Skip to content

The Good Old Days

March 3, 2009

first_dateA post I read over the weekend at Believe In Yourself made me really reminisce about the “good old days”. I ended up spending some time on Sunday looking through old photographs and remembering days gone by.

Viewing old photographs of birthday parties, Christmas day with my family, Thanksgiving with my family, and just every day life when I was a kid really stirred a lot of emotions for me.

I chose to post this photo of me because I remember it being taken like it was yesterday. It was my first day of school in the 6th grade. Every year my parents would take a picture of me on my first day of school so I could enjoy seeing how I changed from one year to the next. Mom and dad were so proud of me!!!

I remember going shopping for all my school supplies about two weeks before school started. New pencils, notebooks, trapper keepers, lunch box and new school clothes. I could never ever wear my new school clothes before the first day of school. I always felt like a million bucks on my first day of school in my new clothes and shoes, toting my new lunch box to catch the bus as you can see by the grin on my face.

I lost a lot of weight after starting the 7th grade when I started to play sports and I didn’t have to wear the glasses anymore as my stigmatism was corrected.

Ok, I can’t keep this charade up any longer. No, this is NOT a photo of me! I would have worn this shirt to school though if my parents would have let me get away with it. 😀 Did I have you convinced this was me? 😀

14 Comments leave one →
  1. MAD MAN HATTER permalink
    March 3, 2009 2:17 AM

    Gary I knew this was not you! But I am not sure how you got my picture! I did have a shirt that said FREE MUSTACH RIDES and was told I could not wear that to school anymore by the Principal she did not like my shirt! I have often wondered why!!!!!!????Maybe because she liked smooth faces instead!

  2. lviss permalink
    March 3, 2009 6:20 AM

    KNew it cannot be yours becoz there is no beard. ha;

  3. March 3, 2009 8:15 AM

    Gary, nice try!!!!ROFL LOL LMAO
    Nice post! You got me thinking about my school days, too! My mom ALWAYS made us , my sister and I, new dresses! I felt pretty special, too! We walked to school, and you should have seen me strut my stuff back then !!! hahahahaha~~~~~Wait a minute, I still do! LOL

  4. March 3, 2009 9:04 AM

    That shirt is terrible!! *runs away to hide smirk*

    I didn’t think it was you. But, after Jason’s comment last night and what you wrote, I wasn’t 100% sure!! The two of you!!! LMAO!!!

  5. March 3, 2009 11:56 AM

    ROFLMAO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I freakin love that picture!!!!! That is something Jason would SO wear! TFF!

  6. March 3, 2009 8:56 PM

    Maybe Mad Hatter, maybe. LOL

  7. March 3, 2009 8:56 PM

    😀 @ Lviss

  8. March 3, 2009 8:57 PM

    If you got it Luisa, STRUT IT!! 😀

  9. March 3, 2009 8:58 PM

    😀 @ Joy

  10. March 3, 2009 8:59 PM

    I KNEW if ANYONE liked that shirt, it would be you NIKKI! Thanks for not letting me down!!!!!! ROFLMAO!!

  11. MAD MAN HATTER permalink
    March 3, 2009 11:46 PM

    nope BIKER TEE’S is more my style!!!! I did have a bumber sticker once that you could only read from a cetain angle that said EAT MORE PU??Y! But my Dad said I had to take it off his Pick UP after he finaly figured out what it said. It only took him 9 months to do so. It was well money spent in those days. My Father was a prankster but he did not think it was funny! I think it was my Step Mother that figured it out the MISS GOODY TO SHOES!

  12. March 4, 2009 12:32 AM

    Surfing/Old Navy/tropical themed tee’s are my style Mad. I’m a sunworshiping, Bob Marley loving, parrothead.

    He didn’t think that was funny? I DO!! Of course, it wasn’t on my bumper so yeah, THAT’S FUNNY! 😀

  13. March 4, 2009 10:41 AM

    SO funny how you know me so well!!!! 🙂 We have the same humor I think!! I have been told I have the mouth and humor of a truck driver! Is that bad??

    • March 4, 2009 10:53 AM

      I think we do like the same humor! ROFL! It is bad to have the mouth and humor of a truck driver?? Doesn’t bother me anyway. 😀

Leave a Reply

