? LOL

    TOOLS for my hubby….all types!
    🙂

  4. May 1, 2009 9:48 AM

    I’m gonna get back to the question..you always send me off on rabbit trails with your friggin questions. Is that YOUR camper? Cuz if it is I’m jealous!

    …I’m gonna have to think about the money spent.

    • May 1, 2009 9:54 AM

      Sorry to send you off on rabbit trails JJ.

      Yep, that’s my camper. My home away from home. My summer home!!

      • May 1, 2009 3:46 PM

        can I cuss at you in a foreign language? 🙂

        • May 1, 2009 3:52 PM

          Sure! Hell, you can cuss at me in English if ya want. I can take it.

          Why do you ask???

          • May 1, 2009 6:20 PM

            oh I’m just fucking jealous 🙂

            • May 1, 2009 9:50 PM

              Oh don’t be jealous!! You can come visit this summer and have fun with us!!! Bring your swim suit and we can have a BLAST!!

              • May 2, 2009 8:45 AM

                uhh dude I don’t do public water 🙂 Nor do I do
                swimsuits!

                I do however love to go camping. We have a popup..
                I wanted a pull behind like yours but we couldn’t
                afford one so all I got was my ass up off the ground
                in a tent on wheels 🙂

                • May 2, 2009 11:43 PM

                  Well, how about miniature golf then? LOL

                  We started in a tent…moved up to a popup…and then up to the travel trailer. I love to camp! MANY of the best times of my life has happened while camping.

  5. May 1, 2009 10:45 AM

    First of all, where do you park your camper? It’s a beauty. I love campers.

    One of the best buys I’ve had was a pair of Bastad clogs at the Swapper’s Meet. It’s a big flea market we have here in the summer. The guy wanted $8 for them and they would have cost $80 to buy new. They looked like they were never worn and were a size 8!!! Perfect fit. I tried acting all cool and nonchalant as we walked away but I was bursting inside!! Paul was laughed at me while we walked away.

    • May 1, 2009 3:47 PM

      Thanks! We LOVE it!! I used to park the camper during the off season in my drive way which was a hassle so now I put it into storage at the resort we belong to. It only cost’s us 20 dollars a month which is well worth it!!

      Wow! Now that is a good investment! I can just see you walking away all cool and smug. LOL

  6. May 1, 2009 11:23 AM

    The co-pay on my daughter being born 16 1/2 years ago was only $10 so I would have to say that was my best investment. 🙂

    • May 1, 2009 3:43 PM

      Wow! That really IS your best investment! That beats the heck out of my bug lantern!! LOL

      • May 1, 2009 3:47 PM

        yeah and those bug zappers don’t work when they get to be 17 and 21! I want my money back!

        • May 1, 2009 3:55 PM

          5 bucks! Garage sale! I’ll keep my eyes open for one for ya! 😉

  7. Sue permalink
    May 1, 2009 4:01 PM

    I have no idea! I can’t think of one great one that jumps out in my head. Well, I guess my education has been a great investment, but that’s cheezy. I wanted something like a bug lantern, but I got nothing!

    • May 1, 2009 9:48 PM

      How smart did you really get on a 10 dollar education Sue? That kinda makes me nervous to go to the hospital now. LOL I KILL me!!

      • Sue permalink
        May 3, 2009 10:12 AM

        Because I read the question wrong! Ugh, damn education!

        • May 3, 2009 10:45 AM

          That’s ok! What can anyone expect with a 10 dollar education?

  8. May 1, 2009 8:05 PM

    My best $10 investment had to be the $9.95 I paid for “How to Draw the Human Figure.” A large table-type book. I was 19 years old, serving in the Army, stationed in Germany (1957). I came from a small Ozark town, I had long loved to draw, but I had never had a formal art class. (Such was not taught in the small school.) I had never paid more that 2 bucks or so for a book before. I couldn’t resist. I bought it. And started drawing – page by page -working my way through the book from start to finish.
    When I was discharged, age 20, I knew I wanted to study art more. My family had moved to California and I enrolled that fall in a junior college. The first (and only) in my family to do so. The second semester I was introduced to figure drawing. I was nervous. I knew I would be in the midst of students who had studied art in high school – even before. I need not have worried. I did fine. I caught the teacher’s attention for me work. Thanks for that $9.95 investment I felt secure in pursuing my art.

    • May 1, 2009 9:51 PM

      Hey Ralph!! What an awesome story! Thanks for sharing that with us! My son is really into art as well. I can’t draw a stick person to save my life so I try to make art with my camera.

      That sounds like it was a PERFECT investment for you!! 😀

  9. Roserazzle permalink
    May 1, 2009 9:18 PM

    lots of cool bargains. I got Pierro the kittyboy his own blue bed from Target. on sale on the end of the aisle for $10. It is very squishy and soft. He loves it. He kept climbing in bed with Prinnie (the 18 year old puss) and she was getting miffed half the time, so I had to get him his own bed. He loves his blue bed so much lol. I am so happy I found it.

    coffee is a good investment.

    we used to have one of those bug zappers. My mother would come and visit sometimes in the summer and hated that thing murdering mosquitoes. She grew up in Holland and lived though WW2 and the Holocaust so she had her reasons… we turned it off when she cam eto visit form then on… haha

    I do not do yard saleing, we have so much stuff now…. agh don’t remind me!
    That is a cool camper.

    • May 1, 2009 9:55 PM

      Coffee is a GREAT investment, I couldn’t agree more Roserazzle!

      Wow, I can see why your mother would not like that noise then. My grandfather was in the Air Force in WWII. He was a belly gunner on a B-17 bomber.

      Thanks! Our camper is my baby! 😉

  10. May 1, 2009 9:28 PM

    I bought a really great air purifier for eight dollars for the house. I’m sure there must be other stuff but that’s what came to my mind. Looks like camping weather soon. How fun that your family can do this, I’m sure that is something the kids will always remember. Good times, good times.

    • May 1, 2009 9:57 PM

      Good times is right! I hope they do remember these times for the rest of their lives. I think they will. We have too much fun there for them not to remember. 🙂

  11. May 4, 2009 7:06 AM

    All my VCRs. Since hard drives became the norm – people can barely give VCRs away. Now the whole house is full of em – excluding the bathroom (the steam gets in the works, and there’s no TV in there). But, oddly, I hardly ever watch video tapes these days. They just collect in the cabinet with hundreds of hours of Stargate, CSI, etc, all going to waste – and I spend my time sitting in front of this damned contraption punching keys!

    • May 4, 2009 10:25 AM

      I know what you mean tooty! You can’t give the darn things away. I can’t remember the last time I watched anything on VHS to tell you the truth. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. The Best $5 We Ever Spent « Gary’s World

Leave a Reply

