Skip to content

Coming To A Small Town Near You?

April 3, 2009

hcbridgeI have given myself a personal project to work on this spring, summer and fall that I am really excited about. I will be photographing life in small town America and publishing a book with my favorite photos I shoot. I am expecting to shoot the photos this spring and summer and do photo selections, editing and publishing this fall. The book will be available in both softcover and hardcover with dust jacket in different sizes of each and will be available for purchase online. I’m really excited about this project and can’t wait to get started!!

With that said, I may be coming to a small town near you! I will be photographing mostly in small town Illinois and Iowa. So, if you live in a small town in Illinois or Iowa and see a good looking, late 30’s looking guy with a tight little tushy toting a camera on the side of the road, it could be me! Honk, wave and stop and say hello! Who knows, maybe you will end up in a book????

22 Comments leave one →
  1. April 3, 2009 9:35 AM

    Good for you. This sounds interesting and fun. You’ll have to keep us up to date on how it’s going. If I saw a good looking, late 30’s looking guy with a tight little tushy toting a camera on the side of the road, I’d probably drive off the road 😉

    • April 3, 2009 5:00 PM

      Thanks Joy!! I think it will be a lot of fun too! It’s something my boys can be part of also which is always fun. I will definately keep everyone up to date on how everything is going with the book. I can’t wait to get started!

      “If I saw a good looking, late 30’s looking guy with a tight little tushy toting a camera on the side of the road, I’d probably drive off the road”

      HA! You kill me Joy!!! ROFLMAO!!

  2. April 3, 2009 10:47 AM

    Sounds Great!!! Joylol. That reminds me of a movie Bridges of Madison county better take Paula along.:+). Also, will you include a couple of recipes in one section? Just a thought for the Chef. Keep us posted looking forward to it, sounds fun.

    • April 3, 2009 5:02 PM

      I have never seen that movie. Funny, they filmed MOST of that movie about 20 miles from where I live too but I have never seen it. LOL

      Recipes eh? LOL Sure, just for you Starla!

      I promise to keep everyone posted. It’s gonna be fun!! 😉

  3. MAD MAN HATTER permalink
    April 3, 2009 11:36 AM

    GO GET IT UMMMMMMMMM GARY I AM SURE IT WILL BE A SUCCESS!!!!!

  4. S. Le permalink
    April 3, 2009 12:20 PM

    When you said, “So, if you live in a small town in Illinois or Iowa and see a good looking, late 30’s looking guy with a tight little tushy toting a camera on the side of the road” I thought you were going to say, “You’ve got the wrong guy.” or “That’s my brother.” or something like that. No ego problems for you then!

    It sounds like a fab idea! I wish you every success! Mozzeltov!

    • April 3, 2009 5:04 PM

      Nah, no ego problems here S. Le!! ROFLMAO!! Like I always say, “it is what it is”. 😉

      Thanks S. Le!!

  5. April 3, 2009 1:39 PM

    Whoa, very cool!! We all know it’ll turn out perfect! You take extrordinary photos!! 🙂

  6. Sue permalink
    April 3, 2009 4:03 PM

    I think that MN isn’t so far from Iowa if you’re going to be there anyway 😉

    • April 3, 2009 5:06 PM

      One of these days I’m going to make it up there. My mother and father-in-law have some land on a lake in Northern Minnesota.

      Maybe I will concentrate on small towns in Minnesota for volume II? LOL

  7. April 3, 2009 4:38 PM

    I had a neighbor who just moved to Seattle who is a photographer and has publishes many things. I have had the honor of seeing some of his work, first hand! He does a marvelous job capturing what “normal” people would not. Be original and you’ll do many wonderful things in your life! I have no doubt! California is kind of fair, this trip…maybe in the future!!

  8. April 3, 2009 6:29 PM

    Hey, that’s awesome! What is his name? Does he have a web site??

  9. April 3, 2009 6:30 PM

    I’m not expecting to sell many copies. Most “unknown” photographers don’t sell much. None the less, I’m still very excited about doing it and think it will be a lot of fun!! 😉

  10. everlazyday permalink
    April 4, 2009 7:35 AM

    If you need any inspiration for small towns. Plainville, KS. The name says it all, but I’m not really sure if it’s even a town. Unless of course by town you mean a place with at least one gas station. It’s fun to drive through at least. Not fun to stop for gas though.

    • April 4, 2009 12:18 PM

      LOL…..the name does say it all. LOL Thanks for the heads up about this little town. I am primarily shooting in Illinois and Iowa but if I ever get down that way, I will check it out! Maybe for volume II or III??? 😉

  11. fakedasmyle permalink
    April 4, 2009 11:23 PM

    You don’t seem like the “average” American – but if you slip and have an average moment and confuse Idaho and Iowa…just let me know…dinner will be our treat!

    • April 5, 2009 1:00 AM

      Well now you have gone and sparked my curiosity Faked! LOL Why don’t I seem like an “average” American??

      If I somehow have a brain fart and confuse Idaho with Iowa, I will CERTAINLY let you know! Dinner sounds great! Idaho and Iowa both start with and I and I’m not the brightest crayon in the box so hey, it could happen! 😀

  12. ℓуℓα ωσℓキ permalink
    April 6, 2009 11:12 AM

    Wow… good luck…

Leave a Reply

