Skip to content

Just Curious – 04/20/09

April 20, 2009

first_jobWhat was your first job?

24 Comments leave one →
  1. Amallay permalink
    April 20, 2009 1:01 AM

    I was a barista. It was nice, especially with the unlimited coffee I would drink when the boss was out. I loved that job.

    • April 20, 2009 11:39 AM

      Ohhhh, now that would be a cool job! I would be hopped up on latte all the time. LOL

    • April 20, 2009 12:55 PM

      Barista was my second job. They used me as a Guinea pig to try out new latte concoctions. I was buzzed without any down time.

      • April 20, 2009 1:36 PM

        ROFLMAO!!! That could some days be a really cool job and others not so much!! LOL

  2. timshel1 permalink
    April 20, 2009 2:09 AM

    Gary, this question gives me nightmares. I worked at an A&W fast food restaurant. I wrote about one aspect of the job last week. Check it out if you feel the urge.

    http://timshel1.wordpress.com/2009/04/14/did-that-guy-just-pinch-my-but/

    • April 20, 2009 11:16 AM

      Hey Tim!

      All this time and I had no idea you have a blog of your own. LOL

      • timshel1 permalink
        April 20, 2009 7:50 PM

        LOL what else would I do as an unemployed college graduate? You’re too funny Gary.

        • April 20, 2009 8:28 PM

          Heck, I don’t know? Look for a job maybe? ROFLMAO!!!

  3. April 20, 2009 7:24 AM

    My first job was at the after-school day care center at my church, when I was a freshman in high school. All was going pretty well, until the other girl my age had to quit and they hired another teenager: the cutest, most popular guy in school on whom I had the biggest crush in the world. He was a nice guy, but being head over heels in crush with him, I somehow managed to consistently say and do stupid things, much to my embarrassment, as well as the amusement of him and a group of second graders.

    • April 20, 2009 11:41 AM

      Oh no!! LOL Did you end up with a date??

      • April 20, 2009 12:58 PM

        Like I said, he was the most popular guy in school. I was decidedly not cool enough to hang out with his crowd, so I did not get a date with him. Too bad…our kids would have been gorgeous!

        • April 20, 2009 1:36 PM

          Yeah, that is too bad! Gogeous kids is always a good thing. LOL

  4. lviss permalink
    April 20, 2009 7:26 AM

    I HAD ONLY JOB , AS A BANK EMPLOYEE. . STARTED OFF AS AN ASSISTANT AND RETIRED AS AN OFFICER, DEPUTY MANAGER, AT ONE STRETCH OF 39 YEARS.

    • April 20, 2009 11:41 AM

      Wow, that’s awesome lviss! Good for you!!! 😉

    • timshel1 permalink
      April 20, 2009 7:51 PM

      I honestly have never heard of someone working in one place their entire life. That is a remarkable feat.

      • April 20, 2009 8:29 PM

        I have to agree with you Tim. That is pretty remarkable!! 😀

      • lviss permalink
        April 20, 2009 8:52 PM

        Tim
        I worked in seven different branches spread over my state . It is very common to meet people working in one institution for years . Rather, it is the norm really.

  5. S. Le permalink
    April 20, 2009 8:53 AM

    Cleaning houses.

  6. April 20, 2009 10:26 AM

    I was a babysitter first but the first one I had to fill out a W-2 for was a carhop. It was such a fun job. We didn’t wear roller skates but it was fun taking people food to their car. The boy watching was awesome. I can still remember everything about that restaurant.

    • April 20, 2009 11:42 AM

      That’s an AWESOME first job!! That would be fun! 😉

  7. April 20, 2009 11:47 AM

    My first job was in a HELL HOLE of a kitchen washing dishes. It was HOT, WET, SMELLY and DEGRADING! I started in the summertime and you want to talk about HOT. With all the burners going, ovens going and then working with VERY VERY HOT water it just SUCKED!! I swear that water was so hot, that there was a pipe running from under the sink straight to the depths of HELL!

    However, I was paid a rewarding $3.15 an hour. 😉

  8. Sue permalink
    April 20, 2009 4:19 PM

    I always say that my first job was as a cashier at our local SuperValu, but I guess it really was as a corn detassler. It was HORRIBLE!!!!! That is one job my kids will NEVER do and that must be why I’ve blocked it out. Besides, having Toby come to the store to buy ice for his mom (just to see me) was a much better memory!

  9. April 20, 2009 5:26 PM

    I had friends that detassled corn in the summer. I never did to that but I know my buddies didn’t like it either. In fact, they hated it!

    Toby coming to the store to see you….errr…buy ice cream for his mom IS a much better memory. 😀

Leave a Reply

