Skip to content

Photo Of The Day – 03/18/09

March 18, 2009

stone1Call me crazy, call me morbid, call me what you will but I like cemeteries!

As far back as I can remember I have liked strolling through cemeteries. Each headstone tells a story about the person that is buried there.

At the end of my street is a VERY old cemetery. Many of the tombstones have been there so long and have endured so much that the names and dates are totally unreadable now. Some of the stones are broke and I don’t believe it’s from vandals but from age.

Standing back and looking at the placement of the stones, one can tell that there are many stones that are missing. There will be one or two stones, then an opening with nothing there and then a stone or two. I’m SURE people are buried in these open areas but the headstones no longer stand or the families couldn’t afford a headstone so they were buried without one.

Tuesday was an absolute beautiful day! Sunny and 75 degrees, so I decided to grab my camera and take a walk through the cemetery today.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2009 9:02 AM

    Gary, living by an old cemetery can be taken in a negative way or a positive one. It is refreshing to see that you are one of those people who view it as an opportunity to embrace the history. I am always touched when I am near a cemetery. I start to go into “another world” for a while! Thanks for sharing your thoughts. Love the photo.

  2. March 18, 2009 9:24 AM

    Cemeteries never scared me either. A lot of people are freaked out by them. Is it because they are afraid of “ghosts or spirits?” In all actuality it is said that your spirit leaves your body where you die so it’s not even in a cemetery. Stuff like that never scared me. We have one cemetery that most of my family is in, in Sacramento. I used to walk through it all the time. It’s interesting and calming for me. It doesn’t look like the one you have by your house. It’s not that old but there are a lot of old ones like that around here on the back roads. The look of them is neat. Great photo!!!

  3. March 18, 2009 9:35 AM

    I also really love cemeteries. I love browsing the names and ages of death. So many people died so young if you go to the really old ones. I used to stop and walk through them all the time. I love the one where my family is in Canada. It’s very old but it’s very well taken care of. People plant flowers and genuinely take care of their dead loved ones. I have never been afraid being at one. They leave me feeling peaceful.

    Great photo. I’m glad it’s age and not vandals. That makes me very sad when people do that.

    • March 18, 2009 10:35 AM

      Me too…I don’t get why people do that. To me that is sacred land….why on earth would you mess with that???

      • March 18, 2009 11:18 AM

        I know, it’s terrible!! To me, that is the most disrespectful thing you can do to someone and their family.

        About a year ago, some kids went into a cemetery and destroyed over 100 headstones in a large cemetery near here. I couldn’t believe it when I saw it on the news. 😦

  4. lviss permalink
    March 18, 2009 10:02 AM

    WHETHER WE LIKE IT OR NOT THATS WHERE WE ARE HEADING FOR.
    ONE OF THE BRANCHES OF MY OFFICE WHERE I WORKED HAD A CEMETRY BESIDE IT. A FEW OF THE MANAGERS WHO WERE POSTED THERE DID NOT SEE ANOTHER OFFICE.
    PERSONALLY I AM SCARED OF VISITING THESE. WHY HURRY.

  5. March 18, 2009 10:06 AM

    Wonderful photo Gary I like a the shades of light and how the tombstone looks like you said just settled in from time. It’s interesting all the History and story’s. On MTV years ago they had a tombstone that said. “I told you I was sick” I kinda like that one, I think it would be nice to have on last outrageous word.

  6. March 18, 2009 11:21 AM

    Well I’m glad to hear I’m not alone here. I have always thought it’s neat just to look at the headstones and the dates on them. Some of the stones you see are so large and ornate with pictures and things. You know the family had some money. There are clues all over the place about people and families in cemeteries!!! 🙂

    • March 18, 2009 11:40 AM

      Very true. The saddest is the babies. 😦 I tend to stay away from that side.

  7. ~*вяσωηιє*~ permalink
    March 18, 2009 11:31 AM

    I’m weird when it comes about the graveyard/cemetry…
    I feel sorry for the people that died. Thoughts going in my head about what kind of life they may had, and how did they die..

    I guess we won’t ever know the feeling of death, the feeling of a total real dying, nor will we ever know the experience of the dead unless we went through it and cannot be brought back to life..

    It’s just interesting that all these religions have so many beliefs and thoughts, and it’s hard to grasp it on all of them.

    Interesting photo, glad to know theres others that like to go by the cemetry. It makes me think sometimes for quiet and peace.

  8. S. Le permalink
    March 18, 2009 2:12 PM

    Old cemetaries are beautiful. I like to ride my bicycle around cemetary driveways. ’tis peaceful and you aren’t likely to be run over. If you are, hey, convenient!

    • March 18, 2009 3:29 PM

      Ha! You “KILLED” me again today S. Le!! ROFLMAO!!!

  9. Sue permalink
    March 18, 2009 2:22 PM

    One of my girlfriends lived next to a cemetary in school (her parents still do) and she had a Halloween party one year. Guess where we all hung out all night? In the cemetary! Her mom had all kinds of games for us that involved the headstones and things. It was really fun, but I’ve always been creeped out by cemetaries and dead people. I’ve had enough weird things happen to me that I don’t need to run into a spirit no matter where I’m at!

  10. March 18, 2009 3:02 PM

    I like looking at old tombstones too. That one looks like the leaning tombstone of Pisa.

    • March 18, 2009 3:28 PM

      Hey Tony!

      That’s what I said when I started editing the photo. LOL

      Where have you been? I haven’t seen you around in a while? I thought maybe your wife buried you in your “bee” shirt or something? ROFLMAO!!

  11. March 19, 2009 4:07 PM

    I love cemeteries! I always try and find the oldest ones… But its sad when theres a grave with no flower.

Leave a Reply

