Skip to content

Just Curious – 03/02/09

March 2, 2009

shoplifterIf you were shopping at a store and saw someone putting items into their bag or inside their clothes without paying for them, what would you do?

Would you do nothing? Would you confront the shoplifter?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 2, 2009 7:47 AM

    Because I hate confrontation, I probably wouldn’t confront the shoplifter. I would, however, quietly tell either an employee or a security guard so that he or she could do the confrontation.

  2. March 2, 2009 9:10 AM

    I would do what Megan would do. It’s sad, but in this day and age, it’s just to hard to predict what someone will do to you but stealing affects all of us. I also have done many things wrong in my life and by no means stand on a pedestal but I find stealing to be very wrong. It’s just one of those peeves of mine.

  3. March 2, 2009 10:45 AM

    I think Megan and Joy have a good idea, it’s hard to know ?How big and tough is this shop lifter? What are they steeling? Stuff or Food or? If it was Food I might look away, or maybe, I don’t know.

  4. March 2, 2009 11:16 AM

    I used to be a security officer for a department store. I hated it! I was always so sad when I saw someone stealing. I always wondered what made them do it. So, to this day, if I see someone “stealing” …without a doubt…I will always do something. I either pretend I am a clerk and ask them if they need help, which scares them to drop the item or I look for a store employee to get security.

  5. March 2, 2009 12:51 PM

    I would do the same as Megan and Joy. I would alert an employee so they could notify Loss Prevention. I actually know someone who does this quite frequently, not only does she conceal stuff but she will change price tags. It’s sad and I have old her that is the reason for the prices of stuff going up! PEOPLE!

  6. March 2, 2009 7:41 PM

    I would do the same as Megan and Joy also. I don’t think I would confront the shoplifter but I would tell an employee of the store without the shoplifter knowing I was doing so.

  7. March 2, 2009 7:43 PM

    Yikes Nikki. I believe that if you do anything wrong long enough, you WILL eventually get caught. Doesn’t matter if you are shoplifting or selling drugs, if you do it long enough you WILL get caught. She should STOP NOW before getting caught!!

    Just my two cents worth. 🙂

Leave a Reply

