Skip to content

Earth Hour 2009

March 28, 2009

earth_hourMarch 28th, 2009 from 8:30pm to 9:30pm local time is Earth Hour, a global event created to symbolize that each one of us, working together, can make a positive impact on climate change.

Tens of millions of people in hundreds of cities around the world will come together to make a bold statement about their concern about climate change by doing something quite simple—turning off their lights for one hour.  Earth Hour symbolizes that by working together, each of us can make a positive impact in the fight against climate change. Here in the U.S., it sends a message that Americans care about this issue and stand with the rest of the world in seeking to find solutions to the escalating climate crisis.

Today, I’m asking all of my regular readers and any other reader that stumbles upon this post to please participate in Earth Hour. I believe turning off your lights for one hour is a small price to pay for our mother earth. Future generations are counting on us NOW! By taking part in Earth Hour 2009, you’ll send a message that the US must act now to slow climate change.

This is the perfect opportunity for individuals, governments, schools, businesses and communities around the world to unite for a common purpose, in response to a global issue that affects us all.

March 28th, 2009 8:30pm – 9:30pm (Local Time)

18 Comments leave one →
  1. timshel1 permalink
    March 28, 2009 3:21 AM

    I find it interesting how much power we use and how much we complain about having to go without one of our luxuries for an hour when our ancestors did it all the time. Our mindset has definitely shifted over the years. Good post Gary.

    • March 28, 2009 10:50 AM

      Thanks Tim!

      Our mindset has definitely changed over the years. Our ancestors didn’t have any choice about luxuries of course because they didn’t have any modern conveniences. Once people get used to what they have, it can be hard to go without them. Sometimes even for an hour. 😀

  2. ℓуℓα ωσℓキ permalink
    March 28, 2009 5:56 AM

    Ooh we were doing Earth Hour in school… the video is cool with all the lights switching off 😀

  3. March 28, 2009 7:09 AM

    I can start now and turn off the computer and lights and go back to bed! I can do my part. I don’t think I was ready to start the day anyway. Night.

  4. March 28, 2009 8:21 AM

    I will try hard to do this. If only I lived in this house, it would be easy. My husband leaves on TV’s and lights all over the place and it drives me nuts. But, I will try tonight.

    • March 28, 2009 10:44 AM

      We have the same problem with our boys. 😀 Drives me nuts too!!

      Thanks for trying Joy!! 😀

  5. March 28, 2009 11:23 AM

    I live with 3 boys so it will be a challenge but I’m up for it!!! Thanks for the information, I knew nothing about this. Anyhow GOOD MORNING GARY!!!(it’s still AM here!) I never get on here on the weekend. 🙂

    • March 28, 2009 12:16 PM

      GOOD MORNING NIKKI!!! 😀

    • March 28, 2009 12:20 PM

      Three boys?? Jason, Bailey and ??? Who’s the third boy? LOL

  6. March 28, 2009 12:16 PM

    Gary, great idea. To bad we only do it once. Kind of pointless, to me. We need to establish more concrete changes and be sure they are implemented, if we really want to see an improvement.
    This is a start. 🙂

    • March 28, 2009 12:19 PM

      I agree Luisa and like you said, this is a start. You have to start somewhere. 😀

  7. March 28, 2009 1:13 PM

    it’s 1:12pm CST here and the lights have been off for over an hour now and probably will leave them off unless someone feels the need to read.

    • March 28, 2009 1:40 PM

      Wow, you got an early start! AWESOME!! 😀

  8. March 29, 2009 7:52 AM

    color me blonde I didn’t read the part about there being a specific time window! Oh well the lights were off at that time too cuz me and the daughter were hunkered down for a movie!

    • March 29, 2009 6:02 PM

      SWEET! I’m glad you participated. We lit a candle in the living room and watched “DOG the bountyhunter”.

    • March 29, 2009 6:03 PM

      READ JJ, read!! ROFLMAO!!!

Leave a Reply

