Skip to content

Beach Boys Concert

April 11, 2009

the_beach_boysMy little surfer girl and I went to a Beach Boys concert Thursday night. Wow, what a show!!

Opening for The Beach Boys was The Boat Drunks from Champagne, Illinois. Now if that’s not a killer name for a “parrot head” band, I don’t know what is. They played mostly Jimmy Buffet hits, a few of their own songs and threw in a Bob Marley tune for good measure. They were REALLY good and got the crowd warmed up for the headliners.

The Beach Boy’s ROCKED! It was like stepping back to 1964 and I hadn’t even been born yet. LOL I was really impressed as to how they sound and move around after all these years. TheyΒ played ALL of their hits in the two hours they played.

It was a BLAST holding my little surfer girl and swaying to the music together. If you have not seen them in concert and get the opportunity to, I would HIGHLY recommend you going to see them. I must also admit it was nice being some of the youngest people in the house also. πŸ˜‰

22 Comments leave one →
  1. April 11, 2009 8:32 AM

    then they haven’t changed much since I went and saw them. They were a fun band to see. They were interacting with the audience and did sing a longs and had beach balls flying all over the place.
    How many of the original band members are touring with them? I know the drummer died many years ago and it almost seemed like at least 1 more of them had died.

    • April 11, 2009 10:50 AM

      They did a lot of interacting with the audience and did sing a longs at this concert also. Beach balls were flying ALL around the auditorim as well. There was only 2 of the original band memebers there.

      • April 11, 2009 6:37 PM

        ahhh 😦 that’s a bummer on only 2 of them there. Did they still sound good?

  2. April 11, 2009 9:27 AM

    I’m so glad you had a good time. I would love to see these guys. I don’t know how it couldn’t be a good concert. Glad you and Surfer Girl had fun.

    • April 11, 2009 10:51 AM

      Thanks Joy!! It was a lot of fun and I hope you get a chance to go see them! You won’t be sorry!! πŸ˜‰

  3. lviss permalink
    April 11, 2009 9:42 AM

    Bringing back the old guys is sort of a commentary on the todays kind of music.

  4. β„“Ρƒβ„“Ξ± ωσℓキ permalink
    April 11, 2009 10:35 AM

    My dad talks about them sometimes… Ha, I think I’ll stick to my music πŸ™‚

    • April 11, 2009 10:53 AM

      It was my dad that really liked the Beach Boys also. I grew up listening to them because my dad would listen to them all the time. After a while, they started to grow on me until I started to like them. LOL

  5. April 11, 2009 10:54 AM

    Funny youngster enjoying the old rockers! You were surprised they could still move around. Gary just cause you get a little older you can still move around LOL. Glad you guys had such a good time!!! Sounds really fun. Nice way to bring in the Summer.

    • April 11, 2009 11:04 AM

      No no, I wasn’t suprised they could move around I was suprised at how WELL they could still move around. They moved around like they were 20 instead of 60 which is awesome for any 60 year old.

      It really was a lot of fun and a GREAT way to bring in the summer for sure!! πŸ˜‰

  6. April 11, 2009 12:43 PM

    I am glad you guys had a chance to go out and have some fun, fun, fun!!! It sounded entertaining, great! I hate boring shows!!!!

    • April 11, 2009 3:42 PM

      Yeah, who likes boring shows??? LOL This show was far from boring and we had a GREAT time my little surfer girl and I. πŸ˜€

  7. S. Le permalink
    April 11, 2009 1:55 PM

    Glad you and your lovely Paula had such a good time. “Surf’s up dude!”

    • April 11, 2009 3:47 PM

      Flashing you the “hang loose” hand gesture!!! πŸ˜‰

  8. Sue permalink
    April 11, 2009 2:29 PM

    I’m also glad you guys had a good time. Where’s the pic’s of your beach outfits???

    • April 11, 2009 3:48 PM

      Paula wouldn’t let me take a pic of her in her coconut bra. I retalliated by not letting her take MY photo in my grass skirt. 😦

  9. Helen permalink
    April 11, 2009 5:15 PM

    very nice, gary! glad you had a great time. the beach boys are amazing! πŸ˜‰

    • April 11, 2009 5:38 PM

      Throwing you the “hang loose” sign Helen!! πŸ˜‰

  10. ericrgershman permalink
    April 13, 2009 1:48 AM

    Interesting post… I always wanted to see the Beach Boys, who were in their prime (pre-Brian Wilson freakout) a couple of years before I was born. I love to play “Sloop John B” and some of their other classic harmony-laden hits when I’m out and about. Great to hear the remaining Boys are still running strong.

    • April 13, 2009 10:56 PM

      Hi Eric!

      They were REALLY good. If you ever get a chance to go see them I would urge you too. You won’t be sorry! Do you play in a band then???

Leave a Reply

