Skip to content

Just Curious – 03/10/09

March 9, 2009

atm_machineYou are at an ATM machine to withdraw $100.00 from your checking account. The ATM machine dispenses $120.00 to you. You check your receipt and see your account was only charged a $100.00 withdraw.

What would you do?

14 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2009 1:47 AM

    I WOULD HAVE TO KEEP IT!

  2. March 10, 2009 8:03 AM

    Go across the street and get me a Starbucks to celebrate! LOL
    No, I would figure that they will recognize the mistake anyways, so I would tell! I know everyone at the bank and would feel bad if I did nothing!!!

  3. S. Le permalink
    March 10, 2009 8:05 AM

    The temptation would be great. I’d want to go out to lunch or buy something fun. I would absolutely take it to the bank and tell them what happened. Why doesn’t that ever happen to me? Then I’d know for sure. You never know. I may decide to yield!

  4. March 10, 2009 8:18 AM

    I’d like to think that I’d be honorable and alert the bank of the error. After all, it’s only a $20 difference. It wouldn’t pain me so much to give it back. Perhaps, if the difference were more like $100, I’d be more tempted to take the money and run.

  5. March 10, 2009 8:19 AM

    Ok here is the problem, everyone is thinking of the ATM at there bank, that would change things, too! We have a small home town bank that I have been doing business with for about 16 years now, I would give it back to them. Early this morning I was thinking of 7-11’s ATM on the way home from work.That would be NO but HELL NO would I give it back to them!

  6. March 10, 2009 9:14 AM

    I don’t even have to think about this, I’d give it back. It would cause me to lose sleep. I would feel like I stole it.

    Hey Nik, Toby was here last night and saw our “little conversation!!!”

  7. lviss permalink
    March 10, 2009 9:16 AM

    Poor chaps would have loaded the wrong currency denomination in the boxes. I was doing this as officer of a Bank and always had a fear of loading the wrong denominations.. You keep the wrong denomination in the wrong box and you had it. Oh yes I will report the matter to the manager of the Bank so that he can stop further losses.

  8. Sue permalink
    March 10, 2009 9:24 AM

    Over $20 I wouldn’t do anything, but if it’s more than that I’d tell.

  9. March 10, 2009 10:40 AM

    I’m with Sue on this one. I wouldn’t worry too much about twenty bucks but if it was any more than this, I would give the money back to the bank. 😀

    This actually happened to my son about a month ago which is how I thought of this question. I told him that it was up to him as to what he would like to do. I told him what I thought and he kept the money. 😀

  10. March 10, 2009 10:40 AM

    Am I a bad parent?

  11. March 10, 2009 12:13 PM

    Over $20 bucks I’d probably just say…”Yay me, it’s about time someone pays me back!” If it were a large amount though I’d feel bad and go in and talk to someone.

  12. March 10, 2009 12:25 PM

    I’d buy a Costa Coffee Hot Chocolate and a brownie 🙂

Leave a Reply

